We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great hotel and by and large cheaper than the chains”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #30 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

There is nothing to enhance your mood than to wake up at The Ritz and call down for Breakfast while sitting on your plump sofa, Friday nights are special, yes you have the teas going on all the time, however you can't begrudge that as The Ritz costs the National debt of Chile to run and as a consequence barely makes any money at all
and they need these Teas to balance the books. In fact none of these older hotels
make much at all, but your patronage is important as it keeps well loved friends
open and great people in work, so spend away friends.

However walk down the hall further past the hall to the Ritz Club doors and towards the lights of the Restaurant, if ever a hotel had a beating heart it is the Ritz Dining room on a Friday Night when the Orchestra plays you are transported back to the
very dawn of the 20th Century. You are however in lick as most of these nostalgia
trips are accompanied by what can only be described as glorified ready meals, yet
the Ritz Restaurant maintains a brigade of the most talented Chef's in the UK and
they compete to regale you with choice cuts and treats from their ample larders.

Do enjoy their array of Soufflés, not that pretentious tiny things you get elsewhere, lovely pudding basin sized offerings, light as a feather yet parcels of decadence within.

Come and enjoy The Ritz, but do something special book the Restaurant on the best night of the week, step back a Century and enjoy yourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChDYquem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,105 - 3,111 of 3,701 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

The staff was arrogant and surly. The furnishings were shabby and worn and the place smelled dusty. Heavy old drapes, linens and rugs added to the worn out vintage feel. save your money and find a boutique hotel for better value. It's close to Picadilly and shopping, but my son got pick pocketed in Picadilly while the police watched and did nothing! I think they get a cut or something. London was a big let down, the palaces and sights were rather dinky next to photographs. Everything is overpriced and the food is nasty. That said I was not pleased at what was supposed to be a first class hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank actressdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Firstly the security is high unlike any other hotel in London. We were shown to our room which had a lovely view over Green park. The whole place feels extremely spacious and the room did not disappoint. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable.
We then went out for dinner at Le Gavrohe which we can highly recommend. The doorman at the Ritz was struggling to get us a Taxi so rather than have us wait they gave us the use of one of their private Jaguars and driver to take us to Le Gavroche so we could arrive in style.
After dinner we a couple of cocktails in the Rivoli bar in the Ritz. It was lovely.
The whole experience was fantastic and it is well worth the money for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caterham101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Its beautiful, words cant describe how fantastic the atmosphere is there but you would want to go very well dressed. I noticed the staff are very open to show you just what they think of you. I had read reviews about being treated badly so I went emotionally prepared but I found them very polite and welcoming. The food there is surprisingly reasonable, they even have a course menu for 40 something pounds! And the food there was soooooooo goooooood! The drinks too. I also liked how pretty their mineral water bottle is. One thing that surprised me was that when I payed the bills at the restaurant I wanted to pay 80 pounds with cash and the rest with credit card and because on the bill I saw that the service is included I didnt mention anything and just gave them the cash and the card in the little bill holder and they came back for me to sign the receipt with the full price... (80 pound additional tip!? wow.... this really is above-my-class world). Their toilet is... I gues this is very european to not mind the gap between the rich gorgeous decor of the room to the very normal bit aged toilets...? But about this Ive seen better. Much. But then, nothing compares to the scale of the furnitures, walls, ceiling, and the chandeliers! Beautiful beautiful beautiful!

Room Tip: Over dress and youve dressed enough. You cant be formal enough here. I love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rld_w0nderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My title says it all, this hotel has beautiful accomodations and the ambience is like being transplanted to the belle epoque, but the other factors you look for at a very good hotel, lag behind by far. Service is pretentious (with the exception of one of the butlers whose name i can t remember), and not a few times you get the feeling that they think they are doing you a favor by allowing you to stay there, the concierges in particular do what you ask but all the time with an arrogant attitude ; food is mediocre and in fact their afternoon tea was of average quality, the room where they serve it, again, is beautiful, but like with the hotel, the magic stops there; stuffy and indifferent waiters, mediocre to average scones and pastries and tea. And that in a room where you have to wear a tie to get in there. This is not to say this is a terrible hotel, but when you are staying in one landmark hotel, or a palace hotel by other words (and paying rates accordingly, around usd 1 K per night), you expect and deserve nothing but the best, and specially, to feel and be treated with elegance and grace, both things this hotel lacks. These guys should take lessons from George V in Paris, which is a palace hotel with same or more reputation, and treats its guest like they are the guests of a Palace, not just people that pays for sleep there. For that treatment and that level of service you can stay at a suite at the Holiday Inn that is half a block from the Ritz, and save more than half the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barranqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stayed three nights in a single room. It was very small but perfectly clean. The bed was also small but comfy. The furnishing was french but will kept. The carpet was old but it was in the process of being replaced when I was there. The service was good. The welcoming plate of dry fruits and nuts was exceptionally fresh and quality. I liked that. Exceptional location with direct accessibility to all major areas in London especially may favorite area, MayFair. The hotel have to do something about the internet. You cannot be in a prestigious hotel, paying upscale rent, and have to pay for your internet. I guess this internet fee (compared to what you have to pay for room, services, and food) disgraces the hotel. It is a matter of principle, I guess.
I will go back if I am not in the Dorchester.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaudiArabiaPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I visited the ritz with my mother for her eightieth birthday, the room was lovely and there was a birthday cake and card for mum, which was totally unexpected. The decor of the entire hotel was supurb, the service and attention to detail faultless. The four course dinner was sublime and we returned to our room to find the beds pulled down and a wonderful nights sleep followed . I have been saving for a year for this suprise birthday treat for my mum and I doubt I will ever be able to afford to go again, but the staff treated my mother like a duchess and for a short moment in time following a life of hard work she experienced pure luxury. It was everything and more than we expected.

Room Tip: look for special deals on the ritz website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teapotbristoluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,078 in London
1,832 reviews
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#37 of 1,078 in London
4,884 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,078 in London
2,880 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £367 - £1,454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing