We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just can't stop going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #153 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just can't stop going back”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Athenaeum Hotel is one of those places that thrives on having its guests return time after time (like me) its is just out of this world that staff remeber your names even after a 6 month break. The rooms are exemplory and contain everything you could wish for. We were given an unexpected upgrade to a suite and wow the views were fanstastic. The whisky bar and resturant are amazing with a tasting of some of the worlds best whiskeys by the somelier a highlight of the stay. I will (of course) be returning and looking forward in great anticipation. A little known wonder London

Room Tip: Try for the Greem Park view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,565
    520
    162
    72
    47
See reviews for
447
1,099
107
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Excellent hotel, fantastic staff and lovely new spa. We have stayed here on 5 or 6 occasions and have never been disappointed. We are usually upgraded as returning guests and the rooms are luxurious, comfy and welcoming.

Whilst this is a major London hotel it retains the personal feel and touch of a much smaller family run establishment and we love it for that!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertieEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at the Athenaeum recently, and our room was in the adjacent building around the corner. It was a delight all around! The reception staff were sweethearts! ;always helpful and pleasant, and the Doorman (all of them) gave the feeling of being greeting home by an old friend. The Concierge (Allan) was so very friendly as well as efficient. We were charmed by our room, and, after being "nickeled & dimed" in so many places, the complimentary items in the mini bar, was a welcomed bit of hospitality. The food in the restaurant was excellent, however, the only negative I have to share is the restaurant service...they really did try their best, but we had the feeling that everyone was in training, and the gaffs, unfortunately, kept us from a return dinner. Likewise at breakfast. But they did try! Focus appeared somewhat dispersed. But that did not dull our over-all experience, and we would definitely return, as well as stay twice as long!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeliciaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I stayed at the Athenaeum a few years ago and didn't give it top marks. In the meantime I have visted a couple of times for lunch/afternoon tea, all of which were very good, and decided to stay again in May for my 30th bday.

My wife originally booked the Savoy (for £495 per night room only) and I cancelled the booking and chose the Athenaeum instead - I'm glad I did.

The hotel was on top form, and having been refurbished a year or to ago everything is modern and in tip top condition. I really don't have any adverse comments, so I will list the postives:

Check in - asked for an early one and got it. The receptionist was very friendly.

The room was wonderful and very quiet (a superior room on the 7th floor). The furniture and furnishings were top quality and overall room design was excellent. Very comfy bed (including a pillow menu), plenty of space (although bathroom small) and a decent size flat screen with plenty of channels.

A very WELCOME DEPATURE FROM THE NORMAL HOTEL RIP OFF is that most items in the minibar are complimentary. Alcohol aside, water, fruit juices, fizzy drinks, crisps, chocolates, nuts, granola bars etc are free AND replenished everyday. It is so nice for a hotel not to rip its customers off. There was also a Nespresso machine complimentary.

Wifi is also complimentary - which is very RARE in other London 5 star hotels.

We dined in the restaurant on Friday evening and the food, bread, service, amouse bouches etc were excellent. We dined on a set menu for less than £30 per head - excellent value for money. (BTW, the next evening we dined at a Michelin star restaurant, Seven Park Place, which cost £250+ and was not as good as the Athenaeum).

The breakfast each morning was really very good. It had an amazing selection of top quality food, including fresh honey comb, and unusual items like creme brulee and smoothies. Breakfast was included in our rate, but if it wasn't I would have paid the £27pp becuase it was so good.

The bar is very romantic, and our cocktails were served with complimentary nuts and (to die for) olives.

All staff, especially the English doormen were excellent.

Thank you Athenaeum for a wonderful stay - I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkHotelhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Great location. Spotless rooms. The best bathrooms in England. And the minibar is included in the price! How can you top that? Cozy bar off the lobby. Like all of London, it is expensive, but worth it!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed at the Athenaeum for a short family break - the two of us, our 7 week baby girl and our 2 year old Cocker Spaniel. It's truly amazing to find somewhere so well located, funky, impeccable high quality, friendly service... that is family and dog friendly!!

The service was first rate with door staff and reception being friendly, efficient and helpful. Atul was a great host and overall it all felt very friendly and intimate.

We LOVED the design of the hotel – the restaurants, rooms etc are all really stylish, quirky and original, but in a timeless quality way versus the gimmick Sanderson/Metropolitan style. Very airy and bright, even in the restaurants. Nice touches with the use of Perspex/clear resins, modern personal design twists and great combinations of old and new throughout. Rooms were super comfortable – slept really well, nice and quiet (even with dog and baby) – and loved things like the big industrial fridge mini bar and the Nespresso machines. Really good that the hotel is following the forward thinking trend of making soft drinks, super fast high quality wifi, etc complimentary not ripping people off – very enlightened, and one for other hotels to learn from.


The location is good - in the heart of Mayfair/Piccadilly and so near The Palace and the parks. You don’t quite get the grandeur of Claridges/Dorch, and shame the Sheraton spoils the walk outside (sorry Sheraton!), but good to make the most of Nobu, Berkely Square, Fortum & Mason etc – it’s in the thick of things not isolated on Hyde Park.

Food was delicious – afternoon tea and also the dinner later on, some of the best ribeye we've had in a while, and great restaurant. The babysitting service was also a great boon - our first night out since having the baby, and a lovely, experienced and mature nanny who we knew straight away we could trust with our precious little girl (and our pesky Cocker!!) The dog didn’t quite understand his bed, but it looked very cool and quirky and in keeping with the design.

All in all a superb stay and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I stayed at the Athenaeum in January as a birthday treat. I enjoyed it and would stay there again, but have a few issues with it. Good points: The staff were generally welcoming, lovely and helpful (especially the prince of a doorman and the concierge); the place is spotlessly clean, very cosy, and extremely comfortable; the location's great (in Mayfair, close to two Tube stations and a mainline railway station, plus the place is awash in cabs); the rooms are quite pretty; the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in; the quality of the little amenities such as the tea things and the toiletries are good; and the overall decor is cute. Not-quite-so-good points: The rooms are very small and walled with mirrors, so it's like trying to sleep in a jewelbox; the aircon is a bit noisy and the buttons on the telephone/control unit/bedside gadget thingy are surprisingly bright (I finally switched off the aircon, opened a window, and put the gadget under the bed - after that I slept fine); the bath is clean but a bit worn; and the bathrooms are decidedly cramped (at one point I nearly got stuck in the teeny bath but managed to wriggle out of it, although I banged my head on the heated towel rail in the process!). Worst of all, someone from the maid service opened my bedroom door, without even knocking, well before 9 a.m. on the morning of my birthday, propelling me abruptly out of sleep and out of bed and nearly straight into a freaking coronary. :) Great start to my day, I don't think! I'd read about maids at this hotel doing this on other Tripadvisor reviews but assumed it was a fluke. Apparently not. Still, those things aside, the Athenaeum is a very nice boutique hotel and I would recommend it... particularly to early risers.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tehomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#52 of 1,067 in London
1,091 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#167 of 1,067 in London
1,646 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,067 in London
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing