We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #153 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Well situated in between Knightsbridge and Piccadilly means you're approx 0.5 miles from either location. 15 minute walk to Harrods or Piccadilly Circus. Hotel is well fitted with a trendy lobby. Comfortable rooms, though a bit small (but decent for London). Beds are a bit on the small side (full size beds, where for a 5 star hotel we would expect at least a Queen size bed ir not a King - but it's comfortable). Bathrooms are well fitted and nice, with good amenities. Fridge comes with complimentary drinks which is a nice. Free wifi is great as well. Nice hot-tub in the basement and small but decent gym. Concierge service is OK but not at the level of a Four Seasons or other Tier 1 hotels. The hotel feels intimate though, and decently priced. Good value for money (we got a corporate rate). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,565
    520
    162
    72
    47
See reviews for
447
1,099
107
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Comfortable, modern room with excellent lighting and climate controls. Prompt, courteous staff. Clean. Quiet. With reasonable desk for work (suitable for only a few hours, however). Excellent WiFi. My one week stay was consistently comfortable. Superb value compared to the next door Sheraton. Tube very reasonable walking distance.

Room Tip: North side is quieter than south which faces Piccadilly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmalueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

What a great hotel! Great rooms, very comfortable with all amenities. Free snacks and soft drinks, customer service top notch from check in to check out, great breakfast and great locations. If you want a west end hotel you will find it hard to beat the Athenaeum.!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The hotel was generally fine and staff were very welcoming. Would probably rate it as a 4* however, not 5, as priceline had indicated. Had to wait for a table at breakfast on both days, and the bathroom quality was a little dated. Other than that, liked the complimentary minibar service and nespresso machine.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quiet_Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My boyfriend booked the Athenaeum as a surprise for my Birthday through lastminute.com - when we got there as he had told them it was my birthday they had upgraded us from a standard room to a Mayfair Suite! It was divine!

Highlights of our stay - Jim the friendly doorman, quick service at check in, gorgeous suite, ridiculously comfy bed with selection of pillows, free snacks and soft drinks from the mini bar and sky sports on the TV!

I would definitely stay here again and next time will ensure I get time to sample the whisky bar and the restaurant!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F00die30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

the athenaeum is probably the best hotel we have stayed at in london. The staff are helpful friendly and thorough.The rooms are comfortable and spotless i just wish our stay had been longer but next time it certainly will be

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed here for my partners birthday - our second visit. The concierge are excellent we took our car this time (£38 for 24 hours) & as we pulled up the concierge took our case into the hotel & then parked the car. They returned the car at the end of our visit. The room freebies are excellent - all soft drinks, kit kat, mars bar, kettle crisps, water (still & sparkling), apple juice, pear juice, cereal bars. Additionally the sheets were turned down whilst we were at dinner & slippers left at the side of the bed. Everything has been thought about in the bathroom too. We didn't use the pool or gym but did go in the whiskey bar after our night out. The hotel is ideally located (Green Park tube is the nearest) we walked to Piccadilly in 10 mins to the theatre & also to Grosvenor Square for dinner in 15 minutes. Would definitely recommend for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyWright1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#52 of 1,067 in London
1,091 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#167 of 1,067 in London
1,646 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,067 in London
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing