We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic hotel- This really is the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #26 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
ENGLAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel- This really is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

We have been lucky enough to stay at the Ritz on several occasions and have always found we leave wishing we were staying longer. The purpose of our recent stay was for my birthday and when we arrived at our suite they had left a cake and card wishing me a happy birthday - what a lovely gesture!
The staff are always friendly and helpful and always go out of their way to help in any way they can.
We will be returning to the Ritz soon for a short break and we are really looking forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENTISTEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,622
    453
    123
    55
    44
See reviews for
738
1,518
115
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

Comparing American luxury hotels with European is like comparing apples and oranges. Europe hotels simply cannot compare to the American ones.

The Ritz is nice but it would probably not be considered a 5 star in America. As with all of Europe, it's showing its age (in good ways and bad.) I suspect Europeans have lower standards for cleanliness and wear. Where do I start?

BATHROOM
-Spacious for Europe. Marble. Towel warmer seemed to leak natural gas. I stayed in two rooms and management didn't seem to think this was a problem. Don't smoke in the bathroom. BTw, who in Europe thinks that those glass partitions are superior to shower curtains. Slow drains. Faucet in one room had hot AND cold faucets making any attempt to wash with WARM water rather difficult and painful at times. Hairdryer was quite humorous to see and was probably was one of the first ones ever made.

BEDS
-Spacious again for European standards. Bed is a joke. Very soft. Too soft. Kinda like a bed that was new in the Eisenhower administration.

ROOM
-Worn. Telephones were outdated although internet was available. In Hospitality Suite, no printer avaible to print items

SERVICE
-Honestly, not bad but you get the stinkeye if you walk thru their precious lobby not wearing a suit and tie. Few of the staff are below 50. Same with the guests. At 37, I was probably the youngest person there. They are attentive to your needs but unless you're in suit and tie, they seem a bit wary of you. I would deem service good and it would be better if they didn't have this insipid looping video on their TV (channel 2, I believe) saying essentially how awesome they are. On a down note as well, urgency doesn't seem to be their focus whether at check -in/out or at the concierge.

OVERALL
This place is OK but loses points for not seeing it needs to improve (especially in "American" (if not global) terms. If you think you are going to be staying at a place similar to Ritz Carlton, Bellagio, Mandarin Oriental or Four Seasons, I got news for you...you're won't be.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kingbear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We spent our last night in London at The Ritz and admittedly booked it on a whim. So, we might not have been put in the best room on the best floor (we got room 226).

The hotel IS splendid as you walk through its immense, luxurious lobby. You really have to see it to appreciate it. And, the bell staff were quite attentive, pointing out every feature and amenity in our room. But, the room itself was a disappointment.

First, it was hot. And there was only one A/C vent - in a window sill on the far side of the room - laboring away rather unsuccessfully. Thankfully, the room had electric roll-down window shades and they helped. We also requested, and got, a small in-room air-conditioning unit that also helped. But even with that, the room was still too warm for my tastes.

Second, it was noisy. We heard people walking in the hallway, heard our neighbors' voices through the vent in the bathroom, and heard someone running back in forth in the room above us at 11PM as we were trying to get to sleep. We also heard the water in the adjacent room go on and off - loudly - several times.

Third, only the most basic amenities; shampoo, conditioner, lotion, two small bars of average soap. Yes, there were robes and slippers. But, the TV was small and inconveniently placed on a small chest of drawers far away from the bed and partially blocking access the the bathroom. Also, the door to our room had only one lock - a simple push-button doorknob.

Fourth, the bed wasn't all that comfortable. Actually, make that the pillows. They were all too big and overstuffed, and I woke up in the morning with a stiff neck.

The only meal we ate there was breakfast the next morning and it was good. But, nothing to write home about.

All in all I'd say The Ritz is a lot like my Grandmother. Old, worldly, a little old-fashioned, and a little dated. I'd go back to tour the lobby again. But I'm not sure I'd want to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OlympiaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

I have just returned from a weekend break to celebrate my 40th birthday at the Ritz hotel. We are a family of 4 with children aged 15 and 12 yrs. I have to say that from the moment we got there this hotel had the wow factor! There was a card and a birthday cake in my room upon check in. Everything was taken care of and the staff were wondefull. Our package included a junior suite, breakfast and we also booked afternoon tea on the day of my birthday. The room was lovely and the bathroom huge. The breakfast was delighful with a delicious selection and is served in the ritz restaurant with all it's beautiful surroundings. Afternoon tea was served in the palm court and again there was plenty of choice i highly recommed this for a special occasion. Room service arrived exactly at the requested time but i have to mention the jewel of the Ritz - Tony the concierge, he provided us with excellent tickets for a show and also recommended and booked us a table at an excellent restaurant again at a moments notice, nothing was impossible or too much trouble for him. Despite this being a 5 star hotel the children were welcomed which we have not always found in the past with this type of hotel, every night milk and cakes were left for them and all the staff went out of their way to speak to them. We wanted to do some shopping on our last day so after we checked out we left our luggage in the hotel and they were placed in the car for us, when we returned to the hotel the car was brought to the front with all our belongings ready to leave. We really did have a fantastic 3 night stay here and cant wait to return. I shall expect my husband to take me to the Ritz for every birthday and as he enjoyed it so much himself i think i am in with a good chance !!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhianSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimbolton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

My husband and I stayed there Bank holiday weekend and it was the best service we have ever received. From the moment we arrived, the staff were genuinely friendly and efficient. The doorman took our luggage and radio'd through to reception our names so we didn't even have to tell them who we were.
Everything ran smoothly and the receptionist showed us round the hotel before taking us to our room.
There was a small birthday cake waiting for me and the room was lovely.
We had booked a different restaurant so didn't eat there that night but when we came back to the hotel the restaurant was still buzzing because the have a dinner dance on Saturday nights which we wish we had booked instead!
We had a nightcap in the hotel bar, I had the Ritz 100 cocktail which was recommended by the receptionist and it was lovely.
When we returned to our room they had done a wonderful turndown service with his and hers slippers, lovely souvenir to take home!
I can't wait to return, it was very special.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimboltonhotelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

The ultimate London joy, a stay at the Ritz. The first view of the room was jaw dropping, gilded ceilings, gilded faucets and champagne! The treats didn't end , our rate included dinner with 4 courses, and a full English breakfast the next morning. The staff was willing and delightful. I w as celebrating my 60th birthday, and I think it is almost worth turning 60 to have such a lovely time. Thank you Ceasar Ritz and all who follow !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

The Ritz London harkens back to an era of grace, manners, elegance, and unparalleled service that seems more often than not today to have all but vanished from our society. I have been lucky enough to stay here a few times, and it remains my hotel of choice in London. In my view, nobody comes close to doing hospitality like the Ritz. The service is second to none; I don't know where they find their incredible staff or how they train them, but I have never stayed anywhere where the employees were so inviting, friendly, and constantly helpful in ways that go far beyond what is merely required. In addition to being constantly good-natured, accommodating, and amiable, as one would hope for but so often doesn't find even at a hotel of this caliber, they went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant and memorable as possible. They made nightly reservations for us at London's best restaurants, places we would never have gotten into on our own; on our way out when we stopped to ask for directions, they offered us the hotel's Rolls Royce free of charge to drop us off; the doormen even learned our names--not to mention remembered us from our earlier stay and made mention of it, despite the hundreds of new faces they must take in daily. In the world of service at luxury hotels, the rest would do well to take notice of the way it is done at the Ritz.

The rooms are of course superb, flawlessly clean and lavishly elegant. Our suite was as spacious as it was beautiful, with high ceilings and a simply amazing marble bathroom with a whirlpool tub and glass shower. Housekeeping and room service were as beyond reproach as the rest of our experience at the Ritz, and I think I could very happily have given up my house to move into that lovely room.

We arrived immediately following a stay at the George V in Paris, a hotel that is often described as perhaps the finest in the world; despite having a wonderful stay there, we found the Ritz far more charming. Everything about it breathes gentility, from the beautiful decor to the strict dress code required in the Palm Court, bar, and restaurant. I understand that this formality is not to everyone's taste, but it never ceases to amaze me how people will complain about it as though it were a fault of the hotel. The sense of the elegance of a bygone era is one of the Ritz's distinguishing features, and if it isn't to one's liking, then the solution is simple--one ought not to stay here. For my part, I find it refreshing in this world of torn jeans and endless informality; in its sophistication, its charm, its spectacular service, and yes, even its formality, the Ritz pays heed to the niceties of the past, and for that, there is nowhere in the world I would rather stay.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGalt330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#22 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#45 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,413 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing