We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A touch of old fashioned elegance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #27 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A touch of old fashioned elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just spent a fabulous day a night at the Ritz to celebrate our 20 wedding anniversary and loved the experience. There is still an old world charm about the Ritz, from the afternoon tea to the splendid dinner with entertainment. The staff are courteous and helpful and the room was delightful compared to other London hotels. Don't get me wrong we don't stay in this type of accommodation as a rule when we visit London but for a special celebration it was perfect.

We went for a package which included a four course dinner with entertainment of a live band and a demonstration of Latin dancing , plus bed and breakfast. We then tarted ourselves to the afternoon tea all of which was amazing. Down side was the cost of drinks, it's not cheap but we went with it as it is after all the Ritz £83 for a lower end red!

Dressing up is all part of it and overall it was a brilliant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loopylou49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you. It sounds like you had a lovely time and I hope you will return again in the future. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,620
    452
    123
    55
    44
See reviews for
737
1,518
115
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Ritz for a weekend in April to celebrate a family members 75th birthday. With the purpose of the weekend away being a special celebration expectations where high and from the very outset the hotel delivered.

The hotel is a welcome break from modern hotels. There are no clean lines, no white walls, no modern furniture and definitely no trainers. What the Ritz has though is bags of soul, character, style and panache without being stuffy. It good to see that the hotel is true to its roots. It knows what it is and it's customers like us, like that. From the very outset we were made to feel at home. The staff are very well turned out and clearly conscious that the customer is king.

To the room. It was traditionally decorated and pleasantly roomy. As well as the usual features one would expect in a hotel room I was chuffed to find we had sports channels which meant I didn't have to miss out on the United match :) I also appreciated the turndown. Another nice touch.

We ate in the hotel on one of the two nights during the dinner and dance evening. The food as you would expect was excellent and the music and dancing where such a change to a usual Saturday night out.

We also drank in the Rivoli bar which whilst they charged hotel prices for drinks wasn't that expensive compared to other hotels I have visited before. The surroundings are lovingly maintained and art deco in style. Should have but didn't try the cocktails.

When you pay the money that these types of establishments command then you expect to feel special. You expect to be surrounded by opulence and grandeur. I am pleased to say that the Ritz delivered and I will return for those special times again.

The only slight negative about the whole weekend was a power cut on the Sunday morning. Showering by iPhone torch light is, as I have discovered, an acquired talent! Not entirely sure I can blame the hotel for that though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mancopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
This is a rather comprehensive review of our facilities! Thank you. It does appear that we met with your approval and it is excellent that this special occasion passed so happily. The power cut you mention was indeed beyond our control but nonetheless I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused. I agree that certain skills would be necessary for satisfactory showing by torchlight - hopefully not required again! SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
240 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for a day so did not fully get to explore or use facilities so fairly brief review. overall left with a very good impression. Great central london location, well sized rooms with high quality amenities and prompt service. Was able to get my shirt pressed in 20 minutes from arriving at the hotel. Very good breakfast menu. Staff were always keen to help and were very knowledgeable

No obvious flaws other than it is a slightly aged hotel with a slight musty smell in and around the bedroom. Some fixtures and fittings are also a bit dated but that adds to the charm I guess

Overall a very pleasant experience and Looking forward to stay again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nwk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I very much hope that you will come again and spend more time with us. I am sure you will like the hotel more and more when you are more familiar with our idiosyncrasies. Until next time. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I visited the Ritz for afternoon tea as a celebration for my Mother-in-Laws 70th Birthday. We were a party of 5 ranging from the "Birthday Girl" to my daughter who is only 8 (and was very exited about it!). We had a lovely time, the non tea drinkers were provided with filter coffee, and my daughter was given a choice of fruit juices or a bottle of water. She plumped for the water and felt very glamorous drinking from a stemmed glass! Sandwiches, as expected were delicious, and when offered, my daughter had some extra chicken and horseradish cream (her favourite) - although we didn't much care for the cucumber and dill, but that's personal taste. Cakes were stunning, as were the scones. The celebration cake we ordered was exquisite - sponge, fresh cream and fruit. Disappointed not to get any trifle "shots", that one of our party had last year, but will still visit again. Surroundings, beautifully opulent and staff wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovebarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My daughter and I took my mother for afternoon tea to celebrate her 90th birthday. It was a lovely experience and my mother said it was the best birthday she's ever had! We did treat ourselves to a black cab there and back which turned out to be a godsend as our brilliant cabbie new all the back roads which meant we were on time despite the tube strike! The food is what you would expect from afternoon tea, small tasty sandwiches, scones, cakes, tea and lots of it. All very acceptable and lovely. What makes it special is the ambiance, the sheer beauty of the interior and timeless class of the place. The staff are amazing despite the fact that they are obviously used to the vast numbers of everyday folk visiting just to say they have been, and indeed cater for them, they are not at all jaded by it and seem to get genuine pleasure from helping their customers to have a wonderful time whether it is with the excellent attentive service or the offers to take group photographs! We had a splendid time and would like to thank them very much. My mother was wonderstruck as she used to listen to the 'palm court orchestra' play at the Ritz on the radio when she was a girl!
The only negative I would mention is the rather steep stairs to the ladies toilet!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spherinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have stayed at the Ritz numerous times, but not for a while. We returned partly because when we last stayed at the Dorchester the dress code there has really gone down market now. People wearing trainers, jeans, T shirts and shell suits in a 5 star hotel it spoils the experience and atmosphere. The Ritz on the other hand has kept up a reasonable level of dress code which keeps a special atmosphere in the Hotel with everyone dressed up a bit. I don't mean this in a snobby way. It makes you feel that the evening or afternoon tea is more special. We couldn't fault our stay, everything was perfect including all the staff. We were lucky we didn't have any problem with the air conditioning which was effective in our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobTayloruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. The dress code at The Ritz can really divide our visitors. There are some, like you, who enjoy 'making an effort' and understandably there are people who are more comfortable in a more casual environment - both have their merits and I personally believe that there is a time and a place for both. At The Ritz, we have unapologetic sartorial requirements and I am heartened to learn that they meet with your approval! Thank you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Following a bad experience at the Ritz hotel in August2013 we were invited to canapés and champagne in the Rivoli bar in April this year.
We had a lovely time with very attentive staff and delicious food. A totally different experience from my last visit I would like to thank Ben for arranging this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariamccoy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I am so pleased that we were able to make amends and that the outcome was as should be expected. Ben was particularly pleased to see that his efforts had been recognised! Thank you for sharing this. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#45 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,411 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing