We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royalty for a day”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #27 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My sister two friends and I went to The Ritz on Saturday for afternoon tea to celebrate my friends birthday. We arrived to the gorgeous lounge area and were looked after so well by the lovely receptionist/waitress. We started our celebration with cocktails which were amazing.
We then were seated for our Afternoon tea. The decor and tea area was spectacular, and served champagne, delicious. We were served an array of teas in the solid silver tea pots. Finger sandwiches of six different kinds, replenished regularly. The most amazing petite cakes and scones that were to die for served with preserves and clotted cream. Then we had a choice of further cakes. During our tea a pianist and orchestra played gently the whole time. We had ordered a celebration cake for our friend who's 60th birthday it was. This was presented with candle etc while the pianist played Happy birthday. A day thatwe will all remember. If you want to spoil someone this is it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,153 - 2,159 of 3,630 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Having had a fabulous 2013, getting married, honeymoon etc what better way to end a brilliant year than at The Ritz London courtesy of my mum and sister via a wedding present. Thank you very much to you both. x
We arrived early evening the weekend before Christmas for afternoon tea and wow what a spectacular sight we were presented with. As we made our way through the entrance already we were made to feel like royalty. We were greeted by the most attentive of people and straight away were made to feel special. The Christmas tree and decorations were just amazing....a pair of life size shoes as a tree decoration, every girls dream surely? We made our way to The Palm Court and were literally waited on hand and foot. The sandwiches, cakes, coffee...(Sorry not big tea drinkers) and champagne arrived with perfect timing. 'Would you like us to take your photo?' 'Yes please :)' 'More sandwiches?' 'Yes please :D' Hot scones appeared and then lemon drizzle cake and Christmas cake. There was a choir singing carols and the like accompanied by a pianist in the background....just fantastic!
As I said a perfect end to a perfect year!
I always thought that this would be a special one off occasion, but having been there it was so brilliant we've just got to try and go again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank 11Alicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I continue to spend each anniversary at a different Ritz. The London Ritz did not disappoint. It is located centrally to Picadilly and was absolutely lovely. The open dining room for tea is gorgeous and is not to be missed (we witnessed a marriage proposal). Our room was a great size and overall quite impressive. We loved that even small requests were honored by the staff. We felt welcomed and the roses on the bed were lovely. I would encourage all to experience the Ritz London. It is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maestra611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

What a lovely treat you have to look forward to each year - lucky you!! I am so glad that here in London we did not disappoint you and hope that you will return. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was lunch at the Ritz. We have had afternoon tea on two occasions which was great and a real 'grande affaire'. The service exceptional and the sense of style perfect especially from the seats where you can observe the room. The recent refurbishment seems to mean it looks the same just fresher and still 'fin de siecle'. The staff are so cool, in control, welcoming in a totally professional way. As dining in London moves to the more casual, less formal, 'nothing special here mate apart from our marvellous zero carb tasting menu' it is wonderful to be greeted by nice people in nice uniforms who know how to serve. The lunch menu was excellent and as well presented as any restaurant in London. The sommelier was helpful, amusing, well informed - I felt he should have been an academic at Magdalen College serving the professoriat. The half bottle wine list is excellent and just ask the sommelier about the dessert wines - ours were different and extraordinary.
If you want a special experience try the Dorchester - a Grande Dame of the movie industry was shown to the terrace on a wet day by a phalanx of be-suited staff. What else would you expect this is the RITZ!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I have just read the young family's review having to endure temperatures of 28 degrees and think that is actually a criminal offence.
Our own room 102 was tiny . I had a lovely cake and bottle of bubbly complimentary which was nice. We were woken by the cleaning staff in the morning, ringing our bell. A hotel such as the Ritz , world famous for afternoon tea, couldn't produce a decaffeinated tea for me. Our suitcase was badly scratched when they stored it for us and in the ritz club the man on the next table was dressed in jeans and a sweat shirt and talking on his mobile - I could have gone to Costa Coffee for that! The Ritz is losing its fantastic reputation so needs to do something.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frodo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stay at the Ritz every time we are in London and the hotel never lets us down. As usual the staff were exceptionally accommodating. We booked a Jr. Suite and were given a very small room. The hotel was full, but when I complained the manager immediately arranged to have us moved to a larger suite (I personally like room 316). When our bags arrived a lock was missing. The hotel manager was almost beside himself over a $10 lock! I told him, no worries, but he insisted on having staff comb the prior room for the lock which was eventually found. I had stayed at the hotel many times but never done high tea. Although it was fully booked, they accommodated our last minute request and found a lovely table in the corner for us. One change for the better is that the Ritz bar no longer requires a tie. The concierge staff has been there forever and can score you last minute tix, reservations etc as needed. Our second room was classic Ritz- beautiful carpeting and moldings and marble bathroom per our photos. Al always, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Also, the Ritz is the best located hotel in town, very close to shopping on Jermyn and Bond streets and 50 steps from the tube. The price is reasonable especially compared to hotels in Paris.

Room Tip: Junior suites are normally large and a good value. I particularly like Room 316.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbreezedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

It is good to know that we continue to impress and I would like to agree that this is exactly our aim! I am so pleased that you have taken the time to leave this feedback expressing your gratitude. Thank you. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A simply sumptuous hotel in a fantastic city. The service is impeccable. The facilities are old world England at its best. I travelled with my mother and two small children, and no request made to staff was too hard or too difficult. All restaurant and activity recommendations given to us by concierge staff were amazing. The food is stunning and what a treat to eat in such a magnificent dining room. The hotel is conveniently located and walking distance to great shopping, tube stations, parks, restaurants, everything! We had interconnecting rooms which gave our family a little extra space - highly worth it if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brimham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

It would seem that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, which is always music to my ears. Thank you for your kind words which have of course been passed on to the staff. I hope you will make your way back to The Ritz the next time you are in London. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,076 in London
4,788 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#19 of 1,076 in London
1,448 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,076 in London
1,185 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,076 in London
4,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £403 - £895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing