We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,030)
Filter reviews
5,030 results
Traveller rating
4,110
588
180
69
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,110
588
180
69
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rivoli bar afternoon tea the palm court jacket and tie sandwiches and cakes iconic hotel green park birthday treat bottle of champagne turn down service junior suite doorman cloakroom luxury concierge piccadilly slippers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,344 - 4,349 of 5,030 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We spent the first week of our honeymoon here ( mature couple!) and had a great time. Impecable service, beautiful room with a view of Picadilly Road all thecway up to the circus. Breakfast in the dining room is something I'll always remember (the Bircher muesli, the smoked salmon - hmmm....) and we look forward to returning next year. After a couple of days you really start to feel very comfortable amongst the finery and the experience is surprisingly homey. The entry security guards and front desk are wonderful and nothing is ever too much trouble. I loved it - a grand old lady in a prime position. Walk everywhere and then relax in the bar - the only way to see London.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genevieve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2011

What a great way to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. It really was the most wonderful experience of hotel accommodation we have ever had. We stayed for 2 nights and had flowers, champagne, a chocolate mousse cake and fruit in the room when we arrived. We ordered a sandwich and tea from room service which was served promptly and came on a trolley that was also a table, complete with silver service....wonderful. The cake and the flowers came home with us very carefully packaged for the journey by the staff. The flowers lasted for 2 weeks and were a reminder of the wonderful time we had. We also had "Tea at The Ritz" in Palm Court with absolutely impeccable service and (beware) seconds (and thirds) servings of sandwiches, cakes and tea were readily available if you had room. The breakfasts were superb, the eggs cooked to perfection. We would have had dinner but unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked until 9.30pm which is too late for us to eat especially as we were to have breakfast the next day, will have to do it next time! However we did eat from the menu in the Rivoli Bar which didn't disappoint, while also enjoying some delightful cocktails. We finished off our stay with a visit to Buckingham Palace just a short walk away, so all in all we had a real Royal time as we felt we were treated like royalty by the lovely staff.

We enjoyed it so much that everything else will now be second best and we will certainly be returning.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 14valentine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent two nights here for our silver wedding anniversary. The experience was wonderful. We were upgraded a room because of the anniversary. The service was impeccable throughout. We took dinner in the dining room which took three hours; it was like being in the middle of a wonderful cookery programme. a live band played and people got up for a dance. The ladies wore nice cocktail/evening dresses but most of the men wore lounge suits which was a surprise. We were given a complete vegetarian menu with choices which was a novel experience!

The room was decorated in the style of Louis VIV, subtle arrangement of colours, very comfortable bed. There are no coffee/tea making facilities but I can see why, it just wouldn't fit in with the style of this hotel. A bose player sat on the fire place and could take CDs or iPOD.

Security was discrete at the front door.

We also took afternoon tea which takes place in a shifts every two hours in the palm court. it was an amazing experience. We sat down to a lovely table with a large tea menu to select your drink from, a tray of vegetarian sandwiches (beware, they offer you seconds!), a gap for the scones which arrive a little later warm and a top layer of little fancy cakes. We were also offered cut cake and many top ups of tea; i couldn't manage the last little cake as i feared I might explode.....The scones and jam & cream were lovely.

the only down side of the whole event was that there are only one set of loos downstairs which are used by diners and tea drinking parties alike, the queue was enourmous and the queue jumping was very annoying.

We ended the weekend with lunch and were attended to right in to the taxi waiting outside with all our bags loaded. My Husband said he is not waiting another 25 years to return. He loved it. All in all a very special occaision which we'll always remember and are most grateful to the staff for their kindness and attention throughout.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 21Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here on a recent business trip to London and being in the mature demographic can say that it is not just suitable for younger travelers! Hotel is very well appointed rooms with everything you need. Location not far from the fast developing London Bridge area, and a multinational staff who went out of their way to be helpful, including sorting out and arranging a refund for a misunderstood extra night's stay (our fault). They have best rates on their own website.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed in a jr suite, rooms clean and comfortable and a nice view.Concierge excellent. However the room was very old fasioned. I do like a hotel to have standards but after a long night I returned to the hotels bar for a night cap at 00.30am to be told to put a tie on! This doesnt happen at the Dorchester or Claridges and I was wearing a suit...........oh hum they lost a point!

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy13_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews