We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Young families must stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #158 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Young families must stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were astounded by our stay in the Athenaeum Hotel last night. I had researched hotels in London thoroughly before deciding upon this hotel to celebrate both my partner's birthday and my 5 month old son's first trip away. I expected it to be very good but there was no preparing for just how good a place can be. This place is very, very special.
To start, the staff were exceptionally warm and welcoming and accommodating for our family. Every staff member we met had a genuine, friendly and warm nature (Serena, Zsofia.... and many others who I do not recall their names).
It really was as they profess to be 'a home from home'. As many would appreciate it is not easy travelling to London with a young baby, but this hotel made it a total pleasure. Given its close proximity to London Victoria it is possible to walk to the Hotel with a buggy and luggage. The room was immaculate, spacious and comfortable. It suited all of our needs..and more. We were made to feel special by some personal touches by the staff team (to include; a birthday card and cake for my partner, complimentary treats/drinks and toys to entertain our son). The kids concierge were excellent. We took advantage of the room service menu to eat in whilst our son slept and the food was fantastic.

I feel this Hotel is more than worthy of its 5 stars and I will be recommending it to all friends, family and colleagues travelling to London.

There was nothing that could have made this stay any better for us. I have no suggestions for improvements to make. It was perfect.

Room Tip: Park view rooms are fantastic. Fully soundproofed - you do not hear a sound from Piccadilly traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    503
    155
    70
    44
See reviews for
429
1,058
103
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Gem of a hotel- intimate atmosphere in view of the surprisingly large number of rooms- excellent doorman and concierge- delightful relaxing bar- well designed bed room and gorgeous bathroom- attention to detail eg toiletries, particularly appreciated. Great position. Punchy price for breakfast at £27 each- didn't take.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Athenaeum hotel is a real find - comfortable rooms with free Nespresso, snacks, juices, soft drinks, fast wifi and really great showers equal a perfect stay in the heart of Mayfair overlooking Green Park. A great location for shoppers alike, just 10 mins walk from Buckingham palace - what's not to like! Marcia on the front desk couldn't do enough for me, moving me to a higher floor at my request and making sure I was on a quiet side street so I could get my work done.
The only reason I would not give five stars is the communal areas of the hotel are small and the bar not up to the standard of the more classic 5 stars in London - but with this location? I'm not sure that it matters!

Room Tip: If you fancy a good nights sleep, ask for a higher room facing over a side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandEKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

A warm welcome from everybody - the Doorman, Reception and also the Chambermaid - especially - Marcia - Reception and Irene in the Back Office. They heard it was my Birthday and they really spoilt us - cake, Birthday Card etc. Splendid accommodation with wonderful walk-in shower and fine views. The attention to detail was second to none and the best we have ever encountered in the 5 star hotel and we are seasoned world travellers. Breakfast was fresh and very good - we will definitely be back.
John & Gail - Brighton

Room Tip: Our Suite 605 - very good with views over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
332 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Great medium sized hotel close to sights and shopping. Good for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David011158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I have always wanted to stay here (having dined in the restaurant) and was already very much taken with the place. Don't think I would bother forking out again, unless it was an absolute steal or someone else was paying as the value isn't there. In a 5 star hotel you expect a wow factor/superlative service etc. and yet it was all a bit anonymous and flat. There were a couple of minor niggles with housekeeping (locking us out of the bathroom, swapping feather pillows for yet more feather pillows instead of foam) but these were quickly remedied and didn't go towards informing my opinion of the place.
The feeling of anonymity wasn't helped by being housed in the apartment block (we had wanted to enjoy the buzz of being in the hotel). What contact we did have with the staff in the main hotel was ok but not great. We weren't asked whether we had enjoyed our stay when we checked out, which is quite a basic error. Also not impressed that, when it turned out that we had been provided with duff information in an email sent prior to our stay, the response was very blase and unapologetic. It would definitely have been a moment in which to apologise for the (genuine) inconvenience/disappointment caused. At breakfast the staff seemed stressed and somewhat frenetic, and consistency of service was not there.
It's all very functional, clean and reasonably efficient, but it lacked anything special and my adoration from afar has been quite swiftly gotten over. You probably wouldn't have a horrible time here, but you may wonder what all the hype is about...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dizbopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, General Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear dizbopper
Thank you for yor review and i take on board your feedback. I can see from your other reviews that you are service orientated and if ever there was a hotel to fit then I would have hoped it would be The Athenaeum.
My apologies re the feather pillows and your trouble with the bathroom door.

Our Apartment Townhouses are connected to the hotel and whilst some guests love having their own front door access and the connecting hotel access, i appreciate that for you this was not the case. When rooming our guests we are always open to show alternative rooms in the same category as we really do care about wanting you to feel at home.

Do feel free to contact me and i would welcome you back to the hotel.
Best Regards

Simon Wakefield, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

I arrived in the morning after a red eye flights, so I was prepared to have to drop off my bags and run for the nearest coffee shop. To my amazement, my room was ready, and I was greeted with great hospitality and professionalism. I got my room on a discount, so my room was quite small and had no view. However, the pros far out way the cons, as my room was spotlessly clean, quality of bed/linens was excellent, and most amazingly, the mini bar was complimentary! I also ha afternoon tea on my first day, and while it wasn't the best I've had in London, the service was top notch and the room bright and welcoming. I also feel the need to say as a single traveller under 30, I often feel out of place and intimidated in places like these, but I couldn't have felt more welcome, so I hope to have the chance to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ServiceInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#58 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#209 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing