We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #386 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Santa Monica, CA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The first room they gave us was next to the elevator, so we asked for an alternate -- we probably should have stuck with the first one since the elevator wasn't really noticeable at all, and there were at least a lot of windows. The alternate they offered us was a floor lower, and further down the air-shaft, with an odd layout that resulted in the room being pretty dark. And the air conditioning wasn't stellar, nor did the windows open (in the first room the A/C was also weak, but at least the windows could open). In the end everything was fine, and the oddities of the layout did grow on us. The staff was very polite and helpful. Great location right across from Hyde Park and walking distance to Paddington Station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arm90405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mr A,

Thank you for your feedback which I will pass on to the team. I am also pleased that you had a great time and the eccentric features of the hotel was pleasing. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    380
    108
    44
    33
See reviews for
182
374
49
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My mother & I just returned from a 6 night stay in London at Thistle Hyde Park (May 14 - 20, 2014). It's a lovely hotel, centrally located with a GREAT staff. We had a small issue with our first room & were IMMEDIATELY moved to another room (which was bigger than our first room & that was large). While the hot water required patience, I would stay here again & recommend it to anyone. Both rooms & bathroom were very clean, beds & pillows were comfortable, PLENTY of closet/drawer space for two people. There are many restaurants, pubs, etc. in the area & it was nice to be able to walk through Kensington Gardens after dinner each night. Three buses stop right across the street & Lancaster Gate tube stop is only a few blocks away - being on the Central Line it was fantastic in the ease of getting around London (although we used the buses to get more sightseeing in). We only had breakfast there & it was really abundant with variety of good food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Ms D,

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hyde Park despite being patient with our aged plumbing system. We are currently addressing that issue. The team at Thistle Hyde Park look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The staying itself at the hotel was all right. The room was clean, the staff was friendly. The boiler for hot water would not work sometimes, even after letting it run for several minutes. Also, one day we let the "Do not disturb" sign on the door, but still somebody entered the room to clean, which I disliked. But we didn't considered this as major issues, therefore we enjoyed our stay and we were planning to go there again.
The major issue occurred once we returned at home and I discovered that the amount of money for the room was booked twice from my credit card. Even this was all right if someone would really care about my e-mails, complain form, every day calls. I am still trying to get someone to reply/ answer. I spent quite some time and money waiting on the phone line while no one was answering, or while someone was just transferring me from a line to another. My next step is to take the issue directly to my bank and try to solve it on that side, although I thought it can be solved quick and easier, with no such a stress.
I am quite upset on how it turned in the end, therefore, I would never go there again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ms F,

Please accept my apologes for any inconvenience and stress caused during your stay with us. We have looked into the issue of payment and will follow up immediately. Thank you very much for your feedback and patience when dealing with this matter.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meggen, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Excellent in every way!
Location is perfect to visit all downtown points of interest, Catch the London tour bus just 2 blocks away.
Room was clean and extremely comfortable. Hot water is abundant, just requires patience!
Staff were "as good as it gets", more than helpful, flexible and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin_462014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mr R,

Thank you for an amazing feedback. I am also pleased that your overall stay was wonderful. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this for a short stay,This hotel was centrally located, easy to get to from Bayswater tube about 5 mins away. Just across the road from Hyde Park. In regards to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble, very quick check in and within 5 or so minutes we were in our room. View was lovely, food was great, drinks were a bit pricey but it was normal for the area. Only issue we had was the shower/water wasn't too hot. complimentary bottle of wine was a really thoughtful gesture. would definitely stay there again. if you are there on a Sunday, you can wander down Bays water in the morning and see all the various craft/art stalls and vendors.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun_sea1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ms S,

Thank you for your feedback. I am also pleased that your overall stay with us was lovely. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived early at the hotel and decided to chance check-in. We were grateful to receive a room upgrade to a junior suite with a view of the trees. The room was beautifully appointed. Pity we were only there overnight on our way to Paris. The lady on reception, Katrina, went out of her way to provide a warm (and helpful) welcome. Would definitely recommend this hotel for the service, rooms and location across from Hyde Park.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Ms P,

I am also pleased that one of the member of our team has exceeded your expectations and made your stay one to remember. We hope to see you once again and deliver the same.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just next to bayswater which is where i want to be- room was not too small and was recently updated- however the finish of the work wasnt great. Especially in the bathroom where joints were messily done and the fixtures were cheap plastic with the brass color rubbed off. Worst was there was no hot water. Service however was without fault.

Room Tip: Dont take the top floor if you want hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizakg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Ms L,

Thank you for your feedback. I am also pleased that your overall experience at the hotel was met. We are addressing the issue of water pressure at the hotel with a view to improving such. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#294 of 1,069 in London
1,952 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#415 of 1,069 in London
776 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#369 of 1,069 in London
351 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,069 in London
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Property: Thistle Hyde Park
Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#271 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing