We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel - reasonable rate and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #351 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - reasonable rate and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights following a bus tour. The staff were very helpful and friendly, room was great and location was terrific. We like to walk so being opposite Kensington Gardens/Hyde Park we were able to walk through parkland as far or as little as we liked. Metro station is close if you need it and popular bar close by. Although we didn't visit the bar it seemed a lively place to spend an evening. Breakfast was not included in our price but we did have breakfast at the hotel on one morning and it was very good.

Room Tip: We had a street view and room was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Ms S,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you had an amazing time with us. I will pass this on to the team and will ensure to continue a first class service to our guest. Thank you once again and we are more than happy to welcome you back to deliver the same.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    369
    103
    43
    30
See reviews for
177
364
48
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel well situated in front of Kensington gardens (not hyde park...)
The room are clean and practical. The breakfast is very good.
The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay.
Two metro stations are few minutes away.
The whole thing for a good price! I recommand

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mr B,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am also glad that your expectations were met and have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to have you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Recently spent 3 nights at this hotel (traveling from Australia), very friendly staff, the location is ideal, away from busy London but still within 15 mins walk to Marble Arch. Directly opposite Hyde Park, lovely to walk thru gardens. Rooms was great, only thing is hot water takes a long time to come through and showers hard to operate, no fan in bathroom either (think an update on plumbing is required). All in all a lovely place to stay, would definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: higher level the best. chose Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0rraine696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Ms L,

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hyde Park despite being patient with our aged plumbing system. We are currently addressing that issue.The team at Thistle Hyde Park look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for just one evening as we were going to see a concert at the Royal Albert Hall (which was only 10 mins walk away)
Upon arrival we were greeted by a very smiley and friendly receptionist, she took all our details and explained our rooms would be ready in half and hour (we had arrived just after lunch, so expected a little wait before we could check in)
As it was a fantastic sunny day, we decided to get a drink at the bar and go sit outside, (where they have tables and chairs set out at the front of the hotel) again the lady behind the bar was so friendly and brought our drinks out to us.
Within 20 mins the receptionist came out to us with our room details, explaining we had received an upgrade to a front room, overlooking Hyde Park.
When we went up to our room we were so pleased, beautifully decorated, high ceilings, clean, spacious, lovely furniture and fittings - we had booked the friends and fizz night, so our free champagne was waiting for us, nicely chilled and there were boxes of truffles as well.
The hotel was beautifully decorated throughout and all the staff were so friendly and welcoming.
The location is ideal, although on a main road, there isn't a lot of noise. There is also parking at the front of the hotel, (off the main road) which is ideal and reasonable for London parking charges.
Breakfast the next morning was also very nice, with a wide choice - much more than I have seen in other hotels.
All in all this is a wonderful hotel and I would highly recommend for anyone visiting London, I can't wait to re-visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtf0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Mr M,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you had an amazing time. Please do let us know when returning in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This was my first trip to England, and I booked this hotel through a travel agent after viewing it on TripAdvisor. My wife and I used this as the beginning of our honeymoon and stayed here for four nights. We loved it. We were upgraded to a junior suite due to this being our honeymoon. Our room was a little bigger, and had a seating area by the windows.

For starters, Jo Jo was so helpful whenever we needed something. All we had to do was head to the front desk and she would help us in any what that she could. Another gentleman - I did not catch his name - recommended The Swan (pub) for a good place to eat. Great fish and chips! Great beer selection!

This hotel is directly across from Hyde Park. We enjoyed walking through the park and even spending some time just laying around in it and reading.

The hotel is in a great location if you want to avoid all the London traffic, but want to be able to get there quickly. We enjoyed walking the surrounding area and finding places to eat. The surrounding area is filled with plenty of tourist-trap restaurants/pubs. If you go a little further, you'll find authentic, non-chain places.

The only real negative about this hotel was that the showers were a bit of a let down. The water pressure was a bit weak, and the hot water took time to get going, but that's what happens when you have a hotel that's authentic to its time period! Regardless, we loved our stay here and would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Mr N,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback and Congratulations once again. I am also pleased that you had an amazing time with us and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
253 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights. Had a wonderful stay. The front desk is so helpful, gracious and works more like a front desk cum Concierge. Thanks Jo Jo and Princess. You both were lovely to me and my travel companions.
So first thing first, The positives:
Location is fantastic. It cannot get any better if you want to stay near Hyde park and also close to Marble Arch but away from London madness. The bus stop outside the hotel has bus service that takes you directly to Oxford Circus and further beyond. The tube stations on either side (walking distance) of the hotel makes it easy for you to use Tube network in London. Also, if you take a taxi from Oxford St, it won't cost you more than 10 pounds (depending on traffic) which I thought was quite ok for London. You can cross the road and get into Hyde Park for a morning jog etc.
Rooms: Very well furnished but since this is a heritage / vintage building, no 2 sizes are same. Hence it may happen that a Deluxe room might be bigger/ smaller than another Deluxe room. In our case, this was a negative.
Bathrooms are adequate enough. They have problem of hot water taking time but its hardly a problem for spring or summer.
Negatives: Room size can vary from very small (like mine, 301) to my friend's (219), even though both were Deluxe (not base category). When we requested for a change the next day, they graciously did that but our room ended up being smaller than the one before.
Breakfast is ok ok. Nothing great but if you take a voucher from Reception, it costs you 12 pounds, else costs 16 pounds. We only ate here on our last day as there are plenty of nearby cafes.
Housekeeping was not good all days. They didn't hoover/ vacuum our room. Hence what we left on floor in the morning was there through our stay of 6 nights. I pointed the same to the Front desk as well.
Overall, we loved out stay at Thistle and would love to try their other properties too.
If you are looking for a moderately vintage/ heritage property at a good price (depends how you book it, we got it through our travel agent) near Hyde Park, go for this one.

Room Tip: Go for a room on 1st floor as it will have a view of Hyde park. 2nd and 3rd floor have no views exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Mr G,

Thank you for such an honest feedback. I am glad that your expectations were met, although there were few points to consider and will be reviewed. We look forward for your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel was great for myself and my husband. It is conveniently located across from Hyde Park. A short walk to Queensway for souveneir shopping as well as the underground train. Our room was clean and very comfortable. I managed to work out the hot water for a bath. Absolutely loved the Victorian-feel of the hotel. The staff were very friendly, although, the Maitre'd showed his annoyance at the waiting staff during our breakfast. I thought he could have used a little more diplomacy and waited until guests had finished before 'growling.'

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whetumarama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Mr W,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. I am also pleased that your expectations at the hotel were met. Do let us know when you will be staying with us once again.

Warm Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#299 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#432 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#401 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Lancaster London
#235 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Property: Thistle Hyde Park
Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#251 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing