We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice weekend in London”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #26 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A very nice weekend in London”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Great hotel, they organized a transfer from the airport with a big enough cab to take all luggages.
Friendly welcome, not too stiff, milch and brownies for the kids in the room.
The suite was vast and perfect for a family of 4.
Will definitively go back to try the tea time.
We had dinner there, don't forget a tie for men, and dress nicely.
Lovely place worth the money!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PascaleV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,730
    461
    125
    55
    48
See reviews for
766
1,573
120
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

i won a stay at the ritz through a magazine and i took my 65yr old mother myself 34 and my daughter 12. the staff were really lovely and even gave my daughter a teddy when we booked in, the rooms were really nice and the bathroom in our room was amazing! the lift is small but beautifully decorated. the ritz tissues were a nice touch and also the ritz bathroom bottles.
we also had a manicure and afternoon tea whist we were there which were both fantastic. the lady doing the manicure was friendly and chatty we came out with matching red sparkly nails it was really nice. then we had afternoon tea which was great, i would have loved to have taken some of our food with us for our train journey back!!! the sandwhiches were lovely the scones were lovely and the cakes were amazing!
it was a fantastic night and day at the ritz and i will rememeber it for a long time :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinderellao9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Everytime we stay in London, this is our address. The attention to detail and anticipation of our needs make our stay always memorable. The staff is professional, caring and fun.
Our suite was beautiful and the hotel location is desirable for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xzxzyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Last year for my 21st birthday my boyfriend took me to stay at the ritz for 1 night. The good points was that we got upgraded to a junior suite I felt like a princess! The lady who took us up to our room was very friendly and took us through the dining area, she said we wouldnt be allowed through here by ourselves becuase my boyfriend was wearing trainers (even though they were smart ones) but we would be ok with her I thought that was really nice of her to go out of her way and do that. The room was so lovely it was massive! And the bathroom was amazing! All marble floors everything was really shiny like wow. And lovely Floris bath treats you get in there. Not so good points the pillows were very soft although the next morning I found out you can request a little bit harder pillows or more pillows if you want! And I felt some of the staff looked down at us a little bit, I am only 21 and look a bit younger but still when my boyfriends paid nearly £400 for me and him to stay there you expect a bit of respect! Definitely have to make sure you dress appropriately I felt I was but I'm not posh at all. We didnt eat there as it's all the general posh food you would expect and I'm very fussy! Not into all that I like a nice steak! We ate down the road in Greig's grill which was very nice and friendly staff although it's really small and quiet so if you like a more bustling atmosphere then go somewhere else! Overall I would recommend this hotel if you can afford to stay here for a special occasion etc x

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejh88x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I recently went to London for Easter and decided to book into the Ritz for Afternoon Tea, and boy what an amzing experience! From the minute you enter the staff couldn't do more for you. We had the Easter menu and upon arrival we had 2 glasses of champagne! Nice way to start the afternoon! The waiter came down with a bag with 2 boxes of easter eggs presented in top hats. Then came the sandwiches, beautiful, tasty and once you were done, the wait staff appeared with more! 2 huge pots of tea and another large pot of boiling water to top yourself up. Scones and clotted cream, followed by the most amazing little cakes! I had emailed a few weeks pervious trying to book the celebration menu, but as it was Easter they were not offering that menu. It was my partners bitrhday and I wanted the cake!! After all the eating, the piano man started "Happy birthday to you..." and next thing the waiter appeared with a beautiful cake and stood at our table!! Whoooo hooooo!!! What a surprise for both of us!! After 2 hrs of eating drinking, and soaking up the Ritz atmosphere, we were ready to leave. The waiter boxed our cake, and returned with 2 more top hats full of little easter eggs!! AMAZING! I loved it, and it was an experience we both will never forget. After paying over £145 from dinner the previous night in Kethners in Soho, I found the Ritz to be great value at only £116. I always thought that only the rich and famous could do Tea at the Ritz, but for sure I'm gonna be back! Everyone needs to experience this amazing place! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We loved our stay at the Ritz. I cannot recognise the accusations of snobby staff - the hotel has a dress code which they explain on arrival and it means that all the public areas are filled with smart looking guests, which we felt added to the ambience of the place. Check in was really friendly, the guy gave us a tour then took us up to our room which was a free upgrade and completely opulent. We worried that an old hotel like the Ritz might have faded grandeur but it didn't - everything was modern and spotlessly clean with no fraying round the edges. The style was classical and opulent everywhere. Breakfast was grreat in the main dining room with fabulous bone china crockery and silver coffee pots but moreover all the staff we encountered were really friendly. We were not accosted for our room numbers but the hotel is filled with visitors during daytime so to be honest it's a nice added touch of security for them to know who's who. We love playing tourists in our home city of London and having also stayed at Claridges and the Dorchester we felt the Ritz won. It was more opulent and yet more homely than its competitors and we hope to return soon

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

As you might expect from The Ritz, exceptional service. But with a personal touch that was not expected and which made us feel at home.

The food was also astonishingly good.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_UK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,521 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing