We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Air Conditioning”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #403 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 June 2014

While the hotel is generally acceptable it is not as wonderful as some reports in my opinion. The best thing is the location across from Hyde Park. Our Executive room (104) had no working air conditioning - the first two nights I thought it was jet lag keeping me awake, then realised it was the poor air quality. Their solution: open the door to the balcony and put a fan in the room (?) which I found out at 8pm when we returned. I was told there was no other room with AC, so we checked out and moved to the Intercontinental Westminister (Excellent hotel) at 9.30pm. In all fairness they refunded 25% of the three day stay to compensate for 3-4 hours of sleep on holiday. The hotel manager was never available, Laura the CSM was wonderful and really should be on the team of a hotel that values its customers more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renaldo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Mr R,

Thank you for your honest feedback. I am also pleased that our location was at your own best interest, although our air conditioning facility as at fault at the time of your stay. A plan of refurbishment is taking place by the end of the year and this will be one of the few that we will be focusing on. Thank you once again and I hope you can find the time to visit us when the said works has been done.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
There are newer reviews for Thistle Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel ,and it is one of the best hotels in London.
Rooms are amazing and it takes u in a very good mood ! Which is rare :)
Staff are very nice ,friendly , helpful and welcoming, there was nothing i asked for they didnot get in less than 10 minutes.
Location is fablous ,u r in the center, 10bminutes walk max from everything.
I will surely stay there from now on, evrytime i am in London.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Ms Y,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback which I will pass on to the team. I am also pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hyde Park and that your expectations were met. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Thistle Hyde Park is in a nice location within walking distance of the Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stops. The bed was small, being only a full size bed, but otherwise the room was a nice size and very comfortable. The breakfast offered at the hotel is fair. The lounge was comfortable. The staff is efficient and professional. The atmosphere is homey and pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notjustaknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Ms N,

Thank you for such an honest feedback. I am also pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable. Please do let us know when returning in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here one night on our honeymoon. We found the staff to be extra friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a good location with lots to do in the area. The tube is close and easy to use. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssalto87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs S,

Congatulations on your Honeymoon and we are grateful to have shared this wonderful moment with you. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had an issue with our reservation through Orbitz and Luba Kassim was tremendously helpful in correcting it. Based on the reviews I have read here we know our stay will be equally wonderful. We are so looking forward to our stay at the Thistle in June... Thanks Luba!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Susan1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Ms S,

I am pleased that one of the member of our team has exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed her for 4 night in May. Booked this hotel as a package with Eurostar. (train & hotel). The hotel is 5 min walk from the Lancester Gate Tube, making it easy to get around the city. Hyde Park is across the street.
Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Hotel very clean and tidy.
This hotel has done a nice job in combing the old with the new. Check in and out was quick and easy. We were given a twin suite on the 3rd floor facing Hyde Park. The room was large a spacious, bathroom had marled counter and old fashion shower. Lots of closet space with in room safe (free),hairdryer, iron and ironing board, kettle with tea/coffee.
Walking distance to Oxford street and Kensingston Palace. There is a computer on the main floor for guest to use.
As the building is old, it requires a little patience to get hot water; for me this was not a big deal.
There a restaurants and pubs in the area all within walking distances.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Ms C,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that your overall stay with us was lovely. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great location for Royal Albert Hall, and tubes/Paddington Rail station. Good value for money (we booked on line). Staff friendly - everyone we met from chamber maids to restaurant staff. Good breakfast. Room high standard - very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ms K,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that your expectations at the hotel were met. Do let us know when you will be staying with us once again.

Regards,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#303 of 1,072 in London
1,974 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#381 of 1,072 in London
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#419 of 1,072 in London
804 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#113 of 1,072 in London
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#282 Luxury Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £130 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing