We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #144 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

Apartment wonderful service and attention to detail extraordinary bar a delight!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Treasurehunter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,912 - 1,918 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is our second visit here, first since he fire. We had booked with friends each with 2 rooms and we were not disappointed. The children were more than happy to have their every need met by the hotel team and the adults were all surprised by the excellent menu and bar. The restaurant lunch and dinner (fixed price) was superb great food served beautifully by excellent and knowledgable staff. Reception were equally good as we're the bar staff. The weakness was the spa and conceriege who seemed to be working for a different hotel! We expected them to be high class but both were very lack lustre. We managed to secure booking s ourselves that were "unavailable unless we were prepared to pay the touts" - much inflated fees, but 'highly recommended if the children were to be kept happy. The spa was just poor, the staff not taught to converse or even introduce themselves or check for allergies. We had no idea what was happening during our treatments until we were told it was finished and we needed to go and shower off the mud - no moisturiser, thank you, nothing. The shower( one)n the changing room was occupied so we just had to queue! Not really the relaxing treat planned. So our tips ask for a front of building room for yourself - they are much bigger and have a great view, go to the Mayfair for the spa! Eat dinner in the hotel and have a relaxing evening in the bar while the children enjoy playing in the room or with new friends. Still highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chunkymicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed for 2 brief days in July as a break before flying long haul out of LHR.

As others have said the location was ideal just opposite Green Park. Walking distance to nearly everything and close to 2 tube stations.

The room was small, but clean and included everything we needed. The free soft drinks and snacks was a nice touch. Free WIFI was quite fast.

Breakfast at £27.50 per head was excessive IMHO.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonbvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights over the April break. We truly loved this hotel. The service was amazing. The lobby, bar and breakfast area were beautiful. The hotel is also situated in the perfect location. The only negatives were the rooms were on the smaller side and the bathrooms had 1 sink.

The hotel was very welcoming to the children and perfect for the adults. I was extremely happy with our stay at the Athenauem.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We came to London for one night to see The Boss! We booked a deluxe room at The Athenaeum and were delighted when we arrived to be told we had been upgraded to a beautiful apartment, just around the corner. Before we went to the apartment we were given complimentary coffee and shortbread, in the gorgeous bar. Lovely way to start our stay. The apartmemt was breathtakaing. High ceilings, fabulous funky furniture, fun bunk bed for our daughter and a stunning bedroom. We were so pleased. The only downside for us was that we did not spend as much time there as we would have liked as we had lunch with friends in London before the evening concert in Hyde Park.

We returned that evening for coffee and drinks in the bar, and our daughter had hot chocolate and cookies, We had a wonderful quiet nights sleep as the apartments are situated off of the main road. The bed was so comfortable and it was lovely to return to the room where the curtains had been pulled, soft lights on and our daughters bed all made up ready for her.

Breakfast was delicious and the dining room is beautiful, The food was cooked freshly and the larder was filled with scrumptious pastries and goodies to have before or after your cooked breakfast. We could not fault a thing, the staff, the reception, all very friendly and the concierge team who knocked shortly after we arrived to give our daughter a yo-yo, maps of London and bird seed for the park. Complimentary goodies in the room included nuts, drinks, chocolate, coffee and a well equipt kitchen. We had a wonderful time and would recommend anyone with a family to stay at The Athenaeum for a luxury treat as it truly made our weekend.

Room Tip: Apartments, quiet and perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kamikazebingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We only got to spend one night here, but we would change that if we could - and we will DEFINITELY stay here the next time we go to London! We thought the hotel looked nice and sounded good from what we read online, but we had NO IDEA just how good it would be.

The people at The Athenaeum take service to a whole new level. The way they treat children/families is absolutely unheard of. Our 9-year old son was just THRILLED at how they treated him. Within 5 minutes of arrival, someone came to our room to deliver a goodie bag to him, filled with things like a kid's map of London and a bag of birdseed (to feed the birds at the park across the street). 15 minutes later, someone else arrived with milk & a cookie on a slate tile for him. Needless to say, he was hooked!

The room itself was gorgeous. It was also filled with items specifically personalized to our family, thanks to the questionnaire they asked me to fill out before our arrival. All items in the fully stocked mini-bar are complimentary (yes, ALL!).

We had two experiences make this a 4-star review instead of a 5-star review:

1. In the questionnaire I filled out, I requested a Wii game system in our room (I'm telling you, this hotel bends over backwards to make kids happy). The kids' concierge emailed me back and said that we would definitely have a Wii in our room. There was no Wii in our room when we checked in, so when we left to go sightsee for a bit I stopped at the front desk and asked about it. I was told they would check on it and it would be taken care of when we returned. It was not. We never saw a Wii and no one ever followed up with us about it. It wasn't a major issue, it just really surprised me that they dropped the ball on this because their service in every other area was absolutely impeccable.
1a. - As an alternative to the Wii, we chose to borrow a movie from their extensive DVD library. This was much more trouble than it should have been. There were no instructions in the room on how to switch over from TV to DVD, and no remote for the DVD player. When they sent up the movie we requested, the wrong disc was in the box (special features only instead of the movie). When we called back and requested a different movie, again we were delivered a box that said one thing and a disc that was something else. Again, not a deal breaker or anything, it just seems that they need to get a little more organized in this department.

2. I left a pair of tennis shoes at the side of the bed when we checked out. It took me about 36 hours to realize they were missing, and I emailed the hotel as soon as I figured it out. I got an Out of Office reply from the first person I contacted, so I forwarded my message to the email he provided. It took this person several hours to get back to me, and when she did it was only to say she'd ask and let me know. The next day I still hadn't heard anything, so I emailed a third person. This person got back to me in a very timely manner, but said housekeeping had no record of finding any shoes in our room.

All in all, none of these issues is a big enough deal to sour me on this hotel. It is absolutely gorgeous, the staff bend over backwards to make you feel happy and welcome, the location is FABULOUS, and the restaurant downstairs has a great breakfast (although it's substantially more expensive than if you go elsewhere). We would be absolutely thrilled to stay there again, hopefully for more than just one night next time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memphis_Meggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We are staying at the apartment right now and have been truly blown away by the service here. We arrived to a classy and spacious third floor apartment with a fully stocked fridge- all of its contents (champagne, red & white wine, gin, vodka, mixers, juices, milk, even Ben & Jerry ice creams) are completely complimentary! The coffee table held toys galore for the kids- tennis rackets, balls, kite, frisbee, bird seed, yo-yos and kid name badges with hotel info on them. If your children become lost in the city, all they need to do is hop in any cab, show the badge and they will be returned to the hotel- athenaeum pays the fare. I'm telling you, these people think of EVERYTHING! Room service is quick and delicious and kids eat free with a paying adult. Milk and cookies show up in your room everyday. Wii and play station is available with a variety of game and also DVDs to choose from the hotels selection free of charge. Board games ate also in the room. There is a Bose speaker system to charge your iPhone and also an American outlet in the bathroom but you can borrow an adaptor, if you need. We had a washer/dryer and detergent right in our kitchenette..,I could go on and on. The point is that I would be hard pressed to find someone (of any age) who is not wowed by the stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57alisonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,156 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#123 of 1,077 in London
1,861 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#61 of 1,077 in London
1,125 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,681 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#119 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £232 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing