We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still fabulous after all these years”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #30 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Still fabulous after all these years”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner and I had booked a Sunday night stay that was part of an offer including dinner, bed and breakfast. We arrived feeling weary and worn, having travelled from New Zealand, and from the moment we arrived knew we had made the right choice of place to stay.
The check in process was dealt with efficiently and with charm, attention and courtesy. We were introduced to Sebastian, our butler, who escorted us to our room (Sebastian deserves a special mention-what a wonderful chap he is!). We probably looked like a couple of scruffy oiks after our journey, and were treated with nothing but warmth and welcome.
The room was wonderful, so comfortable and well appointed, the bed was the most sumptious I have ever slept on. We had a snooze, refreshed our spirits with long, hot showers and made our way to the dining room. Dinner was a delight-each of the 4 courses delivering beautiful flavours and satisfaction and we marvelled at the skill of the waiting staff-it was like watching a ballet.
After a blissful, restorative night we enjoyed similarly scrumptious breakfast and made our way into the rest of our holiday.
We both enjoyed our stay so much, and Darling (for whom this was the first UK visit) commented that people complaining that Londoners are unfriendly clearly haven't stayed at the Ritz!
We actually travelled in 2009-and the happy memories of our stay are still as strong as ever, s felt a review was in order :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missamanda66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Albeit over four years ago that you stayed (?!), your comments are appreciated - and the Sebastian that I believe you are referring to is still hard at work here at The Ritz. I hope you will visit again. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,765
    467
    126
    55
    50
See reviews for
780
1,592
122
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I treated my family to afternoon tea here for my mum's 75th birthday and booked the celebration champagne package. We went on the 3rd December 2013 so the hotel was all decked out for Christmas which was very festive. On arrival a piano player sat in the foyer and played throughout the tea. The choir then took over and sang carols and then 'happy birthday' when the birthday cakes were brought out.

There was a lot of choice with various sandwiches, scones, mince pies, fancies, Christmas cake and lemon drizzle cake along with a large choice of teas. The birthday cake, which we boxed up and took home was lovely. I haven't been for tea in any of the other big hotels so I can't compare but we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scousemouse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed twice at the Ritz and I like it better than the Claridge's and the Connaught.
The service is impeccable, the suites very comfortable and the ambiance very quiet.
The restaurant is beautiful, but the quality of the food leaves much to be desired.

Room Tip: Park view suites are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValentinoNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
What a shame the Restaurant is not to your taste. The passion and dedication displayed day in day out by the Kitchen brigade, led by Executive Chef John Williams, is second to none, and Chef's finesse and skill are highly regarded within the industry. Thank you for your feedback nonetheless and I hope you will try dining at the Restaurant on another occasion. It really is very good food! SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed the week of Christmas. The service was amazing. When I called for a shoe shine or turn down service, the staff would be at our door within minutes. Michael the doorman was very friendly and remembered our name every day.

Some people don't like the tight security, but I appreciated it and felt very safe. Hotel security was posted around the lobby at all hours. There were extra men on duty in the evening.

I appreciated the dress code. Jeans are not permitted in certain areas of the hotel. Guests look elegant and sophisticated. There is an air of respectability and Old World glamour. I loved it!

We had two rooms because we brought our teenagers with us. Both rooms were stocked with lots of fluffy white towels. We had complimentary bottled water and ice every night. The sheets and pillows were soft. Mattress was comfortable.

It is quite expensive to eat at the hotel. The waiters in the main restaurant were very snobby during lunch and dinner. They tried on numerous occasions to up-charge us and I felt the language barriers and accents would increase during these moments. If we didn't consent to the more expensive bottle of wine, for example, then the waiter/sommelier would get huffy and irritated. He didn't seem satisfied when we ordered the $300 bottle of wine! That was after he gave a glowing report on a $3,000 vintage, and then the $700 vintage. Nevertheless, there are plenty of restaurants nearby if you want to avoid the persnickety waiters in the main restaurant. However, the breakfast staff was very nice. In addition, Rivoli Bar staff was nice.

The room rate was reasonable for the amenities and service provided. The hotel was spectacularly decorated for Christmas. We had tea and there was a never ending supply of food.

Hotel guests can dine at The Ritz Club casino. You can't gamble, but the bar is phenomenal.

The only negative was that the shower sprayed water all over the floor. This happened in both rooms because the glass shower door provided inadequate coverage. The water damage made the paint peal off the walls.

Overall, I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfromCA,usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Whilst I am pleased that you would choose to stay at The Ritz in the future, I am slightly concerned at your verdict on the staff in the Restaurant, not least of which the reaction you describe of the Sommelier. I hope there was a misunderstanding there, as $300 is still a large amount of money to spend on a bottle of wine. The environment, as you know, is a formal one, but there is no intention for the staff to be rude or stuffy. I am pleased that you found comfort in other areas in the hotel however. I would be pleased to allocate a member of the team to look after your needs in the Restaurant on your next visit should this be acceptable. I thank you nonetheless for taking the time to share your comments. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Visited with a friend for afternoon tea, excellent setting and service. The selection of pastries and sandwiches were all delicious. I cannot commend the hotel enough for their hospitality and warm welcome. Everyone is made to feel like a VIP.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
I could not be happier on reading your well written comments. I particularly enjoyed, and agree with, your appraisal of the fine job don't by Chef Williams and his team in the kitchen; and the remark regarding Luigi is spot on - he has the wonderful gift of being able to make everyone feel special. Thank you very much for not only observing the service excellence, but taking the time to put it in writing. I hope you will enjoy many more years visiting The Ritz. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I've been coming to the Ritz for years, and I never tire of it. I don't always stay there when in London, but I am never disappointed when I do. The surroundings are elegant and perfectly maintained, the food and drink of the highest quality, and the service is impeccable. I don't know of a better concierge desk, for instance: they have always managed whatever I've needed.

The rooms are as luxurious as you'd imagine in a hotel that defines luxury. They're spacious and well appointed, generally with a sitting area, and the beds and pillows are comfortingly inviting. Our bathroom this stay was very large, and had a tub that filled instantly, and a separate marble shower.

We entertained some friends in the Rivoli Bar with some excellent cocktails- I am especially fond of the Vesper, though the house champagne goes down well, too. The Rivoli is just right: classic Art Deco decoration, an intimate bar area, and tables that never seem over-filled. It spills over into the main gallery as well, and the people watching there is almost an Olympic sport.

I agree with the old saying that the Ritz has the 'most beautiful dining room in Europe.' To match it, they also have a great team of waiters, who understand and deliver five-star service. The chef, John Williams, is deservedly decorated for the magic he performs in the kitchen, and Luigi looks after us as if we're the only table in the room. I'm sure he'll treat you the same way, too.

This luxury and attention come with a price, and the Ritz is not afraid to charge for it, but for those times you feel like splurging it is good value. When I'm in London and need a dose of pampering in superb surroundings, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I had booked two nights at The Ritz in December 2013 - but due to bad weather and flight cancellations the first day had to be cancelled on short notice. The Ritz sympathized with our problems and charged nothing for the cancellation. On early arrival next day we were promptly invited to our room, which met all our expectations - in every aspect ...
To review a hotel experience like this calls for expressions that we scarcely use ...
The Christmas ornaments, the quiet but still very busy atmosphere, the background music, the style in the common areas all made impressions. The evening dinner in the Ritz Restaurant, the menu and the band playing evergreens from the 50-es with an excellent crooner in white tuxedo and guests taking an occasional dance .... All this could only happen here and in this style ...
We can only look forward to the next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olav Egil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
This is great - you have a very charming turn of phrase. I appreciate your kindness and will make sure your sentiments are passed on to the staff. I hope you have a very Happy New Year and will return during 2014. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
1,394 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,067 in London
4,557 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,067 in London
3,930 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing