We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How disappointed you may be as I was,....!”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #29 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Ritz is a brand name known internationally and this was my expectation when I reserved a two nights stay in this ultra luxury prestigious hotel in London. How shocking that experience was and how unexpected this could be for you or any other traveller who pays the price and does not get what is promised!! More precisely, I speak about not only their small and unappealing rooms on the 6th floor but the out of fashion and below ordinary bathrooms which are good only for a sub standard hotels. the broken toilet bowl, the dis-functioning faucets both in the sink and the bathtub, small and unappealing cabinet split in the bottom and dirty looking ceramics on the floor which cries for help!!! Well, I tried to speak to the Manager who seemingly was unaware of this state of disaster and his answer was "we will make sure that in the next renovation this room will get priority"!!! Hay,...this must at least be good for some of you in the next 10 years!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mehri13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

It would appear that The Ritz is not to your taste and the traditional decoration does not appeal to you. I am sorry this is the case and hope you will find more suitable accommodation on your next visit to London. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,323 - 2,329 of 3,684 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

When I arrived this hotel, a young woman receptionist was supercilious, spoke very fast with a purpose. Although I gave her enough tip by courtesy, but she just only interested in spend more money by me. During 4 nights stay, All door man & staff did not recognize or say hello to us, even if we say hello. unfortunately, they did not welcome us... The bason was obstructed, and heater could make only cold wind in my room. Foods variety of breakfast was really poor, similar to 1~2 star rating hotel. But they are too proud of themselves!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank MD_Kwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

It would seem that your experience fell far short of the service we aim to provide and I am very sorry about that. Please do let me know if you plan to return to London in order that we might redeem ourselves. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

OMG! We loved everything about our short stay at the Ritz. From check in to check out we were treated like VIPs. The birthday cake was brought to our breakfast table and it was so delicious. The room, the bars everything was awesome. Thanks Cindy for the warm welcome. We hope to be back soon. JB and Andre.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jossebeserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

This is lovely. I too hope you will return and thank you for your kind words. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Ritz for the weekend. We stayed in a King Room, which had the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. We also dined and danced on Saturday night which was amazing. The food was absolutely fabulous ( far, far better than at Maze, where we ate the night before) the dancing was fun and the professional dancers were a delight to watch.

Going to The Ritz is like stepping back in time to a more gentle era, it's all beautiful. But what really makes it so special and the reason we wouldn't hesitate to go back, is the wonderful team of staff who are The Ritz. They worked so hard, were so kind and never failed to smile.
We loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nonna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

If you have read any of my previous responses, you will see that nothing gives me more pleasure than learning how happy our guests have been with the service from the hard working staff. I cannot thank you enough for spotting the effort that they put in to making each guest feel special. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

There are any number of 5* hotels around but The Ritz just oozes quiet efficency and levels of faultless and understated service that makes it so much better than many others. On a wet and miserable wet afternoon, I must have waited a whole 30 seconds before receiving a welcoming smile and an apology for having been kept waiting (in contrast to twiddling my thumbs for 10 minutes or so in a similarly 5*, but more trendy establishment within the square mile).
The room was spacious with a good size bathroom, 'proper' towels (and enough of them for even my requirements) with quality toiletries. Naturally all the usual little extras were there but just that much better. Our top floor room overlooked Green Park and a number of some of the more iconic landmarks of London's skyline; Big Ben, Battersea Power Station, the London Eye.
The public areas cannot be faulted and I defy anyone not to have a glass of champagne or a cocktail before heading out for dinner.
The cost of a room is somewhat higher than I would usually pay when booking an overnght stay after a dinner in London but I have been converted by the excellence of the Ritz and will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omanmuscateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

It is wonderful that you are now a convert to the services we offer and we look forward to your return. Thank you for taking the time to send in this feedback. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband arranged for an overnight stay on Saturday 8th February for my birthday. From the moment we arrived when we were advised that our room had been upgraded, to the minute we left it was everything I hoped for and more. Staying at the Ritz isn't just a stay, it's an experience. Despite it's opulence, attention to detail and warm and friendly service is clearly the theme that runs throughout and is well evidenced by all staff. No way is this a hotel living off it's reputation. It works hard to maintain its reputation and exceeded my expectations which were already high when we arrived. Even the noise of flag outside our room being swept about vigorously by high winds didn't deter from an excellent nights sleep. The sirens of emergency service vehicles did wake me a couple of times but the Hotel can't be held responsible for that. We thoroughly enjoyed dinner in the evening in the restaurant thanks to some wonderful entertainment from the band and the Ritz dancers and exceptional service from David - Thank You. I could go on but suffice to say that having originally thought that this would be a one off experience we both agree we would return again and hope to do so soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

It is heart-warming to read that your 'one off' is now intended to be a repeat! I am so pleased that we were able to make your stay a memorable one and am particularly pleased that you have noted the attention to detail in the service. Thank you for your kind words. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have stayed at The Ritz before and for various reasons I did not love it the last time, but WOW, I take it back. We stayed four nights at The Ritz and it was perfect, perfect, perfect. The room was absolutely beautiful with a lovely entry area and nice bathroom with separate shower. We ended up eating dinner in the room on two nights and the food was wonderful. Breakfast in the dining room is, of course, one of the best things about staying at The Ritz and the most civilized way to start a day that one can imagine. It is beautiful and the service is perfect. It felt more charming and less stuffing than on our last visit. And the doormen ... how DO they remember each guest's name? It is a very welcoming gesture and much appreciated. There are a lot of wonderful hotels in London, but with the location, service and elegance of The Ritz, why stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: I would DEFINITELY spring for an Exec King or a Junior Suite to ensure that a couple has plenty of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AYellowWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

It is most endearing to read your description of your stay as 'perfection'. Thank you for that, and for returning to us after a stay that you intimate was less than perfect. I am so pleased that you gave us the benefit of the doubt and that we were able to demonstrate why other return again and again. Thank you once more. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,811 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,077 in London
4,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,862 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £369 - £918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing