We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #27 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Just wonderful a treat for my friends having touched down for a weekend in London and where better to take them. Never disappointed. Thank you all at The Ritz. A real treat and Joy. There are plenty of fabulous places to go for afternoon tea in London but if your going to do something classic it has to be done here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Chef-Mr-Watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,132 - 2,138 of 3,630 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Went to the Ritz today ,it was treat from our daughter when she got marry back in March,you have to book well ahead ,and it's well worth waiting for,upon arrival , we're treated like VIP,the tearoom when you walk in ,it's like going back in time,you pick the choice of your tea,then a selection of finger sandwich,pastry and then scone with Cotted cream and jam.follow by cake.the service was second to none, there was a piano playing in the background,all in all it was a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank number1son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

At our arrival the reception staff treated us with courtesy and friendly at the same time. We were delighted with our room, a genuine 5 star hotel has 2 chairs. The Ritz has 2 comfortable chairs. Also a walk in shower. We stayed for 4 nights enjoying this wonderful luxury hotel.The interior of the hotel is beautiful, fresh flowers throughout. We had afternoon tea, the last time was 20 years ago, still the same wonderful experience very expensive but worth it. The bar was perfect for us when we returned in the evening a good atmosphere, quiet, plus a wonderful selection of drinks. Staff are excellent. We requested a later checkout due to the long flight back to Australia, we were given a couple of hours even when the hotel was fully booked. If you want to spoil yourself this is the place. Worth every cent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for the lovely feedback. I am genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay having travelled so far to get here! I wonder if we will see you again before another 20 years have passed?? I trust you arrived home safely with fond memories of your stay at The Ritz. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After a bad start with the most unhelpful and rather arrogant person running the bar, we spent a pleasant hour there yesterday evening having some first class cocktails prepared by the most expert Indonesian/ Dutch barman who made me one of the best Cosmopolitans ever.

The ambiance is great and is just spoilt a bit by the surly attitude of some of the staff who I felt would have been more suited to a lesser establishment.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful hotel! The architecture and period furniture was breathtaking! The scent of fresh flowers when you walk in the door was intoxicating. Wonderful staff! Great restaurant! Very top notch and worth every penny!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

It is lovely that you were clearly so thrilled with what we have to offer. I agree that our florists do a wonderful job in the hotel and some of the arrangements really are stunning. I hope you will return on another occasion and be similarly delighted. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I visited the Ritz as part of our wedding anniversary celebrations in September last year. It was on a promotional offer, however we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. The food and wine was incredible, service everything we expected and more, and when I asked them to note the name of the wine for me, a few moments later the waiter returned with the wine label removed from the bottle and already mounted onto Ritz headed paper. The atmosphere was wonderful, the restaurant is magnificent and the ambience was simply lovely by candlelight. Absolutely fabulous and faultless experience all round. I can't recommend the Ritz restaurant highly enough and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bexsy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

This is excellent news and I am very pleased that you should have chosen The Ritz in which to celebrate your anniversary. I hope you will have many more opportunities to celebrate and will visit again. Thank you. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My wife & I had an anniversary cream tea & it was outstanding! The atmosphere, the venue & the way you are treated is like nothing I have ever experienced! You are made to feel very special & well worth trying - it is a must!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbird25059815784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,076 in London
4,788 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#19 of 1,076 in London
1,448 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,076 in London
1,185 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,076 in London
4,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £403 - £895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing