We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cesar Himself Would be Proud, Still!”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #26 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cesar Himself Would be Proud, Still!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

From the very beginning of booking our room nine months in advance, we received trademark service from the team at The Ritz London. Between the pre-arrival experience and the reviews on Trip Adviser, I had very high expectations. These expectations clearly met and exceeded. Before I go any further, allow me to describe myself. I am thirty, very young for this hotel. Given some reviews on here about being mistreated by the staff, my partner and I were worried about being young and also gay at such a discriminating hotel. Let me tell you, this hotel goes so far to please and make you feel welcome, I have to believe that the people writing these terrible reviews are either tourists not staying at the hotel, liars, or deserved snippy service!

My grumbles aside, this hotel is perfect in every way. We came from Dallas and arrived in the city many hours before check-in. Since we were upgraded, the room took a while to get ready, so we walked the city and came back around 2:00PM. Our room was still not ready, so the hotel seated us in The Long Gallery for a complimentary afternoon tea seating! I've heard of people waiting for months to have tea here and the hotel gave us this experience without asking. A fabulous first impression, as was my Leaders Club Gift and birthday cake in the room.

We arrived in the room and it was a corner deluxe on the 4th floor over Piccadilly and Arlington. Our view was straight down Piccadilly, amazing! The room was very large and featured gorgeous lighting, original artwork from 1911, a dressing area, desk, sitting area and dining nook, with two closets, and everything was dripping in gold leaf! Just spectacular. The bathroom was a little small, but was covered in marble and featured Asprey amenities to die for! Both the room and bathroom featured fresh flowers. Orchids in the room and roses in the bathroom.

During the whole stay, the entire staff was fantastic. The housekeeping staff was so sweet and kind, and we were even home to see the famous Ritz turn-down take place and the maid was so kind chatting us up while she worked. Breakfast in the immaculate dining room was a treat to start the day, and waiters in their tuxes were just so put together and adorable. And where do I begin with the concierge team and lobby staff. They recognize you and call you by name within your fist afternoon there, wow.

Two nights we went down to the exclusive and private Ritz Club for cocktails and dinner. This club might be the most immaculate and ornate of any hotel bar and dining room I've seen. One of the casino rooms is even an amber room replica. If you've got a suite jacket with you, don't miss the Ritz Club, it's the finest hotel bar and casino the world over.

All in all, this was a perfect stay. Should my partner and I be in the UK again, The Ritz London will be our number one choice to stay.

Room Tip: Spring for at least an Executive Room, however Deluxe was iconic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ittessot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
This is a very touching and much appreciated review of your experience at the hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to write so eloquently and I hope your next stay with us lives up to the same high standards that you now know we are capable of! Thank you once again. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,730
    461
    125
    55
    48
See reviews for
766
1,573
120
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Horwood, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

visited The Ritz on Saturday evening for 'Live at The Ritz' dinner to celebrate my granddaughters 18th birthday. From the moment we arrived to the end of the evening everything was perfect, the service was second to none, charming service from every single member of the staff, the food was delightful, we chose the 'Surprise' menu, 6 courses and every one was delicious. We enjoyed the Band very much and especially the Tango Dancers, fabulous. Not our first visit but will most definitely not be our last. Thank you so very much for providing a night to remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

i have mixed emotions on this review. i loved the room, we were given an executive room, which was rather nice facing the street. the service was great. no issues on anything other than the hotel closed down early. the doors were locked at midnight, but that's okay. the problem there was nothing really to do in the late evening. so if you plan on going to bed a bit early, want a great room, and have great serivce this is for you. if you want to see some bar action and enjoy some late night people watching, this wouldn't be the place. we did enjoy the quiet "secret bar" in the casino downstairs. felt like a place james bond would hang out, except we were the only ones there.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a tub with the shower. there is a lot more room in the bathroom. the shower w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
I am always pleased to read positive comments on the service provided by the staff, as this is where I believe The Ritz excels. I understand your remarks regarding the late night calm - perhaps it was just a quiet night and it is a shame that you missed the buzz that it often evident. Christmas time is certain to tick all the boxes you require, should you be in London at that time and I hope you will return then. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Visited the Ritz for afternoon tea as part of my friend's and my birthday celebrations. The overall experience was amazing - such a great opportunity for people watching. Service was excellent and the atmosphere was lovely. The day we visited the piano wasn't being played, instead the music was played on a harp which added to our experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jars64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I visited The Ritz for our 30th birthday celebrations. We had a wonderful time. Great food, great service and a great atmosphere.

Staff are attentive and often ask if you would like more of the sandwiches & cakes so you will never leave hungry.

Everyone should visit at least once to enjoy this great tradition.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SophieJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A Christmas gift,lunch for two at The Ritz! What a fantastic experience.The palacial decor to the impeccable service was the best.The food was very good and the wine list enormous.A memorable occasion which will stop with us forever.Try it and you won't forget it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bindone70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere and the glamour even before you have walked in the door. The collection of jewellery sparkling in the light was breathtaking. I have stayed in many hotels but none compare to The Ritz in London! We went to the Ritz for afternoon tea, first let me say that the food was exquisite and the waiters were pleasant and friendly. The Ritz is the sparkling diamond of London.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Loz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,521 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing