We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded My Expectations, Excellent Value”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #417 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was prepared to hate this hotel, particularly when my idiot taxi driver left me at the other Thistle hotel about 300 yards down the road. I'd booked it because it was so much cheaper than the other choices from the corporate travel agent that it was pretty much the only hotel I was able to book without breaking policy.

Having had a poor experience at the Thistle Euston some months ago I was wary, but check-in was efficient and quick and my room, much to my surprise, was actually quite nice. It was on the first floor looking onto a quiet side street, a generous size and not too shabby, although some furniture was looking a bit worn.

It being late and I being tired, I opted for the bar menu. The bar was quiet but the service was good and the food was reasonable. The one complaint was £2.75 for a small bottle of mineral water. Many hotels now give you at least one complimentary mineral water in your room and that kind of price is just exploitative - there's no excuse.

Other than that, excellent value for me at £119 for a double room - a good night's sleep and a pleasant stay. I'd certainly stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that your expectations were met, we will certainly look into the issue of complimentary mineral water in guest rooms. Nonetheless, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I spent two nights at the Thistle en route from another country. I stay in the Paddington area on short stopovers because it is close to both the Heathrow Express and Hyde Park. For runners, walkers, nature-lovers, Hyde Park is where you want to be. The Thistle was certainly pricier than other area hotels I've stayed in, but correspondingly a more posh, fresher looking hotel than the others. My room was comfortable, warm, quiet and well-lit. Had to wait a little bit for hot water to kick in, but there is a small sign in the bathroom telling you this. I like to walk everywhere, but Lancaster Gate tube station is just a couple blocks away.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 421 (double bed) and liked it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about our location and facilities. We are working to address the water pressure issue at the hotel and hope to have it resolved before your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is in a good position overlooking Hyde Park and close to Lancaster Gate tube station and bus stops. It is quite an attractive Victorian hotel with a few car parking spaces. The staff are very pleasant. We stayed for two nights and our room at the back of the hotel was quiet and not too bad a size for London, but the plumbing was awful, it took ages for the toilet to refill after it had been flushed and we didn't have a proper shower, only a hand held one over the bath which as there was no water pressure was just about useless. We ate breakfast in the hotel both mornings and the quality of the food was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janhooper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful and honest feedback. I am sorry to have known of your disappointment with regards to our plumbing system. Thistle Hyde Park was built in 18th century and all the traditional features and fitting were in place. Please be informed that it will soon have it's modern touch and a new plumbing system will be installed. Once again thank you for your great feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Faithfully yours,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I have recently returned after staying at the Thistle Hyde Park. This is a lovely Victorian hotel with generous which made a refreshing change from the current trend of generic hotels that are taking over the industry.
The staff are a delight and nothing is too much trouble, we found that everything was offered before you ever had to ask for it.
The buffet breakfast was a banquet and everything was high quality and very tasty, I especially enjoyed the sausages and mushrooms.
Thank you to the hotel and its staff for making our stay so memorable, I only wish I could give you 6 stars ******

Room Tip: We stayed in room 226 at the rear of the hotel and found it very quiet and we had an excellent night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that your expectations and preferences has been exceeded. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Excellent location for doing anything around Hyde Park, Kensington and Oxford Street. Had a brilliant night's sleep in an amazingly comfortable bed. The room was very spacious and comfortable although the heating was a plug in heater rather than proper central heating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaNorwich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I am pleased that your expectations were met during your stay with us at the hotel. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Nice, small hotel in a good location close to Lancaster Gate station and various busses. The is some noise from the traffic (day and night) in the rooms facing Hyde Park. Generally the room was nice and nicely decorated, but it was very annoying that the toilet did not flush properly. We reported this to the cleaning lady, houskeeping and the reception several times, but it was never fixed during the 3 days we stayed there. We were appalled when we incidently witnessed the cleaning of the bathroom. Our used towels weres used for wiping the bath tub, basin, toilet and floor.... we kept wondering if our tea mugs had been wiped with the same towels and in which order......
Breakfast: good selection of Continental and English breakfast - quality was average.
Staff were friendly and helpful
Will only go back if the plumbing is renovated completely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience experienced during your stay with regards to our plumbing system. While our lovely Victorian hotel was built in 18th century, we are working assiduously to add a modern touch to all infrastructure. We hope to welcome you back in the near future to present the finished product.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I booked this apartment as a wedding present for my sisters honeymoon - the manager Komal was very attentive and made sure they had a great stay with a welcome surprise and great room overlooking the park.

When I came to visit, the hotel room was lovely - a decent size for London as well.

They had a great stay, no complaints.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 94GAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I am also pleased that your wedding present for your sister's honeymoon was a success and that they enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you very much for allowing us to share in her big day! We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#306 of 1,076 in London
1,999 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#391 of 1,076 in London
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#407 of 1,076 in London
816 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#105 of 1,076 in London
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#289 Luxury Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £124 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing