We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and convenience in London”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #462 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Thistle Hyde Park is in a nice location within walking distance of the Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stops. The bed was small, being only a full size bed, but otherwise the room was a nice size and very comfortable. The breakfast offered at the hotel is fair. The lounge was comfortable. The staff is efficient and professional. The atmosphere is homey and pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notjustaknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Ms N,

Thank you for such an honest feedback. I am also pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable. Please do let us know when returning in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here one night on our honeymoon. We found the staff to be extra friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a good location with lots to do in the area. The tube is close and easy to use. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssalto87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs S,

Congatulations on your Honeymoon and we are grateful to have shared this wonderful moment with you. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had an issue with our reservation through Orbitz and Luba Kassim was tremendously helpful in correcting it. Based on the reviews I have read here we know our stay will be equally wonderful. We are so looking forward to our stay at the Thistle in June... Thanks Luba!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Susan1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Ms S,

I am pleased that one of the member of our team has exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed her for 4 night in May. Booked this hotel as a package with Eurostar. (train & hotel). The hotel is 5 min walk from the Lancester Gate Tube, making it easy to get around the city. Hyde Park is across the street.
Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Hotel very clean and tidy.
This hotel has done a nice job in combing the old with the new. Check in and out was quick and easy. We were given a twin suite on the 3rd floor facing Hyde Park. The room was large a spacious, bathroom had marled counter and old fashion shower. Lots of closet space with in room safe (free),hairdryer, iron and ironing board, kettle with tea/coffee.
Walking distance to Oxford street and Kensingston Palace. There is a computer on the main floor for guest to use.
As the building is old, it requires a little patience to get hot water; for me this was not a big deal.
There a restaurants and pubs in the area all within walking distances.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Ms C,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that your overall stay with us was lovely. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great location for Royal Albert Hall, and tubes/Paddington Rail station. Good value for money (we booked on line). Staff friendly - everyone we met from chamber maids to restaurant staff. Good breakfast. Room high standard - very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ms K,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that your expectations at the hotel were met. Do let us know when you will be staying with us once again.

Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Years ago we used to stay at Whites Hyde Park, which is now the Thistle Hyde Park. When it was whites it had a feel of glamour and first class service and we always felt at home. Now it has an empty feeling and the staff don't seem happy to be there. The rooms are ok but the bar lacks atmosphere and we spent very little time there. I was disappointed and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Mr W,

Thank you for your feedback and comparison with Whites of yesteryear, which I will pass on to the team. My apologies for your diassapointment and I would like to invite you once again, so that the team will have the opportunity to offer our first class service. We hope to see you in the future.

Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked this hotel because they had reasonably priced big rooms (junior suite), room was just what we needed. Right on bus route, tube 5 min walk. Check in was easy and quick, with friendly staff. Some people have left a couple of negative comments about the breakfast we didn't have any issues at all good choice, it's a buffet so maybe people think it's expensive, by London standards reasonable I thought. No hesitation staying here again recommend for shopping,sightseeing.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon00726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Mr D,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback and the opportunity to recommend us in the future. I am also pleased that your expectations were met. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#301 of 1,081 in London
2,085 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#253 of 1,081 in London
677 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#379 of 1,081 in London
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
#313 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £112 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing