We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spectacular and Free.”
Review of Waterloo Bridge

Waterloo Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.45*
and up
Love London Bike Tour
More Info
US$32.76*
and up
Classic London Bike Tour of Central London
Ranked #349 of 1,655 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can reach South London by crossing this bridge, which offers the most romantic and sweeping views of any of London's bridges.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spectacular and Free.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Set on a slow bend on the river Thames, with the City of Westminster to the West and the City of London to the east Waterloo bridge rightly enjoys its prestigious status as a romantic and spectacular place to view a panorama of London. Take a map to spot the many famous buildings, from the Palace of Westminster to St Pauls Cathedral and many more skyscrapers. And stand and stare at the river, flowing solemnly beneath you in swirls and rivulets as it was the lifeblood of London from prehistory to recent years. No longer a vital artery, the docks have long moved East but the river is cleaner and looks better than it has done for many years. O yes and there's the song by Ray Davies and the boys....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alastairrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    55
    30
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My Waterloo Bridge...”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Waterloo Bridge is the most favorite site I'd like to stay-put on whenever I really need to relax and have a think of my life. From the distance one can see Big Ben, London Eye, Royal Festival Hall, The Shard, St. Paul's Cathedral and The City, and other historical and significant buildings. One will be at peace just standing on the middle of the bridge and watch the ferry go by..,feel the wind on your face....Try to sit down on Somerset House Terrace, have some coffee/tea, and just feel the silence and tranquility which I know is impossible for others but not for me. I am so lucky!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank VickyMercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Best views from any of the bridges in Central London”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Fortunately for me I get to walk across this bridge and enjoy the views on my way to and from my office. On a clear morning it is a great start to the day and a reminder of why I live in one of the world's best cities. Come night time the skyline is lit up with Big Ben, London Eye, Vauxhall Tower to one side and St. Paul's, the Shard and the City to the other. There is a plaque in the middle of the crossing giving you information on the landscape so you know what your looking at. You also have the wonderful Somerset House on the north bank where you can skate in the winter and has an outdoor cinema in the summer.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LifeAsABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best London photo spot”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is the best spot to take touristy photos in London. Great views of the Shard / Palace of Westminster (Big Ben) / London Eye / St. Paul's / City of London / etc.
I often bring friends from out-of-town here at night, but sunrise is as (if not more) impressive too - it rises over the city/St. Paul's cathedral!
If coming in winter months or visiting at night, bring a jacket - it can get very windy once out over the water!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ash J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,084 reviews
588 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Best views (and a place to park!)”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Walked across here on our way back to our hotel and was amazed by the views both ways so glad we had the camera with us. What was more amazing though was that you can park on the bridge at night! There were plenty of spaces there on the single-yellow lines but obviously well used by those 'in the know'. A very short walk for those going to the theatre or shopping.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterloo Bridge also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Waterloo Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing