We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel/Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #138 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in September. Friendly, knowledgable staff. Everyone from the doorman on to the front desk clerk, concierge and restaurant staff made us feel welcome and at home. Our corner room was very comfortable and had a great view of the park. No problems accessing WiFi. The tea and coffee station was a nice touch. Being able to make tea in the morning was a nice way to start the day. Great location. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,584 - 1,590 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Athenaeum combines perfect service, ideal location and well maintained sumptuous but comfortable facilities in a way that few hotels can achieve. Starting with the helpful and delightful doormen (Jim and John) , then to the Head Porters (concierge) (Duncan and Alan, among others), then to the myriad receptionists, porters, housekeepers,waiters, etc, perfect and friendly service is routine. The rooms, particularly the apartments, are clean, comfortable and bright. The small restaurant provides good food, especially at breakfast, and does so cheerfully and with expedition. DIrectly opposite Green Park, a couple of blocks from Hyde Park and an easy and delightful walk to Harrods, Knightsbridge, the Palace, or, in the opposite direction, Picadilly Circus and the theatre district, the location is perfect. Best of all, the one and two bedroom apartments provide a home-away feeling (bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchenette) that is delightful. If one could award 6 or more stars, the Athenaeum would merit that designation. My family and I have stayed there for years and will continue to do so. Bravo.

Room Tip: Try and book one of the apartments. Costs just a bit more, but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights on business; great staff and lovely property. Concierge services are top notch and the doormen particularly the gentlemen from Brazil was fantastic. You cannot beat this location and property was very well maintained. Wi Fi strong and reliable. Great business hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This review should be 5/5 as all aspects of our stay were great except for an unfortunate encounter with a snobby employee on Saturday, September 28th. My husband and I had made dinner reservations for 1800. We had been out all day, but returned to the hotel earlier than expected. We wanted to see if we would be able to change our resrvations from 1800 to 1730. We were standing at the foot of the stairs waiting for the people ahead of us to finish thier business. While standing there, we were approached by an employee, who in a condescending tone said "Hello." My husband said hello and the gentleman just stood there and gave us the "once over" as if we did not belong there or perhaps we lacked the ability to pay for a meal at the hotel's restaurant. We explained to him that we had reservations and wanted to see if we could change them to 1730. Again, he gave us a strange look and then said "What is your room number?" We told him that we were in room 208. He did not ask for our name at any point during this interaction. He then stated that he would have the restaurant manager call us if when the table was ready. Needless to say, the phone call never came. The more I thought about the interaction, the angrier I became. I would not have been so offended if he had approached anyone else in the lobby, but he did not do so. My husband and I were singled out, and I can only assume that he thought we could not pay for our meal, or prehaps we did not fit the image the usual hotel guests. I should have told him that my ballgown is at the cleaners and I have misplaced my tiara, and that my Bentley has a flat tire. Perhaps then he would have been less condescending toward us. We decided to eat elsewhere. On our way out, we stopped to see if our reservations had been changed (they had not been changed) and the employee that we spoke with this time had no idea what we were talking about. I am livid at the point and asked to speak with a supervisor. I spoke with Serena (guest services manager) and explained the situation to her. I asked if it was common practice to have the restaurant manager call when a table is ready and she said it was not. She said that she would have to investigate further. I am so incredibly offended over this issue. We stayed at this very hotel for a week last year and retrned again this year. A third visit is very doubtful. There are many hotels in Mayfair and I can certainly afford to stay at any one I choose, so to be treated as if I am some vagrant off the street is unaccepatable to me. I will spend my vacation next year at another hotel. I will not patronize any establishment where I do not feel welcome. It's a shame, because we had a lovely room and all of the employees except one were warm and welcoming except this particular gentleman.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Sandy F,
Thank you for returning to the athenaeum and for taking the time to share your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience with the exception of the restaurant.
I am grateful that you have brought this to my attention as it is certainly not the usual standard that we deliver and as a valued returning guest, I am sure that you will agree from your previous stay that this was an isolated occurrence and most likely not the intention of the individual.
I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you in a bit more detail and would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Wishes,
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in The Athenaeum in August.
It's a fantastic 5 star hotel but without all the pretentious staff and guests.
Breakfast was superb with every choice you would expect and excellent service with personable staff.
Reception is exceptionally friendly.
The rooms are really comfortable.We stayed in a superior double and the bathrooms are amazing in the style of art deco with mirrors everywhere.
Great location on Piccadilly and with a 24 hour bar service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgg5072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The location is great for my meetings. Breakfast I really enjoyed with some very professional staff. I have stayed in the main hotel and the apartments. If you want space go for the apartment. Lots of goodies are provided which are nice touches. Maybe could do with another restaurant but you are so close to loads of other restaurants is not really an issue.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I booked a stay at The Anthenaeum as a surprise for my husbands birthday and it was an amazing experience as soon as we walked through the door.

We were greeted by friendly staff and told we had been given an upgrade to a park view room, the facilities in room were superb. We had a nespresso coffee machine, complimentary soft drinks and nibbles as well as the usual mini bar assortment. My husband also received a bottle of Tattinger champagne and a beautiful little cake and candle in celebration of his special day.

We sampled the whiskey bar which is a must for any whiskey lover or if you enjoy your cocktails. The staff are helpful, friendly and very knowledgable of what they're serving. The next day we also had a small taste of their exquisite tea room. Unfortunately we didn't get to try afternoon tea (as much as we would've liked to..) but the tea we did sample was delicious, they have pure blends and are happy to mix to taste, I can highly recommend their peach blend :)

The Athenaeum also has a spa and fitness facility which we will definitely be trying next time, and believe me there will be a next time.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the reception staff, in particular Angela, are wonderful and made our stay one of nicest we've had in a long time..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#69 of 1,081 in London
1,147 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#118 of 1,081 in London
1,950 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#140 of 1,081 in London
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#41 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#116 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £236 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing