We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #145 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We didn't actually stay at this hotel but we had several excellent dinners there.
We had prepaid for a non refundable room at a hotel not far from this one so we got stuck with a less than pleasing stay in London.
Out of curiosity we asked one day if we could see inside one of the rooms.
We were escorted by a delightful lady who showed us inside one of this hotel's spotless rooms.
It was good to know where we will be staying on our return trip to London next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunburnt-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,099 - 2,105 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

This was a fantastic hotel experience. The location was perfect - just a few blocks from the Tube, right across from St. James Park and around the corner from Hyde Park. close to the major attractions (and I count Harvey Nichols and Harrod's among those)! The service was fantastic. I loved that they had free internet and an American plug in the room so I didn't have to mess with my converters. I truly loved this hotel. When I go back to London with my husband, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeSids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Beautiful rooms, great location, excellent service.....but above all, a fantastic place to bring children. Mine were so utterly spoilt. (There is a dedicated kids concierge, who go out of their way to make the children feel at home,) After their stay at the Athenaeum expectations of a hotel stay have been raised so high that any other hotel will feel like a complete let down!.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horsley2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here very often - it is an amazing hotel at a perfect location. Having proper coffee (espresso...good!) in your room and all kinds of other bits and pieces (think internet) that you normally have to pay for in any other hotel makes this place feel like...home. The staff is excellent and if you can get one of the rooms with a view on the park (I stayed one time in one of their larger rooms (ice-cream included....) you will have a wonderful stay. Highly recommended over any of the hotels in that area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraNYC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Athenaeum Hotel is one of those places that thrives on having its guests return time after time (like me) its is just out of this world that staff remeber your names even after a 6 month break. The rooms are exemplory and contain everything you could wish for. We were given an unexpected upgrade to a suite and wow the views were fanstastic. The whisky bar and resturant are amazing with a tasting of some of the worlds best whiskeys by the somelier a highlight of the stay. I will (of course) be returning and looking forward in great anticipation. A little known wonder London

Room Tip: Try for the Greem Park view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Excellent hotel, fantastic staff and lovely new spa. We have stayed here on 5 or 6 occasions and have never been disappointed. We are usually upgraded as returning guests and the rooms are luxurious, comfy and welcoming.

Whilst this is a major London hotel it retains the personal feel and touch of a much smaller family run establishment and we love it for that!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertieEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at the Athenaeum recently, and our room was in the adjacent building around the corner. It was a delight all around! The reception staff were sweethearts! ;always helpful and pleasant, and the Doorman (all of them) gave the feeling of being greeting home by an old friend. The Concierge (Allan) was so very friendly as well as efficient. We were charmed by our room, and, after being "nickeled & dimed" in so many places, the complimentary items in the mini bar, was a welcomed bit of hospitality. The food in the restaurant was excellent, however, the only negative I have to share is the restaurant service...they really did try their best, but we had the feeling that everyone was in training, and the gaffs, unfortunately, kept us from a return dinner. Likewise at breakfast. But they did try! Focus appeared somewhat dispersed. But that did not dull our over-all experience, and we would definitely return, as well as stay twice as long!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeliciaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#117 of 1,077 in London
1,889 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,077 in London
4,179 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#68 of 1,077 in London
1,132 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,702 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,077 in London
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#41 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £223 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing