We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea in Palm Court - Unpretentious elegance & service”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #37 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Resounding thanks to the Barclay Brothers for their foresight and vision in the restoration and maintenance of this world gem

Unpretentious classical British country house elegance and efficient service. Great warmth and charm. Pianist joy to listen to. Looking now to book for my daughter & mother as birthday presents.

Bought as last year's Christmas present by my wife's brother - we enjoyed Afternoon Tea last Saturday in the Palm Court restaurant.
Choice and quality of food - v good.
Choice and Quality of Drinks- excellent - so many different teas
Staff assistance and Service- provided with great warmth and charm
Staff Appearance- impeccable but not intimidating.
Quality of Service- considerate and considered
Environment and Decor- like a Rococo church in its gilt splendor
Value for Money- sending my daughter to chaperone my mother for her birthday present

Want to run a restaurant, be a waiter/waitress? Dine here & learn.
So unlike the uppity Oxo Tower's staff and its inadequate Sunday lunch.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff as to a confidant, they know so much, and so wish to help
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillStringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,610)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,699 - 2,705 of 3,610 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Elegant, exclusive, exquisite, first-class, grand, luscious, lush, luxurious, palatial, special, splendid and refined in every way. We truly had an all round Ritz experience from our beautiful room, to dinner and dancing at the Ritz Restaurant, lunch with cocktails at the Rivoli Bar and finally playing the tables at the The Ritz Club casino. Aristocratic, chic, classy, cultivated, dignified, exquisite, fancy, fine, grand, handsome and lavish. There are not enough words to describe the wonder of The Ritz and the amazing hardworking staff that make it so unique.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cretancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stay away if you do not want to be ripped off. The front desk at check in tried to upsell us in a room upgrade. We already had a suite at a nice price but was offered a larger suite at triple the price because our room was "not ready". Ten minutes later room was ready. This let a very bad taste in my mouth so I contacted management & was told that it is "policy" to try & upsell customers at check in...vert tacky practice if you ask me.....so stay away if you dont want to be treated like a dollar sign!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We have just returned from our stay 24/12 at this wonderful hotel. Our one bedroom suite was big and beautiful, overlooking Green Park. Lovely Christmas goodies were waiting for us in our suite...and our 19 year old son had been given a room upgrade. It really was the perfect Christmas morning. Breakfast arrived in our room with luxury crackers and the most amazing gifts inside! All the staff were professional and friendly. Thank you very much Ritz London for making our Christmas so memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I tried to book an Afternoon tea at the Ritz for the beginning of December for my partners belated birthday treat, but I wasn't able to book it, it kept saying this is not available. As there were about 4-5 sittings each day I thought it was strange so I emailed them. A very nice gentleman emailed me back explaining that as from the end of November it was a Christmas afternoon tea, not the "normal" one. It was slightly more expensive but was well worth the extra. I booked for the 7.30pm sitting. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant gentleman who showed us where we had to wait to be seated. When seated we were given a glass of champagne. Then we chose which tea or coffee we each would like. There were an assortment of sandwiches, which were replenished with more of whatever u preferred. Then we were given an assortment of cakes, and warm scones, with clotted cream and jam, all of which could be replenished if required. Lastly we had a choice of Christmas cake or pannetone. Whilst we were eating there was a lady pianist, who was very pleasant and also a choir singing Christmas carols. The hotel was decorated lovely for christmas, with a massive Christmas tree inside just as we arrived and all the way through the hotel. It was a lovely special treat and we felt it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue4656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My friend & I visited The Ritz for afternoon tea in November. We had a wonderful afternoon & was well & truly stuffed with ALL the lovely sandwiches & cakes/scones we ate. The staff were excellent & it was an experience that I wouldn't have missed & worth every penny.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wen078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Whenever we are in London, we have afternoon tea at the Ritz, but the Christmas Tea was even more special. Champagne, then the usual yummy sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream, and beautiful desserts, then Christmas pudding. All while listening to carols sung by a live choir. A very special treat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,072 in London
4,728 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,072 in London
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,072 in London
4,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £403 - £882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing