We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay i've had in london No hot water and someone smoking in our corridor is this 2011 or 1911!!!”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #29 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Ritz hotel you request men wear a shirt and tie around your hotel and yet we've had no hot water from 4:30pm till after 9:00pm !? is this a five star hotel !?, then surely you should have a back up boiler.
When a man staying in the next suite was smoking in his room and our corridor all your duty manager has done is arrange for an air fresher to be plugged in outside our suite !? It's the first time I have ever had to endure passive smoking whilst staying in a hotel in the uk. - not good enough ritz

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank Markyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,054 - 3,060 of 3,684 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

This was our thir visit to this iconic hotel but will, sadly, be the last. Overall standards of service & maintenance & quality of staff have all gone down since our last visit, only a year ago. Has there been a management change? Just getting the booking took 2 attempts from an obviously bored reservation clerk with very poor english. The front desk was worse, when I rang to say it was my friends 70th birthday "we don't do anything for birthdays any more" was the short reply. On arrival we asked to be shown to the hospitality room (which we had used twice before) as I room wasn't ready "it's not available, you can get coffee in the bar", again no explanation or apology There was a tiny cake in the room (just enought for 2) which was nice, but the paintwork was scuffed & marked in several places & there was a crack in the side ofthe bath, at the astronomical prices they charge the rooms should be immaculate. There was always someone in the lobby to open the doors to the Palm Court for you, but this time nobody at all the first day, & the second day the man standing in front of them completely ignored us as we opened them ourselves. Some will think this nit picking but it was precisely these little touches that made the Ritz reputation originally.
Can a famous hotel like this not attract any ambitious British youngsters, apart from the doorman & porter all the staff are foreign, which is fine, except when they have a poor grasp english & an even poorer attitude to their visitors. If you are looking for a quintessentially English experience in London, as a lot of overseas visitors are, you will disappointed here. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank 28glamgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, and do know how to dress and behave in a top hotel. But after experiencing the rude ritz staff and their dress codes. (not being able to go into a bar without a jacket.) and my son being refused entry to meet us after buying a jacket that day, which apparently was not the right kind of jacket (how pedantic). They really do need to move into this century. We ate that evening in a top restaurant where needless to say they had nothing to say on our dress code. Would never stay here again.
(Who says there is no class distinction anymore, go to the ritz to find it) they look down there noses at you most of the time, and treat you like second class citizens.
My son was made to feel awful being stood at the door waiting for us. We will never put him in that situation again. We met at the Savoy last time we were in London and they were lovely.
The staff on check in also need a lesson in being courteous. We had to carry our own bags to our room, no one was there to do this, and they never arranged for them to be taken there. Not 5 star hospitality.
We had been looking forward to staying there as we have been in most of the top hotels in London when we meet our son. But so far this has been the worst experience.

Couple from Lincoln

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I like a nice hotel and have stayed at some excellent ones around the world (see my other reviews). The Ritz has been on my "to do" list for some time and when the opportunity to stay there came up, I jumped at the chance.

I stayed in a Superior Queen room, which was very well equipped and decorated to a high standard, but wasn't the best room I've ever stayed in. The bathroom was fabulous and quite large, with everything you could wish for. The public areas of the hotel are truly magnificent and serve as a reminder of just how lavish a hotel can be without being over the top.

However, what makes The Ritz stand well above the rest is the staff. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated with courtesy, respect and sincerity by every member of staff we came into contact with. Everyone seemed to know our name - quite how they do that, I don't know, but it is a marvellous thing to witness. It makes you feel very special.

The Ritz is not just a hotel, it's an experience, and one to be remembered fondly for many years.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FourFishFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was my first visit to The Ritz and I must say I was not disappointed. The check in was very friendly and quick and I was given a detailed tour of the room by the front desk staff, the rooms are nice but small in size specially the bathroom also they could put a little bigger TV’s in the room( at the moment its 26 inches). The service was top notch in all the areas (Restaurant, concierge & House Keeping), the break fast good but they can improve with putting for more choices on the menu.

The pianist who is from Kolkata was great and you will really enjoy talking to him as he plays during the Hi-tea in the hotel, the internet is little expensive and also its little slow in terms of the speed. But overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sindhwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Had a fabulous 2 night stay at the Ritz. The staff are so helpful and from the moment you arrive at the door they will do their utmost to make your stay a memorable one. The room was beautiful and the bed was one of the comfiest we have slept in. Bathroom was very clean with lovely products to use. We had breakfast included in our deal. Guests were all dressed smartly for breakfast. Food was delicious.
All in all, this is a gem and was worth every penny and we hope to return again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

What a lovely Hotel. Our first visit to the Ritz and I am sure it wont be our last. Wonderful helpful staff nothing was too much effort. The afternoon tea was delightfull you certainly do not leave hungry. A Hotel for a special occassion as the price's at the bar were quite expensive. The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,810 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,077 in London
4,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,862 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £369 - £918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing