We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most sumptuous hotel I've stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #28 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The most sumptuous hotel I've stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I like a nice hotel and have stayed at some excellent ones around the world (see my other reviews). The Ritz has been on my "to do" list for some time and when the opportunity to stay there came up, I jumped at the chance.

I stayed in a Superior Queen room, which was very well equipped and decorated to a high standard, but wasn't the best room I've ever stayed in. The bathroom was fabulous and quite large, with everything you could wish for. The public areas of the hotel are truly magnificent and serve as a reminder of just how lavish a hotel can be without being over the top.

However, what makes The Ritz stand well above the rest is the staff. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated with courtesy, respect and sincerity by every member of staff we came into contact with. Everyone seemed to know our name - quite how they do that, I don't know, but it is a marvellous thing to witness. It makes you feel very special.

The Ritz is not just a hotel, it's an experience, and one to be remembered fondly for many years.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FourFishFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,671
    456
    125
    55
    44
See reviews for
752
1,539
118
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was my first visit to The Ritz and I must say I was not disappointed. The check in was very friendly and quick and I was given a detailed tour of the room by the front desk staff, the rooms are nice but small in size specially the bathroom also they could put a little bigger TV’s in the room( at the moment its 26 inches). The service was top notch in all the areas (Restaurant, concierge & House Keeping), the break fast good but they can improve with putting for more choices on the menu.

The pianist who is from Kolkata was great and you will really enjoy talking to him as he plays during the Hi-tea in the hotel, the internet is little expensive and also its little slow in terms of the speed. But overall a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sindhwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Had a fabulous 2 night stay at the Ritz. The staff are so helpful and from the moment you arrive at the door they will do their utmost to make your stay a memorable one. The room was beautiful and the bed was one of the comfiest we have slept in. Bathroom was very clean with lovely products to use. We had breakfast included in our deal. Guests were all dressed smartly for breakfast. Food was delicious.
All in all, this is a gem and was worth every penny and we hope to return again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

What a lovely Hotel. Our first visit to the Ritz and I am sure it wont be our last. Wonderful helpful staff nothing was too much effort. The afternoon tea was delightfull you certainly do not leave hungry. A Hotel for a special occassion as the price's at the bar were quite expensive. The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We have stayed at the Ritz before but had not noticed until the most recent trip just how faded some of the rooms have become. However, everything else was as expected, great, professional service and the usual scrummy afternoon tea.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

As good as it should be. Excellent rooms and great service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew_sunline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

the hotel is incredibly luxurious and staying in it is an experience in itself. my partner booked it for our first anniversary, and we had great fun dressing up and having the 'Olde Worlde' experience that took us back to the 1920s.

It was more of a 'joke' in that we normally don't stay in very expensive hotels, and we felt we were there undercover :) we enjoyed fluffy robes, a lovely bathroom with all the freebies, and cool writing paper with the Ritz heading. The concierge was ok to keep our suitcase after we checked out which was important to us.

On the minus side, the lock in our room was broken (was repaired on the spot) and we asked for the Guardian instead of the Daily Telegraph you normally get there. We didn't get the Guardian, and were a bit annoyed as we don't like the Telegraph, a right-wing paper. But these were minor.

We also had a meal in the restaurant, and were amazed with the quality of the food. There was also an excellent pianist in the lobby whom we could hear. To finish our stay off, we had afternoon tea at the Ritz, and there's nothing I can complain about there - it was fantastic and again, it's an experience in itself. If you can find yourself a deal somewhere like laterooms, and stay there for a fraction of the price, I recommend it wholeheartedly - for the giggles!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalamityJane999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#42 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,458 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing