We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!!”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #33 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our party of 4 went to The Ritz for Afternoon Tea on Sunday 3rd November 2013. This was for my Mother's 80th Birthday, I just cannot find fault! From the moment we arrived in our Taxi a porter opened our Taxi door and we were greeted and shown to a table in the waiting area. We were served with coffee and cinnamon shortbread fingers. When it came to our time for tea, doors were opened for us and we were then shown to our table. The whole event was outstanding, a glass of very nice Champagne each, then our choice of tea, plenty of sandwiches, scones then cakes. When the waiter brought my Mother's Birthday cake the Harpist played "Happy Birthday" and everyone applauded! This really made her day! Everything was superb. We never felt we didn't belong there. Nothing was too much trouble. We were treated as equal to anyone staying at the Hotel. Thanks to ALL THE STAFF at The Ritz!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeoffRob1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,828
    471
    131
    55
    54
See reviews for
796
1,628
125
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

From when we sat down, through platefuls of scrummy finger sandwiches, onto warm scones with jam and clotted cream, then pieces of cake and ending up with pastries; all alongside pots of hot tea!! We had a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

had a fab time at the ritz london for the afternoon on my birthday last 31 of october 2013. was very pleased with the choices of sandwiches and cakes. staff was very pleasant and serviced can't really fault. i would definitely come back there again..So lucky that my best friend organised it for me and it made my day so extra special..

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Riza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at The Ritz for one night after we had dinner on the Orient Express. It was beyond fabulous. The décor was superb and very opulent. The staff were absolutely charming and attentive. Our room was vast and very luxurious with the biggest bed I have ever slept in. The in house video says it is the best hotel in the world and I would not disagree. The underground casino was beyond belief with its fabulous chandeliers and extravagant furniture. I couldn't find anything to complain about and I tried. All in all a wonderful experience. What a treat.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room overlooking Piccadilly. But I'm sure all the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank critiquenottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
It appears we ticked all of the boxes for you, and I couldn't be happier with your appraisal. Thank you for sharing your experience of The Ritz. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like the royal family. They were there for us but they respected our privacy. The rooms are beautiful and you feel wonderful the moment you walk thru the door. After tea, the mist cleared and the sun came out. We walked thru the park and headed to Buckingham Palace. No crowd so we walked around and enjoyed our stroll. We would have loved to stay longer but were on our way back home early the next morning. We had a lovely overnight at the Ritz.

Room Tip: Our room had a view down a London Street and gave us that London feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fromtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
It is most pleasing that you chose The Ritz for your stay in London, and that even the mist made an appearance for you to complete the stereotype. I cannot promise mist every time, but a Ritz welcome and service standards will always be on the menu. Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope you will visit again. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night in October 2013, in conjunction with a theatre. As many others have mentioned, the hotel is very well placed and very elegant with excellent staff and facilities. However, there are a few issues that we experienced that deserve mentioning. First we were welcomed to the hotel in the lobby and were escorted to our room, except that our "guide" got lost and couldn't find our room! She had to ask someone and after another trip to the lobby and up a lift we managed to get to the room. We were asked for our credit card by the "guide" which she wrote down on a notebook. I think this procedure is open to fraud as anyone having a written note of credit card details can do anything when they have the card details (this happened to us in Cypress when our card details were written down instead of using a credit card machine).

The room was excellent in all regards except that there were bits on the floor and in the bathroom which indicated that it wasn't hoovered before we checked in, or they just did a bad job of it. There was some construction going on outside our side of the hotel which was irritating and we complained about it. Got an apology and an offer of some earplugs. It would have been nice to have been told beforehand that some work was going on. Also, in the morning we were awakened by the shower running in the room adjacent to us which frankly was quite loud. And finally, the tiles in front of the toilet were stained yellow, which was a little disconcerting, and when we mentioned it we were told that there were no stains! White marble or marble effect tiles that looked like they had been stained over a period of time.

We had the pre dinner menu at the hotel restaurant which was quite good, but a little pricey at £72.00 for 2 including a carafe of wine.

All in all a lovely place and we would return, but for the RITZ- a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Facing the Thames is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for this review, however may I politely suggest that you might have confused us - The Ritz - with another hotel in London. I suspect this is the case as we do not have a menu at the price you state, nor do we have rooms facing the Thames. Likewise the description of a 'guide' requesting your credit card details is definitely not one of our procedures. Should you wish to experience the 'real' Ritz, kindly contact my office and I will make the arrangements for you; execoffice@theritzlondon.com SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Ritz sets the standard in luxury lodging and service--and the London Ritz raises the bar. Classic, luxurious, iconic hotel updated in a manner that maintains it's legendary charm and ambience. Great location near the tube, buses, and Buckingham palace.. Our room was spacious, beautifully appointed, with a lovely view and all modern amentias. The staff was the warmest, most attentive and proactive I've ever experienced....indulgent but never intrusive or hovering...a truly delightful place to stay if you ever have the opportunity and the $$$$..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy9028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Yes indeed, all of those fabulous qualities you describe come with a price tag! However, it always makes me smile to read that the dedicated staff members are appreciated and their attention to detail does not go unnoticed. Thank you for your genuinely delightful comments. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,069 in London
1,423 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,162 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,069 in London
4,661 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,069 in London
4,015 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing