We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can anyone possibly complain !!”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #32 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“How can anyone possibly complain !!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

My wife and i stayed at the Ritz for one night in August. We cant complain about anything. We stayed in an executive room, bottle of chilled champagne in the room on arrival, superd dinner included Al a carte menu offered at no extra cost, as only a restricted menu due to upgrade in the kitchen and we had already had lunch at the Ritz two days earlier, where the standard menu was offered. Beautifull red rose petals in a heart shape at Turn down and amazing staff, professional and extremely polite. The dress code is a true requirement, and so it should be. Everyone looked impecable, even the occasional "star" from TV. The cocktails are incredible as is everything else.
Anyone who is planning to stay at the Ritz needs to understand that this is a quintisentially English establishment, harking back in tradition hundreds of years and that is the beauty of it. Dont expect to wear "sneakers" or "thongs", it aint gonna happen. Dont complain about the price(s), it is a 5 star hotel of impeccable standard, if you want a bargain go to the Holiday inn (or whatever !).
we stay in London 3-4 times per year, it is definately worth saving a bit harder to expereince the Ritz again, next tiem for a week.
the Casino (Ritz club) downsatirs is also incredible,we actually won !!! on the tables,,,,,,helped pay the bill.

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing the road, it was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,794
    468
    128
    55
    54
See reviews for
785
1,613
123
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

It has to be great, for the price you are paying. Everything was perfekt, nice one bed room (not very spacious, as the room service had its difficulties to enter the serving trolley.)
You have to like this kind of decor, a bit overloaded, heavy traditional.
I also had a very nice pedicure at the house spa.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fruitexotique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We've been to Ritz London many times over the years. With it's understated elegance and impeccable service you can't help but feel home. The staff is always there to help with anything you may need, the sutes are large and perfectly appointed. Feels like you are transported back to 1930s of glamour. Staying at the Ritz London is an experience by itself.

Room Tip: Junior suites are the best value, they are worth to spend a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aalgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

As in our previous visits the quality stands out. The room was very comfortable, well appointed and the service perfect and understated. We took friends to lunch in the restaurant and had a wonderful meal with the service level again just right. Great wine list, well presented meal. On checkout, our flight back to Australia was early evening and a room was made available for us to have a shower and change into comfortable clothes for the return flight. Very much appreciated and no fuss.
Jim

Room Tip: Cant think of a bad room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

From the moment we stepped out of our taxi we were treated like VIP's. We were their for my 50th birthday holiday. Nothing was a problem the staff were friendly and ever so helpful. Michael the doorman was just wonderful and advised each day what the weather was going to be and if we needed unbrella's for the days outing. Great advice on where to eat. décor beautiful and lovely little touches like a birthday cake in our room on our arrival and daily fruit baskets.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Visited on a voucher deal 3 courses and a glass of bubbly. Added to that some amuse Bouche and Pettit fours this was brilliant value in one of the worlds premier hotels. The restaurant decor is opulent and the waiters dressed in extremely smart formal wear. The food was amazing well presented and as good as I've eaten anywhere. With a pianist then a five piece orchestra to entertain us this was the icing on the cake of a fantastic meal in a great restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Ritz is in an excellent location, close to all the major attractions and shopping.
The service and staff were impeccable. Food was well presented and a high standard.
There is a strict dress code, but most people who visit the Ritz appreciate this and dress accordingly.
The only negative was the AC in the room was poor, it does get warm and the windows cannot be left open due to traffic noise.
The Dinner & Dancing is a great way to celebrate a special occasion.
Overall a fantastic experience and we will definitely return

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8989Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,405 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,152 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#39 of 1,068 in London
4,617 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,966 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing