We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea... great sandwiches, the rest a disappointment”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #29 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I had a voucher as a gift for afternoon tea at the Ritz.

Upon arrival we were greeted at the door politely, and the imposing lobby was amazing. We were directed through to the waiting area, where we were shown to our table immediately. The ambience was enhanced by the playing of a piano softly in the lobby.

We were offered a menu and asked to choose from an array of teas from around the world, unfortunately, our initial "grumpy" waiter had very bad body odour which was off putting.

Another polite, fragrant waiter appeared and took our tea order, a plate of beautifully cut fresh sandwiches and some cakes were then placed on the table including smoked salmon, egg and cress, cheddar cheese and pickle - the sandwiches were replaced as often as required by the waiters. The tea was also replenished without asking throughout are afternoon tea. Unfortunately, my wife's teapot handle was too hot to pick up, and a fresh one which wasn't as hot was brought promptly. Little touches were absent - the tea label on the teapot was hand scribbled "English"

The next course of scones, two plain and two fruit scones were then placed on the table. The scones were "synthetic" dry and were not the calibre that one would expect of an establishment such as the Ritz. The waiter then took of the lids from the pots containing jam and clotted cream without saying one word. The cakes were fresh though the selection was poor and again not the quite what you would expect from the Ritz.

As mentioned by other reviewers, cakes are not allowed to be taken home in a box as we were told " they had been out longer than an hour".

To conclude, I felt that the experience did not live up to my expectations of afternoon tea at a premier establishment as the Ritz.

I have been fortunate enough to recently have afternoon tea at Claridge's which was a much better experience and I would recommend as an alternative.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank swrightnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,164 of 3,684 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Myself and 2 friends had booked the famous afternoon tea in advance for a birthday celebration. On arrival we were politely directed through to the dining area and were able to take a few photos of the fabulous surroundings prior to our table being ready. The waiting staff were courteous and polite and we were first presented with a menu detailing approx 15 different teas and an overview of the sandwiches which would be served. However we didnt really get past the tea menu before having to place our tea order (...English tea of course !). Sandwiches and small but rich cakes came first - and then were replaced with a further supply ! Then came the warm fruit scones with jam and clotted cream and just when we were already feeling particularly full came a trolley with sticky toffee ( with a caramel cream topping) and lemon drizzle cake. Unfortunately you are unable to take uneaten cakes with you so there was nothing for it but to indulge. A fabulous experience all round. Ladies do not miss a trip to the powder room !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here last Friday for my 21st and it was wonderful! I got upgraded from a Junior Suite to a Deluxe Suite and it was just wow, I can't even describe it! They also sent up a birthday cake for me and the staff were all so nice! I usually feel out of place in such grand places, but the staff were so welcoming and lovely :) I have never stayed anywhere as beautiful and magical, it was like a dream! Thankyou so much for making my 21st so memorable for all the right reasons!

Room Tip: Get the best room that you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

What a lucky girl you are to have been given such a lovely treat for your birthday. Congratulations! It is our pleasure to have been chosen as the venue for your celebrations and it goes without saying how delightful it is that you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When I was 19, I went to London to work for a short period. Standing in front of The Ritz I remember telling myself that if I ever had the money to stay here, then I had made it. Now 18 years later I did it.

My Wife and I had a lovely stay here, that included dining, dancing and breakfast. What can I say other then: This place is legendary for a reason, this was one of the places to be seen a 100 years ago, and it is still the place to stay in London. It oozes old money - in the good way - as the staff is absolutely fab and so friendly, I would like to especially mention the girls in the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kubsterdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

This is great! Thank you for that wholehearted endorsement of what we stand for, and for acknowledging the girls (and boys!) on Reception. They have the capacity to set the scene for an entire stay and are very important ambassadors for the hotel. I hope you will not have to wait for another 18 years before you return to The Ritz. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

That was my third time at the Ritz. To be quite honest I have always been a Claridge's client but as my wife does not like the art deco style if the Claridge's I thought I should book there. When I made the reservation, months before through Booking.com, I asked for a quite room on a high floor overlooking Green Park. I was assigned room 227 which is on the second floor, overlooking the building across the backyard. I complained, and eas told that all executive rooms have similar view so I was offerd for an extra GBP100 (Euro 130 or $160) per night the last available deluxe room at the 5th floor (522) which was fine .Otherwise, the hotel is old and so are its customers which overfill the tea salon every afternoon (tea and sandwiches cost GBP46 p.p.!). Breakfast is very good (especially Bircher Musli, fruit, salmon and cheese), save the croissants and danish pastries which are tasteless. So if there are a few things to learn from my experience, 1. Book a deluxe room which was not offered by Booking.com -perhaps try the hotel's web, or a suite 2. Avoid room 227 3. Room 522 is fine 4. Avoid croissants and danish pastries 5. Try the Bircher Musli, cheese and smoked salmon for breakfast at the Ritz salon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Okyalos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Ritz for 2 nights in April and what a delight. Everyone who walks through the door gets treated as the most important person in a Ritz staff member's world at that given time. The staff are obviously very proud of where they work and love to put on a show for the guests- whether it is the cheeky over the top "I can get that organised for you Madam" of Michael the concierge; or the deft replacement of a tablecloth on an afternoon tea table by one of the highly skilled waiters, everyone does their job to perfection and as a sales and marketing professional I found the subtleties of the up-selling an absolute delight. Our room was glorious with all trimmings you expect of a high class establishment. The decor of the whole hotel was just breathtaking and the doorman remembered my name and what I was doing for the day and followed up to see how i went upon returning to the hotel later in the afternoon. Michael got us tickets for the dress circle for the Book of Mormon and did it with a great display of showmanship. We stayed at the Savoy for 2 nights prior and found that hotel was stilted and disinterested in us as guests in comparison to the Ritz. Both hotels were on our bucket list, the Ritz will receive a return visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronwyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Fabulous reading! It sounds like an old fashioned case of 'Puttin' on The Ritz'! Thank you for the generous words and I look forward to welcoming you back in due course. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here for my 1st year wedding anniversary ,amazing hotel staff can't do enough for you we stayed in a superior room very spacious rooms and with excellent mini bar, we also had dinner which was outstanding ,they also came over with a little anniversary cake which was very romantic touch ,the ravoli bar and casino are also very relaxing and enjoyable to have drinks and relax would highly recommend this hotel it's gorgeous

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank smcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We love to make celebrations extra special at The Ritz, and I am thrilled that we lived up to expectation for you. I hope you will chose to spend many more happy anniversaries here with us in the future and I thank you for the kind feedback. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,810 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,077 in London
4,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,862 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £369 - £918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing