We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now, this IS an AMAZING Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #162 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Now, this IS an AMAZING Hotel!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I booked in here in February after looking at all the top notch 5* Mayfair/Park-lane hotels on line. I finally settled for this as I was travelling with my teenage daughter & 11 month old baby & it said "family friendly", more so than the others on offer....

Well, I was not disappointed. The attention to detail was outstanding & exceeded my high expectations. A true 5 star offering.

Atul, in guest services (thank you Atul), had set up the room perfectly for my kids, lots of age appropriate toys for the baby, Xbox & videos for the teenager...lots of plush cushions & well stocked mini bar & a huge bath with some scrummy soaps & creams to play with for me.

We were waited on hand & foot, popcorn & cookies for my eldest, the baby was given lots of attention. The restaurant staff were very helpful, particularly at breakfast, when there isn't a great deal of room for a pushchair & a baby that likes to make a mess.

The door guys are so friendly & helpful too. The receptionist never tired at my requests.

I did use the nanny service, I can recommend this, it give me the chance to spend to catch a show & not worry. I also booked the show tickets through the hotel service, yes they probably were alittle more pricey, by I didn't have time to hunt they down myself.

Overall, the atmosphere is very nice throughout the hotel, very friendly & really great for kids.

I ordered a box of nappies & baby food from Boots on line, direct to the hotel, it was waiting for me when I got there. The hotel provided a high chair, changing mat & steriliser & of course cot, but as the bed was that massive we all could cuddle up, watch endless films on offer for free & eat the free homemade cookies & popcorn. It was such a stress free treat, really special.

Great location too, very central.

Cute little spa, very nice after a long day hunting around busy London. Just the ticket.

Anyway, we ended extending our stay by 2 nights, we were that at home...& we are returning next week for 3 nights, maybe longer! Very excited!✨I hope we enjoy it as much as last time...!

See you soon London home.

Room Tip: Email any requests before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    522
    159
    71
    50
See reviews for
457
1,110
107
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife had stayed at the Athenaeum before and raved about it. I now know why. The service is friendly but thoroughly professional and everything is perfectly refined in the way the British do best. Everything is thought of. The room was wonderfully furnished, modern yet classic. Location superb. The food in the restaurant was perfect and the staff remembered my preferences from day to day.

Unfortunately, I didn't have time to check out the pool or spa. Next time.

Stay there again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My girlfriend and I have stayed at many top class hotel in the last thirty five years but our recent stay at the Athenaeum beats them all.. It all started when we pulled up and were greeted by Jim (the doorman) who was brilliant to Serena on the reception who could not have been more helpful, Robert the porter and a very nice young Portuguese waiter who's name escapes me. We stayed in one of the apartments which have everything you could possible require. I challenge anybody to find better service anywhere, cant wait to to re-visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here just for the night, but was thoroughly impressed. When I arrived my room wasn't ready, but I wasn't kept waiting long before another room was assigned to me. There wasn't a great view, but it was overlooking a side street so it was nice and quiet.
The staff were very helpful and the room was spotless.

The room service was quick and very tasty.

The bar is top-notch too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellegrace14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We just hosted a big family event in London and the guests (all coming from Canada) stayed at the Athenaeum. Our range included couples, families and seniors staying in superior rooms, deluxe rooms and family apartments across both buildings. The universal experience was excellent - lovely rooms, friendly and helpful staff and warm atmosphere. Also the reservations team prior to the event was very good. I should also mention that this top-notch performance was despite the hotel being at full occupancy. Highlights include the free mini-bar (excluding alcohol), great location, clean and comfortable rooms, personal attention of the staff ... I could go on and on. Thank you to the whole team at the Athenaeum for helping make our event such a success.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHolidayhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear LondonHolidayhound,
Thank you for your lovely words. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be lovely and the staff helpful.
I have passed your comments on to the team who were all very grateful for your kind words.
I look forward to welcoming you back to your London home soon.
Best Wishes,
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My partner took me here for a surprise birthday treat, the women at the reception escorted us to are room were I found a birthday cup cake and a card to wish me a happy birthday. The room was beautiful with a stunning view, so overall I rate this hotel very highly . I would like to say a big thanks for making my 25th a very special birthday.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MR-Connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear MR-Connoisseur,

Thank you for your kind review.
I am very pleased that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion at the athenaeum.
I look forward to welcome you back to the athenaeum soon.

Best Wishes,
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The apartments continue to be a sort of 'home from home' whenever I stay in London and are so convenient for business and leisure. Servicing of the apartments is good and facilities make en suite dining easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#51 of 1,068 in London
1,096 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#156 of 1,068 in London
1,663 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#132 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing