We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Ritz was nice..but could be improved”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #28 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Stay at Ritz was nice..but could be improved”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed at Ritz for one night with boyfriend at the time. The room cost 850£ - iv always wanted to go so he took me.

Staff are quite stuffy meaning if your waiting in lobby I got atleast 3 saying was I ok... I don't think this is needed.

They even have guys to just open doors which I found funny. A nice girl brought us up to room.
Room was lovely - very classic and clean. If your into modern please don't stay here.

I had dinner brought up to room - I know..i was lazy and enjoyed pasta which wasn't on menu
but wasn't amazing.

I was quite shocked as to tv channels they had on - no ITV2 or E4 and these are standard UK stations that was a let down

I ordered breakfast up to room in morning - it was lovely. Everything was wonderful.

Would I stay here again...yes but only one night and special occasion at 850 £ I cant really justify price.

My total including his lunch , my breakfast , two meals , hotel...prob came to atleast 1500 for that one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francescaf218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,762
    467
    127
    55
    49
See reviews for
779
1,590
122
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

we stayed at The Ritz as a 25th anniversary celebration and we also had a champagne afternoon tea there. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming not pretentious at all . after reading some of the reviews regarding the taking of photographs we didnt have any problem whatsoever ,in fact two members of staff actually took photos for us !!
the night before our anniversary we got back to our room to find that the maid had made a love heart out of rose petals on the bed and also scattered rose petals on the way to the bed !! What a lovely wonderful touch that we were not expecting ! The bed was THE most comfortable bed i have EVER slept on !! In fact the duck down pillows were SO comfy ive been out today and treated myself to some >>>> All in all we were treated like royalty and a stay at The Ritz should be on everyones bucket list !!!

Room Tip: we asked for a top floor room and for the first time i didnt need my earplugs while i was away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himandher996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
I can tell that you had a great time at The Ritz and am most grateful for your effervescent feedback. I hope it will not be another 25 years before you return! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Globally renowned for its impeccable stature of elegance & quality the Ritz certainly delivers. The establishment is very clean & well lit & a beautiful entrance in where we were greeted.

It was a 1st time visit for me & the lady, she had no idea where we were going & was pretty speechless in terms of the fact we were dining there. Everyone who served us & helped were very literate, polite, friendly & pleasant. In addition to our 3 course meal with champagne the Ritz gave us complimentary bread & dessert.

They really know how to make an impression, its quite amazing that nearly most the table were full but the noise level felt as though there were only 12 people there. The food very delicious & being vegetarian they still catered very well. The portions are small but the taste is exquisite, the food came very quickly as well, there are about 15 or so waiters serving numerous tables & they all do an outstanding job.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeniesFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife was invited to the Queens Garden Party so to match the occasion we decided to stay at the Ritz. It was fantastic, from the luxurious surroundings to the attentive staff we were most impressed. A stay at the Ritz should feature in anyone's " To Do " list.

Room Tip: Some have a view of Green Park which is adjacent to Buckingham Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrexhamRealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
We are lucky enough to host several Garden Party guests each year and the atmosphere is always lovely in the hotel during such occasions. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and can recommend others to follow. Thank you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Went there last year for afternoon tea (xmas prezzie). First impression counts, was impressed by the elegance of the hotel, staff courteous and very accommodating. The tea itself was good but I expected more when it came to choices. The jam served tasted more like Asda smart price jam to me, very very sweet...
Overall I stiil think it was a great experience, another tick from my bucket list!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeybiz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stopped off on our way to afternoon tea (could not get in at The Ritz).
Four of us enjoyed a very nice bottle of Montrachet for £59.00. With all the added nibbles and wonderful surroundings we all thought it excellent value at £15.00 a head.
The bar is like a film set and the waiters are all very smart. Our chap could have smiled more, he was almost unfriendly, which is a shame as his tip would have been bigger if his smile was!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have been for afternoon tea at the Ritz, and both times have been outstanding, the hotel is immaculate and full of character, the food is outstanding and plentiful and very fresh and tasty! The staff are very helpful and welcoming, they provided out frites with a mini birthday cake free of charge and sang happy birthday to her! It is a great relaxing experience, will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossom219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,067 in London
1,133 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
1,391 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,067 in London
4,551 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,067 in London
3,921 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing