We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea at the Ritz - worth every penny”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #26 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Tea at the Ritz - worth every penny”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is the second time I've had tea at the Ritz. The first was 3 years ago when my sisters and I took our Mother for tea for her 60th Birthday (Which was absolutely amazing).

My Mother and I went again after Chelsea Flower Show - I think I booked about 2 - 2.5 months ahead and there were a few times left during the day so chose 1:30pm.

Once again, it was absolutely amazing - the one thing I like, is that NONE of the staff are rude, pretentious or in any way make you feel uncomfortable. I love to try 'posh' things sometimes, however if you're not used to them, sometimes I feel rather uncomfortable, almost as if I'm a fraud and shouldn't be there and sometimes, the staff can be quite condescending, rude etc - Honestly, you get none of that at the Ritz, just really lovely and friendly people.

We were 25 minutes early and were asked to take a seat which was fine - they found my surname on their Ipad and we got shown to the beautifully laid table. We chose the tea we would like and it came our quickly, along with some amazing sandwiches - all of which are explained by the waiter. The pastries are delicious and honestly.. you'll get so full! It doesn't look a lot on the plate and last time we made the mistake of saying 'Yes' to extra sandwiches (they come around with a massive tray of extra sandwiches so don't worry if you are hungry and want to eat more!). This time however, we saved ourselves.

The scones were also amazing - served with fresh strawberry jam and cream - and then there's pudding! I had a small slice of lemon drizzle cake which was lovely and moist - my Mother wussed out, as she had a lot of scones :-)

It was just amazing, with the piano playing, lovely food and a total treat.

Really would recommend this experience to anyone - it's expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,730
    461
    125
    55
    48
See reviews for
766
1,573
120
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

So, I took my sister here for afternoon tea for her 21st birthday! I was a bit wary of the price, because at a first glance I did think it was a bit steep!

Needless to say, from the time we got there to when we left we were welcomed! The waiters are wonderful, the food was lovely!

But the scones! They were by far the best!

A must for everyone visiting London!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited the Ritz in march and stayed for one night, not the type of place i usually frequent but as a treat we gave it a go. We were out at a concert for most of the day/night, even with this in mind the stay/staff were amazing! Pleasant informal chats with the door folk/reception staff made the experience well worth it! Room was amazing and i would definitely do it again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertotomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived on a Saturday afternoon for a one night stay with extremely high expectations and from that initial moment to when we left we were not disappointed.
From cocktails and nibbles in the Riviolli bar to breakfast and Sunday lunch in the main restaurant all were perfect. The main plus point were the staff, all those we encountered had that right blend of professionalism and friendliness, neither too aloof nor your best mate.
My best tip is once you've made the decision to go forget the cost, which is high end, and just enjoy the experience in the opulent surroundings of this iconic world famous hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephen0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

On arrival at the Ritz we were greeted courteously by a concierge and accompanied to the reception but that's as far as we got! Although we were using the same card to pay as the one we had booked with it wasn't considered id! And as such we were told in no uncertain terms we could not stay! As it was a surprise treat by my husband and we live in the UK neither of us had our passports or a driving License. On the booking confirmation there was no mention of this as it is actually buried in 11 pages of T&C's however god forbid you don't dress right as the dress code is plastered down the entire first page on the left hand side, PRIORITIES!!!!! I would like to review the entirety of the hotel but as we only saw the reception and salon it would be difficult at the least and dishonest at the most. The duty manager was in no way sympathetic to our plight and basically left us to sort out OUR problem on our own. We had no idea where our case was which had been left unattended in the lobby, so much for security. We had booked in to Quillon which was near but because we had to go to another( but fantastic Montague on the Gardens) hotel we were then subject to further expense in taxis!!!! I have M.S. which affects my mobility and as such we were rushing around and late for a special meal. I have no positive remarks for The Ritz at this time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
68 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have been to afternoon tea at the Ritz twice, once a few years ago to celebrate my sister's birthday and again more recently to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Completely excellent on both occasions. Impeccable service, delicious food (and masses of it), wonderful atmosphere, never to be forgotten. Also it's amazing how much better a good quality cup of leaf tea is, compared with the usual teabags most of the time elsewhere. The waiters are forever offering more sandwiches, cakes and whatever and almost seem hurt (in a charming and humorous way) if you decline.
More recently still we had dinner on a Sunday evening. Again totally fault-free and an excellent dinner to boot.
We expect no less than excellence from the Ritz and it is a pleasure to acknowledge that they achieved it.
Will we go again? Certainly, for very special occasions.
Note: we did not actually stay in the hotel, hence no comment on the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Pick a late time for "afternoon" tea - we went to the last sitting at 7.30 pm, so were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MANDH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 14th May for one night as part of a birthday surprise for my wife. What a fantastic experience. Having stayed in a number of top class hotels only to be underwhelmed on many occasions it's so satisfying when the experience exceeds in every department. Old school style, attentive but genuine staff, perfect bed and super shower and the best 'in room' breakfast experience we've ever had. Loved every minute

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JJC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Perfect! I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz on another occasion. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,521 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing