We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in every way”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #33 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Sadly we are now on our way home after a fabulous two night stay at The Ritz. The service was perfect. Dinner was spectacular with crepe suzette flambe prepared by the maitre'd at our table. Afternoon tea was taken in beautiful surroundings but was much too sweet for us. Not the cheapest place to stay as you might expect, but definitely one of the best. We look forward to returning next year.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Antthegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hopefully now that you know where we are, it will be easier for you to return! Thank you for sharing your experience, I never tire of hearing how much our guests have enjoyed themselves. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,134 - 2,140 of 3,702 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked afternoon tea a year ago for a special occasion and it did not disappoint. We went to The Ritz on 3rd Aug. You will not feel awkward as the staff treat everyone with the same decorum, so relax and enjoy the experience. The finger sandwiches were good, although I didn't like a couple of the choices. These were replenished if required. The cakes and pastries and of course scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, were devine. We had a glass or 2 of champagne and at £12 a glass, I didn't think too bad for a place like The Ritz and the overall experience. For a delightful treat, I would certainly recommend afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank travelbunny87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have been in the restaurant twice for lunch with a friend.

When you first walk in i was greeted with a beautiful lady playing on the Harps.

The room,decor and atmosphere was just great.

Lunch Menu was served speedy with very high trained waiting staff, that stand nearby the table waiting to serve you.

Very High Class place and if you go there please dont Under Dress.

Hoping to go there again .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank hecksfinches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

What an amazing experience !
Beautiful sandwiches , and delicious cakes .
I had coffee which was absolutely gorgeous .
We didn't order a birthday cake after reading reviews on here about being full and if going to waste ,
It would have !!
We declined 'another' top up to our sandwiches as we were so full .
It was just wonderful .

Stayed: August 2014
Thank sianowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a wonderfull experience at the Ritz in London thanks to a great Christmas present. This place is something not to be missed if you get the chance. Every thing from the greeting at the main entrance through to the dining room where we had a fantastic three course lunch was so exerlent. The professionalism of all the staff has to be seen to be believed.May we take the time to say a big thank you for making this a day never to be forgotten to all concerned.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Sir, it was our pleasure and I can tell how much you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I was taken for my birthday as a surprise and when I walked in, I thought 'wow'.

The atmosphere is just great with the piano and violins playing. The food was great and VERY filling. However for the price we pay.... I have experienced better food in London.

I would recommend you to go for the tea and cake option. Definitely experience The Ritz though :)

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Gugsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I have just experienced a Champagne afternoon tea at the Ritz with my husband. This was a long awaited trip which was planned last year when I was having chemotherapy but could only come to fruition this year now that I am feeling better.
The positives:
1. The gift vouchers are beautifully presented
2. Making a reservation is straightforward but is booked months ahead so do book early
3. The Ritz is like a beautiful jewel box - you feel special by just being there
4. The sandwiches, cakes, pastries and scones are delicious.
5. The choice of teas is excellent
6. Everyone makes an effort with dressing up which adds to the occasion
7. There was a very good harpist playing which was beautiful

The cons:
Sadly we found the service inconsistent - we were sat in the middle of two tables for two and could see the difference in service on each table. We were asked several times if we were having Champagne which we had paid for. We waited and watched the waiters come and go with the Champagne for other guests but it wasn't until our tea arrived that they realised we still had not received our Champagne.
Both tables either side of us were offered tea refills several times whilst our table was ignored. Their plates were changed regularly and they were offered fresh scones etc. Little things make a big difference and I began to feel uncomfortable and could not work out why we were being overlooked.
In fairness at the end of the tea we were asked if we had enjoyed it and I asked them if they would like some feedback. I told them about the inconsistencies of service and the duty manager was charming and offered us both another glass of Champagne which we declined as we thought it was good of him but by this time I felt embarrassed and just wanted to leave. He very kindly gave me a bag with a teddy, tea and chocolates which was thoughtful but I really would have preferred the same service as my fellow diners. It's a shame because if is lovely and the staff do work very hard. Maybe they were just having an off day.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank JanineHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,830 reviews
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#37 of 1,077 in London
4,885 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £369 - £1,363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing