We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #32 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
NY
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Hotel has a very good location in the center of London. One of the classic luxury hotel with excellent service. Spacious rooms in a chateau style are very comfortable. The real highlight is the tea in five hours. Rolls Royce standing in front of the hotel only hotel suppliers uniqueness of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

3,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,796
    469
    130
    55
    55
See reviews for
789
1,614
123
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We enjoyed afternoon tea at The Ritz yesterday and were not disappointed. Delicious cakes and sandwiches and all beautifully served by impeccable waiters. The ambience and atmosphere add to this experience and it's something that should be on everyone's 'to do' list. Even the ladies' powder room is worth a visit ! No electric handryers in here !!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I couldn't help but hum "p-p-p-putting on The Ritz" from the moment we checked into this superb example of fine, dignified English service. It was a joyous hum that only partly kept my excitement in check at staying at this fine institution. We had concerns that staying with a baby would mean we'd be frowned upon. We were not at all. Our King Suite was spacious and impeccably clean. In-room breakfast was a dining experience unto itself. We also organised a nanny (who was a teacher & highly qualified) and dined downstairs. This was a faultless dining experience. The Ritz is more than a hotel, its an icon. It must be experienced, even for just 1 night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
It is very gratifying to read that you and your young family enjoyed your stay. We all enjoy seeing young people around the hotel and hope that your child will become a regular guest with us over the years ahead. Thank you for your kind words. SB
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

A perfect place for an authentic English afternoon tea! This hotel boost its impeccable Parisian interior design dated back to the 18th century. Lavish chandelier, exquisite restrooms and walkways just set the mood right. The scones were perfect with a wide variety of fine tea to choose from and the staffs were professional and friendly. Remember to make a reservation a few months earlier!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The ritz in London has for many years been the epitome of elegance, decadence and sophistication and it didn't disappoint . We are a young couple and didn't really know what to expect but I can honestly say we were treated no different than any of the other guests. The afternoon tea itself lived up to all the hype with selection aplenty and waiters offering more sandwiches , cakes etc if needed. Couldn't fault the staff , one could of been more happier but that really is clutching at straws to find a negative where there are so many positives. All in all an excellent experience and would recommend to anyone to try at least once in their lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

at ritz at moment, came back for hubby's 50th, asked for same suite as last time. Usually when you return to a hotel it's not the same as you remembered it...but wow this one is! It's still as magical as ever, beautiful and service outstanding. We have been here for last 4 days, nothing's been to much bother for the staff and as always managed to get us some of the best seats in the house for two shows, one of which was sold out! I don't know how they do it but they are fantastic.

We going home tomorrow, so sad I don't want to leave I could happily live here!

If you are going to London stay here you will have a holiday to remember for the rest of your life.

We are hoping to make this an annual break alongside the usual "hot holiday" abroad, well worth every penny. A big thank you to all the ritz staff x

Room Tip: If you are going to splash out on a suite 318 is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for letting us know that we succeeded in helping you celebrate your husband's special birthday in style. I say it again and again, but the team we have at the moment is fantastically kind and obliging, and Concierge are renowned for pulling those 'sold out' tickets out of the hat. It's The Ritz. SB
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife & I have been staying at the ritz for 15/16 years on a regular basis .the hotel is now up to its finest standard ,the staff are superb highly trained & they always make you feel at home .since the hotel was taken over by the Barclay brothers the whole hotel has improved to probably the best in London I would highly recommend the afternoon tea in the famous palm court & the dinner dance in the restaurant on Friday or Saturday evening the magic is there only problem is ,we are spoilt & hope always to stay at the ritz. Harvey & June silver

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Silver, you are always welcome at The Ritz and we always look forward to seeing your name on our arrivals list. Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know of your appreciation and I will always be delighted to see mention of the lovely service you receive from my wonderful team. SB
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,404 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,150 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,068 in London
4,612 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,964 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing