We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well below 5 Star standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #153 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well below 5 Star standard”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I booked to stay over the August Bank Holiday and we were given a room on Down Street rather than in the main hotel which was fine. The room was newly refurbished and was clean however it certainly did not meet the minimum standard for achieving 5 star accreditation. The room had no wardrobe, simply an alcove similar to those you would find in a Holiday Inn or Travelodge. The bathroom was ridiculously tiny with and there was no bath, only a shower, in fact the total floor space of the bathroom could not have been more than 6ft x 4ft.
At first we were mystified by these shortcomings but it quickly became apparant that what we had been sold (Room 120) was actually the second bedroom of one of their 2 bedroom apartments and therefore it's occupants would, I guess, usually have access to the 5 star amenities in the main apartment! I cannot in all honesty recommend a luxury hotel that misleads guests and engages in cheap profiteering.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank moni26t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    515
    160
    71
    46
See reviews for
444
1,086
104
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Having visited London numerous times and stayed in numerous hotels in the past that have mostly disappointed particularly in terms of value for money, service and attention to detail, I cannot find fault with the Athenaeum, for the past 5-years (even when they were renovating) they could not do enough to please both in terms of service and attention to detail. The rooms are large for London expectations, spotless and the bed linen is crisp, soft and good quality.

Spectacular views over Green Park and if you are lucky enough to be on floor 10 you will be rewarded with views over the city.

Close to Oxford Street, Green Park Tube Station, Hyde Park Corner, Buckingham Palace and many other attractions including the hop on-hop off tourist bus, you cannot go wrong by trying this modern, well situated, variety of rooms and apartments, excellent amenities hotel in the heart of Mayfair.

Room Tip: Loyalty always goes a long way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I took my wife and in-laws to the Hotel in August and stayed one night on a special summer rate. I thought the rate we paid was a bargain, but would be reluctant to pay the rack rate. We found the hotel to be perfect for our needs, close to all the major sights, and a great place to come back to after visiting the sights and attending the Theatre. Of special note was the free mini bar (Alcoholic drinks excluded) which we really appreciated, particularly on return from the theatre. We did not eat in., mainly because we didn't have time. We did look at the price lists and the prices were very high, but no more than you would expect at a five star hotel in Central London.
The staff were very attentive, and were able to secure a Taxi for us when we left.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed for 5 nights in august with my husband for a long overdue staycation. We visit London 4/5 times a year - always in the larger 5 star hotels, thought we'd give this a try & couldn't have been more delighted. Instead of huge, sterile lobbies & ever changing staff we felt as though we were staying at a small country hotel with 5 star staff & facilities. Food through out was excellent, brilliant nespresso machine & iPod docking station in the bedrooms, free wifi throughout & free - YES FREE! soft drinks & snacks from the minibar - hence £21 for a small wine from the mini bar didn't feel so bad! We're returning to London in nov with some friends & fully intend to book a serviced apartment for our stay
- looking forward to it

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here in mid-August, in one of the apartments. The apartment was lovely, spacious quiet and well-appointed. The free mini-bar, the comfortable beds and the kitchen facilities were all great. We stocked up on breakfast supplies at the nearby market and felt really at home throughout our three-night stay. The hotel staff was extremely professional and caring and the location could not be better, whether for walking in the parks or to the nearby sights. The reviews mention the great care that is taken with children here but also worth noting is the sophistication in all the hotel's facilities and services. This may not in the end be as economical as simply renting a flat but we left quite certain that we received great value, and we are sure we will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 daughters, ages 5 and 7) stayed at the Athenaeum for five nights this August (17th -21st and 23rd). We had the apartment suite, which while lovely in the photos is even more lovely in person. The service from arrival to departure was excellent. The concierge was helpful and charming, the front desk did all that they could to make sure we were comfortable. The three things that stood out most for us were the location, the spacious and beautiful accomodation, and the ease with which our holiday with the children went as a result of the hotel location and amenities. Whether it was feeding the birds with the kids or jogging in the early hours in Green Park - we felt like we were in our own beautiful neighbourhood - relaxing and enjoying our time, and so close to the various sights that we wanted to see. The rooms were fully supplied with everything we could need - scooters, helmets, kites, maps, ice cream and cookies(as well as a wide selection of adult beverages) all included with your room. We used the hotel nanny service two evenings so that we could go out for a meal in nearby Shepherd Market. The recommendations of the concierge as to restaurants and the excellent care given the children by the nanny made for a wonderful and worry free evening out. When we returned to the hotel for one further evening after travelling to Paris we were welcomed back to the hotel like old friends - it made it even harder to leave the next day!! We have stayed at some wonderful hotels in the past but I would not stay anywhere else with my children in London. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We really enjoyed our 8-night stay at the Athenaeum Hotel during Christmas last year (a long overdue review, I know). We had a deluxe room which was very modern and spacious. I love the bed, it was so fluffy & comfortable that I slept very well during the entire stay (I usually have problems with hotel beds). The complimentary mini bar was a nice touch. The hotel staff were very friendly especially the doorman and bell captain. But contrary to some previous reviews, I did not find the concierge particularly friendly and helpful. We once asked him for restaurant recommendations but his attitude could be described as polite at best. The hotel was about 10 minutes' walk to Green Park Underground station, which would be perfectly ok in fine weather, but a bit weary in freezing cold winter. We found it much more convenient to use the bus - the bus stop was just a few steps from the Hotel. If you don't want to eat breakfast at the Hotel, head towards Shepherd's Market which is right behind the Hotel. We love Sofra, a Turkish restaurant, great food at very reasonable prices.
All in all, we like the Athenaeum very much and will certainly return should we visit London again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#53 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#172 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#84 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#214 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing