We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ritz OK, but not the sort of service I would expect at these prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #26 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ritz OK, but not the sort of service I would expect at these prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were looking forward to staying at the Ritz for 3 nights. And the room was very pleasant. But unlike other luxury hotels, there was a total lack of personalised service. No one said hello or goodbye as we came in or left the hotel.

The breakfasts were execrable - 48 pounds for a very badly cooked English breakfast and for my husband, overcooked fish. We only had one breakfast in the hotel because of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I am disheartened by your experience and although it is of absolutely no consolation to you, I believe you were an unlucky exception to our normal rule. It is also a pity that you live such a long way away, or I would have been able to invite you to return. I am sorry. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,629
    453
    123
    55
    44
See reviews for
739
1,523
116
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Sadly we are now on our way home after a fabulous two night stay at The Ritz. The service was perfect. Dinner was spectacular with crepe suzette flambe prepared by the maitre'd at our table. Afternoon tea was taken in beautiful surroundings but was much too sweet for us. Not the cheapest place to stay as you might expect, but definitely one of the best. We look forward to returning next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Antthegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hopefully now that you know where we are, it will be easier for you to return! Thank you for sharing your experience, I never tire of hearing how much our guests have enjoyed themselves. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked afternoon tea a year ago for a special occasion and it did not disappoint. We went to The Ritz on 3rd Aug. You will not feel awkward as the staff treat everyone with the same decorum, so relax and enjoy the experience. The finger sandwiches were good, although I didn't like a couple of the choices. These were replenished if required. The cakes and pastries and of course scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, were devine. We had a glass or 2 of champagne and at £12 a glass, I didn't think too bad for a place like The Ritz and the overall experience. For a delightful treat, I would certainly recommend afternoon tea.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbunny87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have been in the restaurant twice for lunch with a friend.

When you first walk in i was greeted with a beautiful lady playing on the Harps.

The room,decor and atmosphere was just great.

Lunch Menu was served speedy with very high trained waiting staff, that stand nearby the table waiting to serve you.

Very High Class place and if you go there please dont Under Dress.

Hoping to go there again .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hecksfinches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales u.k.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

What an amazing experience !
Beautiful sandwiches , and delicious cakes .
I had coffee which was absolutely gorgeous .
We didn't order a birthday cake after reading reviews on here about being full and if going to waste ,
It would have !!
We declined 'another' top up to our sandwiches as we were so full .
It was just wonderful .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sianowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a wonderfull experience at the Ritz in London thanks to a great Christmas present. This place is something not to be missed if you get the chance. Every thing from the greeting at the main entrance through to the dining room where we had a fantastic three course lunch was so exerlent. The professionalism of all the staff has to be seen to be believed.May we take the time to say a big thank you for making this a day never to be forgotten to all concerned.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Sir, it was our pleasure and I can tell how much you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I was taken for my birthday as a surprise and when I walked in, I thought 'wow'.

The atmosphere is just great with the piano and violins playing. The food was great and VERY filling. However for the price we pay.... I have experienced better food in London.

I would recommend you to go for the tea and cake option. Definitely experience The Ritz though :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gugsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#44 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,414 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing