We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #30 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We had lunch at the Ritz as a treat for my mums 80th birthday....what can i say about this experience but FANTASTIC,the food was superb and as you can imagine the service was faultless...everyone should eat at the Ritz at least once in their life just to be able to say they had

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonsteve2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,767
    467
    126
    55
    50
See reviews for
781
1,593
122
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

the Ritz London is a top notch hotel from our experience.... excellent location, beautiful and well maintained room.... really big for Europe..... good price for a 5 star hotel..... cons are the breakfast is in a most lovely dining room.... truly amazing.... but the food is not anything to get excited about..... the staff was kind and considerate...... but someone stole money from our room (we should have put it in the safe.... but beware..... ) ..... the internet service is 26lbs a day and it doesn't work very well at all....

however.... the most lovely time and experience inspite of the above complaints and we will definitely be back!.... thank you..... oh and regarding the spa.... it is a strange room upstairs.... not a real spa.... however, I received one of the best facials I have had in a very long time.... so it's worth going to if you don't need the steam room, etc... wish I could remember the facialist's name..... she was amazing....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The service is very good - we enjoyed the experience of staying at the Ritz & I think for us that's what you pay for really, but it expensive for what you actually get room wise. There are no hospitality trays so we'd planned ahead and took our own kettle so we'd have adrink in the morning. You don't want to face room service first thing! The toiletries are Prince Charles for the Princes Trust, a nice touch.

The hotel has gone for a luxurious and elegant theme with deep carpets & chinz & gold. We saw the tea at the ritz every day as you walk through the tea area to get in and out of the hotel lift. We went into the Ritz Club downstairs and having run the gauntlet of the scary women at the reception we did manage to go in - as guests are entitled to- by filling in the application & showing photo ID. We payed a bit of black jack - minimum change is £400 though! The drinks in all the bars are high cost as expected around £20 a cocktail. They have strict jacket dress code & no trainers, We didn't eat in the hotel.

Get a pair of Louboutins on & you can really enjoy the whole experience,

Room Tip: I think they would try to meet any request as they are so helpful but expect to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I am currently staying here, and I have to say the service here is a huge let down. At this level of hotel, not to mention this price point, one would expect top notch service. I have written several hotel reviews over the years, and this is my first negative review. One example: they charge 26 pounds per day for WiFi. First off, what hotel still charges for WiFi in 2012 especially when the rooms are some of the most expensive in the world? We asked the hotel if they would waive the fee and they flatly refused. We told them that even the Dorchester has free WiFi and their response was that this has been their policy for years and they would not change it. We calmly told them that this policy would likely result in us not returning, and they said that was fine and their policy is fixed. Again, at this level of hotel, there should not be any "fixed" policy especially over such a simple issue. The Ritz supposedly prides itself on service, but we have had much more accomodating service at other high and mid-range hotels. Also, another small issue is that there are no drawers and few hangers. At another notel this would be fine, but this is The Ritz and we expected more.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KathyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Went to meet my father who was staying at one of their better suites recently.. A really nice huge living room, spacious bedroom, reception area, amazing toilet and an extra closet speak volumes of the hotels forethought.. The service was excellent when some guests came and we had to order drinks up from the bar since one of them was not wearing a tie which meant we could not go to the bar downstairs (however this tie rule should not be taken as a negative since it appears to be one of the few hotels in the world left some sense of decorum and correct dress code).. The service was excellent.. Although I did not dine at their restaurant this time I have done so on many an occasion in the past and there is nothing to complain about.. However the afternoon tea at the palm court I must comment has become somewhat of a tourist attraction and hence many of those there are perhaps not entirely the crowd one sees staying at the hotel or dining at night.. Also being a member at the ritz club casino I must say that if you like a bit of wagering one need walk far to indulge as it is located downstairs in what used to be the hotels former ballroom if my memory serves me right...

Room Tip: Choose a suite.. Its worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRamakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I booked to stay at The Ritz for my partners birthday, and even from when I phoned to make the booking the staff could not have been more helpful.
I was offered the special occasion package which included breakfast and a birthday cake of my choice, personally iced on arrival.
When we arrived we instantly we looked after, we pulled up in the car and we had paid to have the car parked in their car park which is well worth the money.
They took the car and told us to leave the luggage and it would all be put into the room for us, so we were directed into the check in reception where we were instantly welcomed, and once I gave the name of the booking they wished my partner happy birthday which I thought was a nice touch.
Check in time is 2pm, and we had arrived a bit early and unfortunately tour room was not ready, which they told me when I booked. This was not a problem as we went shopping straight away, but they said that they could ring me as soon as the room was ready.
When we came back to check in we were given a small guided tour (which is optional) and also told that there is a dress code, even for reception, which is NO trainers, smart jeans minimum, and just general smart dress.
We were then taken to our room which was lovely, all of our luggage was ready and all of our coats etc were put away in the wardrobes.
The cake that was prepared for my partner was outstanding, there was also fresh fruit, a selection of nuts, crisps etc and a chilled bottle of champagne. My partner was thrilled.
We didnt book an evening meal in the hotel but we were shown into the restaurant and it looked lovely. Be aware that they do insist on a jacket for evening meals.
After out meal out we arrived back in the room to find that it had been "prepared" for the evening, the blinds had been closed, the bed prepared, slippers left for us and a bottle of water with glasses.
The bed was so comfy and we had a fantastic night sleep, we were on the 2nd floor and heard no noise at all.
For breakfast, you do need to be dressed quite smart which they prefer. The food and the service was outstanding, a great choice of food and the staff cannot do enough.
When we were checking out, we were able to leave our car with them all day and they put all of our luggage and shopping into the car for us whilst we went back to the shops.
They brought the car around when we were ready to leave and put all of our last bags in there and wished us well.
We had a fantastic time and the staff make the experience that extra special, their attention to detail is out of this world. The cleanliness, layout are also superb.
Cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

It's a case of you're only round this way once, so during your time you must stop at The Ritz. This establishment takes service to a new level. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The hotel is breath taking, clean and welcoming, OK you need to save up for drinks, etc but enjoy yourself. They are rightly strict on the dress code (ie men must wear a jacket) but that is the standard they set.

Room Tip: All rooms I would think would be of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy050813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,134 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,394 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,068 in London
4,560 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,068 in London
3,933 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,068 in London
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing