We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined My London Trip!!”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #32 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I would like to start by saying I have never written a review on a hotel before; however, I feel like I need to review this hotel. I have stayed in 5 star hotels including many Ritz Carlton hotels all around the world and this experience is by far the worst I have ever had. While I understand the importance of restricting the access to guests only I feel that the manner in which this is achieved is to the extreme and makes one feel as if they are not welcomed. I pride myself on always looking presentable and from the moment I stepped into the hotel I felt like a 3rd class citizen. I dreaded walking through the lobby and this easily ruined my entire London experience. My husband and I were repeatedly stopped and questioned if we were a guest in a accusing tone. We were also chased by one staff member through the lobby yelling at us to STOP so he could ask if we were guests. I can not express my distain for this hotel and would NEVER return and would encourage anyone thinking about staying here to stay elsewhere. A absolute miserable experience

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
65  Thank LUVNYC_0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,205 - 3,211 of 3,796 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

We revisited the Ritz London for the second time in 18 months. It did not disappoint. Rooms were spacious and the service was impeccable. Bathroom in our room - an upgraded King - was very large. Shower was not ideal, however, as the half glass did not keep all the water in the shower. Staff was attentive and friendly. Location is outstanding for great walking and shopping. Good restaurants in the area. Only point of contention was having to pay for wi-fi, given the daily room rate. Seemed petty and gouging.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We held our wedding reception at the Ritz and we stayed in the Royal Suite on our wedding night. It was absolutely wonderful.
Throughout the staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble and they were all incredibly friendly. Our guests said everyone made them feel very welcome.
Natalie Jones our event planner was superb - very professional, helpful and delightful to deal with.

The food was excellent and they helped us to match the wines perfectly.

We were very lucky as the garden had just reopened and it was beautiful day - it is a fabulous space for a reception. The private dinning rooms at the Ritz are stunning.

The Royal Suite is gorgeous with wonderful views over the park. We stayed and had lunch the next day and the service was excellent.

Overall we couldn't have asked for anything more - truly exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I stayed here with my partner and we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived, the service we recieved was amazing!
We were lucky enough to enjoy the fabulous cusine, cocktails in the Rivoli Bar and a suite for the night. I will remember this experence for the rest of my life.
The atmosphere is often described as stuffy and old fashioned -i read reviews before our stay but i felt that the dress code, service and decor would be lessened if it was to be changed or modernised -you go here because it is The Ritz.... not just another gaff in the city!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninajo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Sure the aura is all regal and plush but my ritz experience was a bit of a downer. I guess it's because it is the only hotel (amongst five more popular ones in the UK, where we stayed on this trip) whose doorman stopped and asked my husband before he was about to enter the hotel, if he was a guest. In this hotel, you pay for the name.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2531kit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The Ritz is unspoilt and is a venue where you can feel the original decadent splendor. We had always wanted to stay and so took the opportunity when meeting some visitors from over the pond. From the moment I reached the steps to the hotel I was treated like royalty. How they knew my name before I told them I don't know but it all added to the professionalism of the staff. We had been upgraded to a better room and it was very comfortable but unpretentious and without the impersonal feel of some of the more modern hotels. We really got the feel of exclusivity and institution here. Afternoon tea is an absolute must-essential but very filling. A cocktail at the bar is also a must, I tried the Ritz Melody which has a surprising kick but an elegant flavour which remains for a while and is refreshing. I'd like to compliment and thankk all of the staff at The Ritz but in particular I noted the most pleasant and accomodating Harry Gloker who took our photo near the stairs. Everyone should do this at least once, I hope if they ever refurbish that it will be symathetic to retain the personal ambient atmosphere. In conclusion, every member of staff made us feel like we were the only people that mattered, like we were their priority. Thanks Again!

Room Tip: I guess they're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajscubapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My husband treated me to 2 nights in a junior suite at the ritz for my birthday in 2010. As I was heavily pregnant at the time we decided to blow the holiday budget on somewhere amazing for 2 nights instead of going abroad.

It started off quite well, a warm welcome from a lovely receptionist, who then cleverly got us to pay a load more money to upgrade our room, which was fine, and a lot of other services at the hotel were brilliant - the room service was quick, the afternoon tea was yummy and the lobby area was beautiful....

.... But everything was spoiled by the attitude of the staff (except one of the doormen who took me aside to mop up my tears after I was rudely told off for trying to take a photo of a flower arrangment).

I'm all for good service and politeness etc, but the service at the ritz is stiff and snooty. I'm well aware that some of the ritz visitors would love this kind of treatment but I also think they should be able to recognise the kind of treatment their guests expect, so genuinely friendly people don't feel like they are walking on eggsshells.

It's one of the most famous hotels in the world, so surely you want to take photos of the lobby area, right? wrong. You're not allowed to, and not only that, you get snootily told off in front of other guests if you do it. And it's embarrassing.

another high point of our ritz experience was hearing a waiter shouting loudly across the restaurant at another waiter "what the f**k are you doing!?" - not really what you want to hear while you're tucking into your £30 tomatos on rock hard toast.

The rooms are very fancy but in desperate need of re-furb, I can imagine they were once stunning, but now they just look flouncey and dated. Brilliant if you like the "fusty" look.

On the plus side it's only a 5 min walk from NOBU.

we are regular visitors to le manior in Oxford and we have never experienced snootiness there - it's friendly, welcoming and beautiful - why can the staff and management at the ritz realise that all their guests aren't super snooty posh?

I still get upset when I remember my experience at the ritz. It's the Savoy for me next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
54  Thank Bagpuss_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#27 of 1,081 in London
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,081 in London
4,410 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,081 in London
4,265 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £388 - £753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing