We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you would expect and more...”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #27 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything you would expect and more...”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for my girlfriend's 30th birthday, and it was everything we could possibly have expected and more. The service was impeccable in every aspect, and the room was as spectacular as the rest of the hotel. Beautiful and with great attention to detail, with a wonderful breakfast. You definitely get what you pay for and is definitely worth it for the experience.

Room Tip: All are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Your girlfriend is a very lucky lady to have been given such a lovely treat and it is pleasing to learn that all was as it should be. Thank you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,726
    461
    125
    55
    47
See reviews for
765
1,571
120
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very, very expensive, but worth every penny. Everything was gorgeous. Staying there felt like a step back in time - elegance, superb service and exquisite luxury. I wanted to take photos of everything I saw. Felt and was treated like a VIP.
Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeansTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Excellent! We look forward to welcoming you as a returning VIP. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed in London many many times for the last 25 years. However I had never a chance to stay at the Ritz. This time I took the opportunity and made an early enough reservation to get a room over the busy season at end of may. WOW! It takes quite a bit to make me speechless. From the doorman to the receptionist, the bell staff, the butler who showed us around the room and came back with English tea and fresh baked cookies, turn down service, all spot on. We never seen our maid(s) during the entire stay. Once we left the room, they must have miraculously gotten in and shortly after the room was done. I wish I would have stayed sooner in this Hotel. You have to celebrate their famous afternoon tea it is spectacular! But here is a warning to some of my American folks. There is a dress code for gents. You have to wear a jacket all the time in the hotel and for the restaurants even a tie. And if you don't like it, it will be enforced by providing you either a jacket and/or tie, no exceptions! If you think you are on vacation and you want to wear your shorts and flip flops along with your favorite t-shirt, this is not the place for you, go elsewhere.
However, whatever yo need, whenever you need it, it will be discreetly arranged and you will get things done without questions, may it be just a thing you usually would not ask, or at departure, the right size taxi will be ready for you fully loaded with your luggage, even if it is plenty, once you step out of the door. Service from A to Z.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Your obvious delight is palpable and I am thrilled that you have shared such positive comments. We are proud of our formal dress code policy and it is highlighted to our guests when a reservation in any of the outlets has been made, be it for accommodation, afternoon tea, in the Restaurant or Rivoli Bar. As you saw for yourselves, The Ritz lends itself much more readily towards smart attire than to sportswear! I am genuinely pleased that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed in the Ritz at the end of May and it really was a huge spoil. The staff were absolutely amazing and the whole place was just English splendour. The flowers were just beautiful and it was a truly memorable expierience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I am very pleased you like our property and have given special mention to the flowers, which I agree are stunning. Our florists work very hard to ensure the public areas are shown off to their best advantage. Thank you for that. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
679 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Dinner is always amazing here but we don't often get chance to go for tea. We haven't been for years so were delighted it is still, in our opinion, the best in London for high Tea. The Ritz London has an ambience like no other - it is grand and has elegance and charm - Tea and service is outstanding - second to none. After a long day on our feet visiting the Natural History Museum, It was bliss to sit down to a lovely selection of sandwiches, 10/10 Tea, cakes and proper jam & cream scones. The piano was beautifully played adding to the relaxing ambience. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel has really friendly staff and friendly waiters visited here on the 30 July for afternoon tea. Amazing decoration a true English Hotel that we should be proud of. Real Tea with tea leaves lovely sandwich and beautiful cakes with scones, fresh cream and jam.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We actually dined at the Ritz last December for a xmas present for my husband, everything about the place, the food and the service had a really wow factor, so much so I have booked again for a surprise for my husband for this December!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v_a_hurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#21 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#43 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,513 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing