We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Birthday Treat! ”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #33 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
BacardiGirl78
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Birthday Treat! ”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and two of my friends made our Birthday Afternoon Tea reservation back in February. None of us had visited the hotel before and were blown away by the beauty of this fantastic hotel. Afternoon tea did not disappoint, with a selection of freshly made sandwhiches, scones and cakes beautiful flavoursome jam and cream that were refreshed twice during service. The atmosphere was really enjoyable with piano music being played for the duration. Pleased with the large selection of tea on the menu and the advice given by our server on the type of tea each of us may like. The grandeur of The Ritz was amazing and it was beyond our expectations. We shall remember this for many years to come or at least until we return... Thank you for a lovely time!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BacardiGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,828
    471
    131
    55
    54
See reviews for
796
1,628
125
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What a truly wonderful way to spend a few hours. Afternoon tea at the Ritz was fabulous, everything about the experience was delightful, the staff where very polite, friendly and extremely professional, the food was delicious, the decor magnificent and even the loo's where impressive! We really enjoyed every minute of it!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickypoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Absolutely amazing stay at the Ritz, from booking with the reservations team to check out, the staff at the ritz are the best, so friendly and they really make you feel like nothing is too much trouble. Also we had afternoon tea, this was gorgeous! Amazing cakes and sandwiches and as much tea as you can manage, I can't wait to stay again, our room was beautiful, gorgeous bathroom and felt so welcome! Ordering hot chocolate at the end of the night and watching a film in our ritz dressing gowns - bliss! Was for my partners 30th birthday, made it so special for him. Thank u Ritz!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
What a lovely treat for a 30th birthday, and I am so pleased you both enjoyed your stay. You know where we are should you wish to celebrate another milestone with family and friends in the future. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

An amazing afternoon! I booked a celebration afternoon tea for my mums birthday back in April, we went yesterday and had the best day.
We were made to feel very comfortable and the service was great.
In the celebration package you get tea, champagne, sandwiches, scones, cake and then little pastries. I also booked to have a birthday cake for my mum, which came out with candles and the pianist played happy birthday. My mum was taken by surprise and loved every minute. We wasn't made to feel any different from anyone else. It was one of the most amazing experiences. Recommend everyone to go for a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I thought we would try our ballroom dance steps and booked the Ritz Diiner and Dance in London. You can even book it online.

As they say, you don't get a second chance to make a first impression! From the footman at the main door all through the 3 hour programme, the presentation was simply outstanding. The dining room is simply awesome - reminds you of the old Hollywood movies. It was nice to see that guests took the dress code seriously for such a glittering occasion - with most sporting dinner jackets, although jacket and tie was fine.

Waiters in tailcoats lent an air of extra elegance to what was almost like a movie set! The music by a small band was very 60s and earlier and the singer did a great job in keeping everyone busy. They also put up professional dance shows with a couple doing the tango, rhumba and cha cha cha.

The fixed menu was very good although a wide a la carte menu is available. The wine list runs to about 30 pages (I think!), so take your time. The presentation of the food and the wine was charming with the person explaining the dishes and the sommelier offering suggestions.

The only observation I had is that there seemed to be an urgency about things. The wine waiter would rush to refill our glasses although we had perhaps 1 sip only. I thought we were asked a trifle too much whether we had finished our course. A little less attention would help but it was only a minor blip in the overall outstanding performance.

This is a great experience but it does not come cheap. If you are in London and fancy some olde world charm with some occasion for celebration, this is it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhibasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback and I hope that you will return for future celebrations with your family. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Me and my partner during the last month we stayed in Ritz hotel for a long weekend
We would love to say to every one that you mast experience it this beautiful venue with a great atmosphere and excellent service in all ways

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can visit another time. Thank you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked for afternoon tea about 4 months ago, for my 40th Birthday and my Husbands 50th Birthday. It was everything we thought it would be. Staff were attentive and pleasant. The sandwiches were delicious and the clotted cream scones freshly baked and still warm. We had ordered in advance the Traditional Fruit Cake as a Birthday cake, which we were able to bring home and is delicious.

The Dress Code is formal, no jeans, no trainers and jackets with ties for men, most of the ladies were in summer dresses. 99% of the Afternoon tea guests were wearing the appropriate attire, it would seem a shame to make all that effort and not come properly dressed.

There were a couple of children there for our sitting, but I don't think we would have wanted to bring our 3 boys as I just don't think they would have appreciated it and to have spent all that money only to be distracted by children would have been a shame, in my opinion - but it depends on the occasion. For us, it was a chance for couple time, being waited on hand on foot, being made to feel special.

If you want to continue to soak up the atmosphere and make such a wonderful experience last a little bit longer you can sit outside the Palm Court and listen to the pianist, or purchase the teas and similar gifts at the Hotel Reception.

If you have luggage from an overnight stop or lots of shopping etc they have a cloakroom for storage and a visit to the toilets is a must!

Overall it was an amazing experience, living up to and exceeding expectations!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,069 in London
1,423 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,161 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,069 in London
4,661 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,069 in London
4,015 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing