We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, but dont forget your trousers!”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #27 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
luton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it, but dont forget your trousers!”
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Stayed at the Ritz for valentines weekend, stay was lovely but
wish I`d read reviews before I went. We stayed in an ex. king room witch was lovely it did smell a little musty, rather like an old house. The only bug bear was we wanted a drink at the bar but were told there was a dress code, I can understand a dress code for dinner, but just to have a drink. Having gone just for the weekend to shop we only had casual clothes with us . Apart from that the staff were friendly and helpful and now knowing I need to bring smart clothes I would definatly go again.

  • Liked — The beatiful suroundings
  • Disliked — Dress code
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa-mac89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,726
    461
    125
    55
    47
See reviews for
765
1,571
120
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

On a recent visit to London I decided to have Tea at the Ritz with some friends. What a great experience! Everything was great about it. It started by waiting for the table in the lobby- whilst we were here it was great to watch all those who had no idea about the dress code get knocked back from the bar etc. How can you go here and not know about the famous dress code? Lots of fantastic strops!! When the table was ready, the food was fantastic- don't be worried about there not being enough as they top everything up for you! I would say if you are in London- this is a great thing to do! Reading the reviews about heavy security and people in the wrong dress- well what do you expect? Given the level of people who stay here security is needed and if you don't know the dress code or think you are above it- then more fool you really! A fine British institution- well worth a trip.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
5 Thank zotar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Just arrived back after an amazing weekend at this beautiful hotel. We had booked a exec. king room for my 40th birthday and on arriving at the hotel we were upgraded to a Jr Suite as a birthday 'treat' from the hotel! From the moment you arrive at the Ritz the service you receive is second to none and the quality of the hotel is nothing short of breathtaking. Yes it is expensive but for a special occasion it's the perfect venue.
We did not encounter any problems with security as mentioned in other reviews, nor did we feel uncomfortable as the staff are all very friendly and cannot do enough to help you. For those who complain about not being aloud in parts of the hotel without jacket and tie then they should go to other hotels. It's nice that everyone is made to dress smart in an age when 'anything goes', as it all adds to the sense of occasion.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Woldo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

The Ritz is a throwback to how hotels were before they were put in huge global chains and staff left every other week. Its a fantastic experience which anyone travelling to London should experience. Its expensive but all five star hotels in London are when compared to regional or international standards and I think the quality make it exceptionally good value. You can stay in five star hotels nearby which are slightly cheaper but nowhere near as good. The hotel has everything: great atmosphere, comfortable rooms, amazing attention to detail from staff, superb location. I think the answer is staff retention, something too few hotels nowadays focus on. I hadn't stayed at the ritz for 14 months and it was amazing how many faces I recognised. This ensures you have professional staff not some spotty teenager or eastern european with limited english. Its great to see a hotel investing properly in its people. I am amazed at how they remember names, we were only there for two nights beofre christmas and when we returned after christmas the doormen welcomed us by name when we stepped out of the cab.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The formality
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Chablino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
335 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

My friend and I stayed at The Ritz for one night in December. We booked the cheapest roome (even this was £300 for the room without breakfast). There was a mix-up over our check-in time which was entirely the hotel's fault, and this was rectified efficiently. We were given a free breakfast worth £30 each as an apology.

Everything else about the room was lovely. It was in very good condition, although if you looked closely you would see signs of wear and tear so I wouldn't describe it as immaculate.

Nonetheless, the service overall was impeccable, with doors opened for you everywhere you went, doormen with umbrellas accompanying you to your taxi and conciereges most helpful.

All in all, this hotel deserves the reputation it has.

  • Liked — The attentive staff
  • Disliked — The breakfast was not worth the money
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrJonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

I stayed at the Ritz in a superior queen room on Saturday the 29th November this year. I've previously stayed there in a junior suite (later js) with my family.

I was happy with my stay, no problems at all. I arrived quite early in the morning (before 11 am), but my room was ready, so I was able to unload my luggage and go shopping straight away. The check-in and the check-out the next day were exremely efficient and friendly.

The room was smallish (as compared to the js) but ok for one person. Also the bathroom was smaller and the shower was in the bath. But of course you get what you pay for (the js is about 50% more expensive). The Floris toiletries were nice, the bathrobe and all other textiles of an excellent quality.

I had room service twice (the dinner and the breakfast), it was promptly delivered and good. The service was excellent, as it is allover the hotel. I especially liked the fact that you are addressed mostly by your name by the staff. The first time was when I arrived and put my foot out of the taxi! How do they do it?! The door men are really helpfull when you need a taxi etc.

I didn't have any problems at all with the security staff as I was properly dressed. I think it's nice that there still are places where people dress up a little bit. Some afternoon tea tourists, however, slightly OD'd on the dressing thing, I noticed. (Of course it's none of my business.)

All in all, if you like elegant and beautiful grand hotels with excellent service, the Ritz is a place for you. Not so much, if you are keen on latest technological gadgets, megasized tv's etc.
As you probably know, the location is the best possible, you can walk almost anywhere.

It's still one of my favourite hotels.

Last, I'd like to recommend the Renaissance faces exhibition at the National gallery. It¨'s great and at the same time very informative.

  • Liked — The excellent service, the beautiful interiors
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We arrived on a busy Saturday afternoon, and we're welcomed by the doorman. After he took our suitcase, we checked in and went to our beautifull room. Changing our traveloutft to our afternoon tea outfit, we went down for the afternoon tea. And that was superb! Such a lovely afternoon tea, big choice of items, very friendly international staff (love that). It took us almost 2 hours from start to finish, that is how good it was!
We went out for diner and the theatre, but when we arrived back we had a drink in the bar with a few cocktails, and again fantastic service, very relaxing.
For breakfast we got a great variety of items, which were perfectly cooked. And the service was fine, nothing special.
The only hickup we had was a roomservice charge on our bill, whilst we didn't had any roomservice. But that was instantly adjusted by the receptionist.
So, yes, it was expensive to go the Ritz, but we loved every minute of it.

  • Liked — the afternoon tea
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaxZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#21 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#43 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,513 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing