We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luncheon at the Ritz”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #32 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ras Al Khaimah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Luncheon at the Ritz”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We celebrated a round number Birthday here. The staff were ultra helpful, uber chic and the food was amazing. Great ambience, nothing too hurried...a step back in time to old elegance. Thoroughly worth a visit. They even made a complimentary Birthday cake. Cost for 6 = £600 including 4 bottles of wine. Great value for the quality and standard of food.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeenieWeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,794
    468
    128
    55
    54
See reviews for
785
1,613
123
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at the Ritz the week before Christmas 2012 and it was a memorable experience. The staff is wonderful, especially the head Hall Porter, Michael, and the doorman, also named Michael. An earlier reviewer talked about trying to be persuaded at check in to take a much more expensive accommodation than requested. This also happened to us. We looked but stayed with our Junior Suite which was large and magnificently furnished. The room decor is so French that I had to remind myself I was not in Paris when inside our room. Original gold gilt moldings and chandelier from 1906 are part of the furnishings. The bathrooms have been redone and are large with beautiful marble. We stayed in 2 different suites as we split our week up with a short stay at Chewton Glen in the middle. (See review) Both our suites were gorgeous.

Especially wonderful was our Saturday evening of dinner dancing at the Ritz Restaurant. It was really a throwback to another era and we loved every minute of it. The room is one of the most beautiful anywhere, the food was haute cuisine, service fabulous and the ballroom dancing to a four piece band so much fun. We stayed the whole evening from 7:00 until after midnight as did the whole crowd there. Many were dressed in tuxedos, but cocktail dress and suit and ties were also very appropriate.

As others have said, the location in Mayfair can't be beat especially if you want to be within walking distance of Buckingham Palace and so many other royal sights. The shopping on Piccadilly, and New and Old Bond Streets is so much fun and the nearby restaurants are fabulous. Michael made all our dinner reservations and we dined superbly on his recommendations.

I highly recommend this hotel for those who want the absolute best in luxury and service. However The Ritz is old-world elegance, so if you want luxury with a contemporary feel, another choice would be better. But this is London at its grandest.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank discerningNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I am so pleased that you were left with such positive and happy memories. I must agree that Live at The Ritz on a Saturday is a special evening at the Hotel and much in demand. As I have said before on TripAdvisor, our Concierge desk is, I believe, the best anywhere, and their recommendations for restaurants and excursions seldom fail to delight. I hope to see you on another occasion. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for our 1st Anniversary. We had the cheapest room available, it was still about £300 per night but it was fantastic. We were offered a turn down service which we’d never experienced before and as a surprise we had rose petals scattered on the bed which was a lovely touch.
The gentlemen on the door knew our names, which was amazing I don’t know how they did it. We certainly didn’t feel like second class guests just because we stayed in the cheapest room available.
We have afternoon tea in palm court which was beautiful, the food was amazing and the service was second to none. We especially liked listening to the pianist whilst we ate. You can request songs and he playing our first dance song which was really special for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
This is great news. A wedding anniversary should always be worthy of a special celebration, and I am delighted that you chose to spend this special time at The Ritz. We are lucky enough to be able to help make magic moments for many guests, and I appreciate you taking the time to say how special your stay was for you. Thank you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as the other hotel near our meetings was fully booked. I am so glad that we stayed at the Ritz instead. The Christmas decorations were beautiful and each evening, there will be music played along the corridors just opposite the area where their famous afternoon tea is being served at the Palm Tea Court.

The service here is good with the reception area staff being really friendly and nice and the concierge staff are also very helpful with tour arrangements and directions. Throughout our stay, we have been greeted by the staff each morning and evening.

The rooms are surprisingly spacious and luxurious and the location of the hotel is convenient. Most bus tours including the double decker "hop on hop off" buses stop just at the back of the Ritz. So getting onto tours and transportation is rather convenient. The Green Park is just behind the hotel and Oxford Street is just a short 10 minutes walk away. The Green Park tube station is also 5 minutes walk away. Just opposite the road, there are a few shops such as M&S and Cafe Nero where you can pick up a sandwich or coffee.

I would definitely recommend staying at the Ritz and experience this old world charm hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeCool_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you Sir for recommending a stay at The Ritz! I am very pleased that Reception gave you and your friends a warm welcome to the hotel and that you found Concierge to be helpful and informative. I hope you will make us your first choice on your next visit to London. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had the Ritz as our home away from home over Christmas this year - and loved every moment. No detail was overlooked during our stay. From the time we arrived and were taken care of so well at reception, to the time we checked out. The lobby and Palm Tea Court were decorated exquisitely. It was like a Christmas Wonderland. Lovely carolers were singing every time we returned home to the hotel. You are handed your very heavy old fashioned key and off to your room you go. BTW, you can store your key with the hotel when you go out, so you don't have to lug it around. We stayed in an Executive King room and it was extremely spacious. Loved the black out shades that rolled down at the touch of a button by the bed. Each time we returned to our room, there was something waiting for us. Champagne, mince meat pies, a lovely stocking filled with fruit and nuts, Chocolates. For a small fee, they even set up a Christmas tree in our room for us! We enjoyed a fabulous Christmas Tea in the Palm Court - lovely to see Father Christmas come around with little bears for the little ones. You could see their little faces light up.

Thank you to the attentive, detail oriented staff at the Ritz, you made our Christmas away from home the most wonderful one........

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We love celebrating Christmas here at The Ritz and It is heartening to learn that our efforts were appreciated by you and your family. I very much hope you will return for the festivites of 2013. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Our second Boxing Day afternoon tea at the Ritz - and again a great experience! The hotel is decorated so beautifully and the carol singers added to the experience. Food excellent as usual, and service impeccable. Only one little gripe was that there was no Christmas cake included, which we'd had at our last visit in 2010 - but we certainly didn't go short!

Room Tip: Advance booking necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Visited The Ritz on December 30th for afternoon tea. It was delicious and an amazing experience. Something we will only get to do once. Booked 3 months in advance and got a gorgeous table close to the pianist. Waiters were brilliant and good was delicious. Highly recommended but book in advance.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig and Nicol... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,405 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,152 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#39 of 1,068 in London
4,617 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,966 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing