We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belated birthday treat”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #32 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I tried to book an Afternoon tea at the Ritz for the beginning of December for my partners belated birthday treat, but I wasn't able to book it, it kept saying this is not available. As there were about 4-5 sittings each day I thought it was strange so I emailed them. A very nice gentleman emailed me back explaining that as from the end of November it was a Christmas afternoon tea, not the "normal" one. It was slightly more expensive but was well worth the extra. I booked for the 7.30pm sitting. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant gentleman who showed us where we had to wait to be seated. When seated we were given a glass of champagne. Then we chose which tea or coffee we each would like. There were an assortment of sandwiches, which were replenished with more of whatever u preferred. Then we were given an assortment of cakes, and warm scones, with clotted cream and jam, all of which could be replenished if required. Lastly we had a choice of Christmas cake or pannetone. Whilst we were eating there was a lady pianist, who was very pleasant and also a choir singing Christmas carols. The hotel was decorated lovely for christmas, with a massive Christmas tree inside just as we arrived and all the way through the hotel. It was a lovely special treat and we felt it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue4656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,874 - 2,880 of 3,796 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

My friend & I visited The Ritz for afternoon tea in November. We had a wonderful afternoon & was well & truly stuffed with ALL the lovely sandwiches & cakes/scones we ate. The staff were excellent & it was an experience that I wouldn't have missed & worth every penny.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wen078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Whenever we are in London, we have afternoon tea at the Ritz, but the Christmas Tea was even more special. Champagne, then the usual yummy sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream, and beautiful desserts, then Christmas pudding. All while listening to carols sung by a live choir. A very special treat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

my husband and i went to the ritz for afternoon tea in october 2012, it was just amazing and we could not eat another thing as our plates were replenished time and time again the warm scones with the thick clotted cream and strawberry jam were heaven ,we also had plenty of sandwiches and pastries also another tray of homemade cakes were offered !!!!!! great choice of teas or coffee ,service was very good too and very helpful ,loved our time here first class many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Wow...what an experience. Treated my boyfriend for his birthday/Christmas....it was a surprise gift which went down a treat! The afternoon was scrumptious....with plenty to eat and copious amounts of tea on offer. The champagne and carol singers made it all that extra bit special too. The staff were courteous and very attentive. The decorations were beautiful and elegant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

i have stayed at this hotel many times, i have yet to find any staff surley or pushy or for that mater serving warm white wine maybe this young lady wasent used to paying that type of money for drinks but people should also remember this if you treat a member of staf with contempt then dont complain because many oeople do when they turn the tables on you

Room Tip: 500 a night is a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fantasy10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

There are 116 rooms in this hotel--you would never know it. The hotel seems very intimate and boutique-like. Everyone knows your name and room number- phenomenal security. Benjamin at reception is an absolute delight. Possibly one of the best concierge teams in London- namely Ben and Andy. The dining room is run with great precision by Riju. Immaculately maintained public spaces- just about perfection. Christmas decorations are spectacular. We stayed for 8 days- and will return in the late spring or early fall. Head assistant manager, Judith Wagenschwanz is most gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: If you book on LHW or Amex Platinum/Black Card- an upgrade is "maxed out" at the junior su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#27 of 1,081 in London
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,081 in London
4,410 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,081 in London
4,265 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £390 - £760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing