We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, lovely room”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #418 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We arrived early at the hotel and decided to chance check-in. We were grateful to receive a room upgrade to a junior suite with a view of the trees. The room was beautifully appointed. Pity we were only there overnight on our way to Paris. The lady on reception, Katrina, went out of her way to provide a warm (and helpful) welcome. Would definitely recommend this hotel for the service, rooms and location across from Hyde Park.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Perthies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Ms P,

I am also pleased that one of the member of our team has exceeded your expectations and made your stay one to remember. We hope to see you once again and deliver the same.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just next to bayswater which is where i want to be- room was not too small and was recently updated- however the finish of the work wasnt great. Especially in the bathroom where joints were messily done and the fixtures were cheap plastic with the brass color rubbed off. Worst was there was no hot water. Service however was without fault.

Room Tip: Dont take the top floor if you want hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizakg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Ms L,

Thank you for your feedback. I am also pleased that your overall experience at the hotel was met. We are addressing the issue of water pressure at the hotel with a view to improving such. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this for a short stay for a mini honeymoon. When we arrived to check in we were greeted with a smile and nothing was too much trouble, very quick check in and within 5 minutes we were in our room. At this point we realised they had upgraded us to a junior suite free of charge the room was amazing!! Within 5 minutes there was a knock at the door and someone arrived with a complimentary bottle of champagne. Breakfast was lovely every morning and the general stay was amazing. Everytime you saw a member of staff you got a smile and they genuinely seemed interested whether everything was ok for you and if you were having a good stay. Thank you so much for making our honeymoon so special. Extra thank you to Katrina! I've stayed in lots of hotels in London including the intercontinental and the langham and for overall experience this beat the others hands down and that is thanks to the staff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bessie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mrs B,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. Congratulations once again. I am also pleased that you have shared this wonderful occasion with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel was centrally located- about a 5 minute cab ride from Paddington station across from the Park. Check in was effortless and efficient and I quickly went up to my room. I had a beautiful view of the greenery outside. The room was large, with > 10 foot ceilings, comfortably yet elegantly appointed. The flowers on table were beautiful and the fruit plate hit the spot ( I was hungry). I particularly loved the old fashioned bathroom and the sign that said that due to the old fashioned plumbing i might have to wait a minute or two for the hot water to come out the spout. The wifi was free which is always great.
The price was right too.
I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norwegianassociate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manger at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mr N,

I am also pleased that you loved the special amenities that we have arranged for you, as well as the hotel's old Victorian charm. Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcome you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is fantastic! We spent 1 night here, April 20th to 21st. It's such a beautiful location, right in the heart of London. We arrived after getting soaked in the rain, to find we had been upgraded for free into a larger room, right at the front of the building overlooking Hyde Park. This room was beautiful, huge, and the staff truly made the trip special. Have to say thank you to one receptionist, Jo Jo.

The room itself was beautiful, although the wall needs a little attention, the rest of the room was incredible. During the night, the staff were helpful with a problem that occurred, and ensured everything was ok, for this, we are extremely grateful!

Great staff. Great location. Great room.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Ms R,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that one of our team has exceeded your expectations and made your stay one to remember. We hope to see you once again and deliver the same.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is beautiful and well located for seeing London. The decor is a bit tired in some areas but the rooms are a good size and comfortable. Bathrooms were gorgeous, didn't mind waiting a few minutes for the hot water. Breakfast was nice and well stocked.
What made the stay for me was the staff. Every single person went out of their way to ensure the stay was as pleasant as possible and accommodated everyone's varied needs. They definitely made the whole stay the best.

Room Tip: If you want a view over the park you won't get the noise from the air con unit. We stayed in 125...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpy-wench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Ms G,

Thank you for your feedback. I am also pleased that your expectations were met, especially that our team made your stay the best. We hope that you will return once again to be looked after by us at Thistle Hyde Park.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Me and my family went to London a wish trip from Canada. I was surprised by how much they accommodated my family. They were also very helpful with some typical tourist problems. It is also in a good location close to tube stations and dining. We had a fantastic view of Hyde Park.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Ms H,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that your expectations of the hotel were met on your wish trip from Canada! We take pride in our staff in making all guests feel at home, while away from home.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#306 of 1,076 in London
1,999 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#379 of 1,076 in London
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#405 of 1,076 in London
816 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#103 of 1,076 in London
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#287 Luxury Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £124 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing