We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #355 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this for a short stay,This hotel was centrally located, easy to get to from Bayswater tube about 5 mins away. Just across the road from Hyde Park. In regards to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble, very quick check in and within 5 or so minutes we were in our room. View was lovely, food was great, drinks were a bit pricey but it was normal for the area. Only issue we had was the shower/water wasn't too hot. complimentary bottle of wine was a really thoughtful gesture. would definitely stay there again. if you are there on a Sunday, you can wander down Bays water in the morning and see all the various craft/art stalls and vendors.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun_sea1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ms S,

Thank you for your feedback. I am also pleased that your overall stay with us was lovely. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    369
    103
    43
    30
See reviews for
177
364
48
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived early at the hotel and decided to chance check-in. We were grateful to receive a room upgrade to a junior suite with a view of the trees. The room was beautifully appointed. Pity we were only there overnight on our way to Paris. The lady on reception, Katrina, went out of her way to provide a warm (and helpful) welcome. Would definitely recommend this hotel for the service, rooms and location across from Hyde Park.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Ms P,

I am also pleased that one of the member of our team has exceeded your expectations and made your stay one to remember. We hope to see you once again and deliver the same.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just next to bayswater which is where i want to be- room was not too small and was recently updated- however the finish of the work wasnt great. Especially in the bathroom where joints were messily done and the fixtures were cheap plastic with the brass color rubbed off. Worst was there was no hot water. Service however was without fault.

Room Tip: Dont take the top floor if you want hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizakg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Ms L,

Thank you for your feedback. I am also pleased that your overall experience at the hotel was met. We are addressing the issue of water pressure at the hotel with a view to improving such. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this for a short stay for a mini honeymoon. When we arrived to check in we were greeted with a smile and nothing was too much trouble, very quick check in and within 5 minutes we were in our room. At this point we realised they had upgraded us to a junior suite free of charge the room was amazing!! Within 5 minutes there was a knock at the door and someone arrived with a complimentary bottle of champagne. Breakfast was lovely every morning and the general stay was amazing. Everytime you saw a member of staff you got a smile and they genuinely seemed interested whether everything was ok for you and if you were having a good stay. Thank you so much for making our honeymoon so special. Extra thank you to Katrina! I've stayed in lots of hotels in London including the intercontinental and the langham and for overall experience this beat the others hands down and that is thanks to the staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bessie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mrs B,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. Congratulations once again. I am also pleased that you have shared this wonderful occasion with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel was centrally located- about a 5 minute cab ride from Paddington station across from the Park. Check in was effortless and efficient and I quickly went up to my room. I had a beautiful view of the greenery outside. The room was large, with > 10 foot ceilings, comfortably yet elegantly appointed. The flowers on table were beautiful and the fruit plate hit the spot ( I was hungry). I particularly loved the old fashioned bathroom and the sign that said that due to the old fashioned plumbing i might have to wait a minute or two for the hot water to come out the spout. The wifi was free which is always great.
The price was right too.
I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegianassociate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manger at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mr N,

I am also pleased that you loved the special amenities that we have arranged for you, as well as the hotel's old Victorian charm. Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcome you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is fantastic! We spent 1 night here, April 20th to 21st. It's such a beautiful location, right in the heart of London. We arrived after getting soaked in the rain, to find we had been upgraded for free into a larger room, right at the front of the building overlooking Hyde Park. This room was beautiful, huge, and the staff truly made the trip special. Have to say thank you to one receptionist, Jo Jo.

The room itself was beautiful, although the wall needs a little attention, the rest of the room was incredible. During the night, the staff were helpful with a problem that occurred, and ensured everything was ok, for this, we are extremely grateful!

Great staff. Great location. Great room.

Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Ms R,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that one of our team has exceeded your expectations and made your stay one to remember. We hope to see you once again and deliver the same.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is beautiful and well located for seeing London. The decor is a bit tired in some areas but the rooms are a good size and comfortable. Bathrooms were gorgeous, didn't mind waiting a few minutes for the hot water. Breakfast was nice and well stocked.
What made the stay for me was the staff. Every single person went out of their way to ensure the stay was as pleasant as possible and accommodated everyone's varied needs. They definitely made the whole stay the best.

Room Tip: If you want a view over the park you won't get the noise from the air con unit. We stayed in 125...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy-wench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Ms G,

Thank you for your feedback. I am also pleased that your expectations were met, especially that our team made your stay the best. We hope that you will return once again to be looked after by us at Thistle Hyde Park.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#300 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#432 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#400 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Lancaster London
#233 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Property: Thistle Hyde Park
Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#253 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing