We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea at the Ritz London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #25 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at the Ritz London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Myself and sister went today to the Ritz Hotel London for Afternoon Tea, a 65th birthday present for myself. It was such a very good experience, the service and attention to detail was superb, the food good and all in all a very enjoyable experience. Would thoroughly recommend this experience, although quite expensive the whole experience is wonderful

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,686
    457
    125
    56
    47
See reviews for
755
1,549
119
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I went to the Ritz for dinner on a Friday nearly two weeks ago as part of some special birthday celebrations. The restaurant is beautiful, gentle piano music played throughout, it was very relaxing as long as you like a formal occasion, as far as we could tell they make everyone feel extra special. The staff were excellent and the Sommelier unbelievably good! It is not cheap but then the best things never are. The best restaurant that we have experienced anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The title says it all, you put on the Ritz and it totally encompasses you, my wife and I stayed at the Ritz for one night prior to joining the Orient Express trip to Venice as it was our 40th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we were totally overwhelmed with courtesy,luxury and the highest level of customer service that we have ever received in our lives,as we were unable to take afternoon tea due to unforseen circumstances we decided to go out for a walk, upon leaving our room key at the porters desk we were asked if everything was in order I mentioned that we were unable to take afternoon tea and the porter asked us to wait while he made enquiries, moments later he was back with a table booking for 3-30pm that day, my wifes face was a picture. Best bib and tucker and in we go, so much food and cake, champagne to start and a good selection of teas, the waiters kept coming round and replenishing everthing, we didn't go short of anything and as a bonus the pianist played a few tunes for my wife. That evening we went to the Riviera bar for a drink prior to going out for dinner, an absolutely wonderful little bar with authentic Lalique glass panels and Art Deco styling. Later when we came back to our room my wifes face lit up with with amazement when she saw the bed, on the cover was a heart made from rose petals with a rose in the middle, rose petals scattered everywhere and chocolates left for us as well. The room was large enough and luxuriously equipped and very quiet. The following morning whilst our bags and ongoing travel arrangements were being dealt with we were asked by the same porter who arranged tea for us whether everthing was to our satisfaction, we answered yes and asked him to thank everybody on our behalf, the next minute he dissapeared and came back with a truly wonderful gift for my wife which will remind us of a truly wonderful experience.
This gentlemans name was Michael De Cozar and he is the Head Hall Porter and we would like to thank him for making our visit extra special, a very special and caring person who takes great pride in his job. Thank You Sir.
We would also like to thank all of the people and staff that served us most admiably.
We have made plans to return to the Ritz when we are up in town again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoyMarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
What a charming summary of your stay! It is wonderful to read of your enjoyment and most rewarding to know that this experience has prompted you to return. I am not surprised to learn that Michael de Cozar helped to enhance your stay with us; Michael has worked at The Ritz for over 40 years and knows a thing or two about customer service! I hope your next visit will be as enjoyable as this special anniversary was. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stopped at the Ritz bar for champagne for my husbands birthday, before dining at The Wolseley for lunch. The whole experience was fabulous, attentive staff, attention to detail and very lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I spent my birthday on the 27th Mar at the ritz for afternoon tea.i had a couple of issues and a wonderful gentleman called Nicolas Maury sorted the problem with the speed of lighting.This guy is a true gent and a credit to the ritz. I hope that on my next visit for lunch it all goes well as I have never had lunch at the ritz before.

Room Tip: When booking make sure you let them know if you have any special needs.the hotel is more than willin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie52xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My husband treated me to a champagne afternoon tea for my birthday and it also happened to fall on Mother's Day. What a fabulous occasion. The high tea was extremely tasty with a plentiful supply of sandwiches, cake and a wide selection of teas to choose from. We experienced exemplary customer service; exactly what you would expect from The Ritz. We also sampled some of the hotel's famous cocktails, which were equally impressive. A beautiful setting which cannot fail to impress. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheWisemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Another great birthday visit, this time a Sunday night dinner, staying in a deluxe room with breakfast, our room overlooking Green Park, and we were fortunate enough to have good weather.
The Ritz is in a great location, what with Green Park tube approximately 100 meters around the corner from the entrance, within 10 to 15 minutes you can be at any London attraction you wish.
And of course the service at the Ritz was excellent, making you feel welcome and relaxed.
The meal was very well presented, with great tastes, as with most fine dinning, you could have done with more, but this was a great experience, and after, we frequented the Rivoli Bar, for a night cap or two.
Yes, the whole stay is quite expensive, but just think were you are staying, and the level of service you are receiving.
Very enjoyable, and a great celebration with friends, who also enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Wonderful! I am so happy that your birthday treat was a success and I hope you will repeat the event next year. Thank you for your kind feedback. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#42 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,466 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing