We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bygone era”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #32 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

As you as you walk through the doors you are transported into a time where elegance was at the top of the list. With cream, gold and mirror décor, towering palms and impeccably dressed waiters, it was reminiscent of a scene from the titanic especially when the quartet started to play! The tea was courteously served with a good selection of sandwiches, scones, small cakes and then on top of that, a trolley was wheeled round with yet more cakes. We had the coffee but contrary to another post, found it very acceptable, strong, good flavour, better than most cafetiere grounds. If you drink instant then it may be a little strong for you. At no point did we feel rushed, the staff made you feel special without being overly obsequious and I thoroughly enjoyed my time of sheer decadence.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank benfold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,418 - 2,424 of 3,796 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Exceeds high expectations. Staff are very welcoming. Room was beautiful. Hotel is stunning. This girl from Wolverhampton had a super time! Sad that our itinery was so busy that we couldn't fit in afternoon tea, but its a must for next time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank monkjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

How lovely that you enjoyed your stay with us and I trust that you will return for Afternoon Tea on another trip to London. Thank you. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

It was my wife's birthday trip, one night at a superior hotel plus fine dining. We booked a nice suite for us plus our daughter for about 900,-
Considering the shopping plans of my two girls we tried to get a late check out, which is not that easy. A charming receptionist encouraged us to double the price for the Berkely Suite with a high potential for a late check out.
First of all, the hotel is a museum of finest British hospitality and perfection in service, each staff member is attentive and nice.

The next day, after enjoying a superior breakfast we left for shopping, considering the promised late check out at 4pm. At 12:20 the hotel called me to tell me, that I should obey the check out time at 12:30 (???). After some discussions we had to head back to the hotel without completing our shopping tour to clear the room, no time to eat the nice birthday cake and to open the champagne.

If she would have called me in the morning, it would not have been a problem to reschedule the day, but there was no earlier call...

Discussions with the manager Judith did not lead to any solutions and she also did not come up with suggestions, compensations, she just manifest her point of view, check out agreements are without guarantee.

It has been the job of hotel employees of Ritz who found some solutions for us, because they just don't work there, this hotel is their life.

The manager however is a total fail and that explains the three stars only. Never accept an upgrade deal in exchange of late check out, the form you complete at check in with the desired check out time has no meaning.

First 12 hours amazing, second 12 hours a disappointment followed by employees of the hotel, some of them working there since 20 years, who kept me for giving only two stars.

Judith however should think over, if she really works in the right hotel....

Stayed: February 2014
11  Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We do our best to accommodate our guests' wishes regarding check-in and check-out, and regrettably on this occasion we were not able to help with your request due to the arrival of another visitor. I really am sorry about that. I would also like to clarify that Judith is a valued and respected member of the team and tries her best to satisfy the requirements of all our guests. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have been to afternoon tea at The Ritz on numerous occasions and am never disappointed. It is just wonderful with the sound of the Grand piano and the chinking of china. Everything is done to a tea! (excuse the pun) beautiful sandwiches, cakes and scones with service which is second to none. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank travelingwilbury1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the Ritz for afternoon tea to celebrate a 50th birthday. On arrival the doormen were very nice and very polite we were shown through to the Rivoli bar we ordered cocktails and informed the staff that we had a reservation for afternoon tea . Our cocktails were amazing works of art in fact. it was whilst we were enjoying them that we noticed a scrum like gathering outside the palm court restaurant at no point did ant member of staff approach us an tell us that out table was ready or offer to take out drinks for us so we had no choice but to gather our drinks and join the scrum not the fine dining experience that I had hoped for! We were seated and our afternoon tea selection was brought to us three of our party opted for tea and were happy with it but myself and the birthday girl opted for coffee it was vile and undrinkable another disappointment! As for the sandwiches and cakes they were very nice until dust from the palm tree fell on to my scone really I don't expect this in McDonald's let alone the Ritz. Sadly on this occasion we felt very let down

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevinNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just popped into the Rivoli Bar at the Ritz as a final treat after an exceptional Big Bus tour of London.
We did not have a reservation but were warmly welcomed and given the choice of sitting in the main lounge or in the quieter Rivoli Bar lounge. We chose the latter and were welcomed by very friendly and attentive staff, smartly dressed in cream lounge jackets.
Again we were offered a choice of seating, which was nice so as there were three of us we opted for a table for four to give ourselves plenty of room.
We were given plenty of time to select from the menu, which had a wide variety of teas to choose from.
Whilst we were making up our minds we were presented with a selection of savouries as appetisers
The drinks were nicely presented in silver service and of a high quality standard
We were very well looked after by the staff who showed a real interest in where we were from and what we had planned for our visit to London

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Ritz is a brand name known internationally and this was my expectation when I reserved a two nights stay in this ultra luxury prestigious hotel in London. How shocking that experience was and how unexpected this could be for you or any other traveller who pays the price and does not get what is promised!! More precisely, I speak about not only their small and unappealing rooms on the 6th floor but the out of fashion and below ordinary bathrooms which are good only for a sub standard hotels. the broken toilet bowl, the dis-functioning faucets both in the sink and the bathtub, small and unappealing cabinet split in the bottom and dirty looking ceramics on the floor which cries for help!!! Well, I tried to speak to the Manager who seemingly was unaware of this state of disaster and his answer was "we will make sure that in the next renovation this room will get priority"!!! Hay,...this must at least be good for some of you in the next 10 years!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mehri13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

It would appear that The Ritz is not to your taste and the traditional decoration does not appeal to you. I am sorry this is the case and hope you will find more suitable accommodation on your next visit to London. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#27 of 1,081 in London
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,081 in London
4,410 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,081 in London
4,265 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £388 - £753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing