We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Independent Hostilerle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #157 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An Independent Hostilerle”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel forms part of a small independent company and has a really nice feel to it,with many of its staff having been there a long time and greeting regulars as old friends,on their return.We were fortunate to be in a suite facing the park which was lovely,the shower enormous and the bathroom spacious my only complaint was the light in the centre of the mirror which made shaving difficult.
The big plus is the complimentary mini bar and Nespresso and tea making facilities. Included is water to Champagne Spirits, snacks,Ben & Jerry ice cream and more and this is replenished every day---It could make a alcholic of you BUT so nice.
We only had continental breakfast once and a light meal both were excellent and served in the restaurant with fun furnishings The lounge for tea is a lovely room with a hanging wall garden. The afternoon tea rightly won an award is served here
My only complaint is there is no tariff to include breakfast which is a pity and although excellent is not cheap.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Park are the ones to go for,worth the little extra for the pleasure of waking u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    513
    160
    71
    46
See reviews for
444
1,085
104
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had three days in London and decided to stay at the Athenaeum in Piccadilly, as we wanted somewhere central. We have been to London many times and have stayed in the west end as well as in the east.
Our choice was a winner. The hotel right opposite Green Park, where we walked every morning. It is an easy walk to Knightsbridge, Oxford Street,and Piccadilly and the theatres. The Green Park tube station is five minutes away.
We had a king double room which was spacious, equipped with a free minibar, wifi and a beautiful bathroom. There was an enclosed balcony with a side street view. Considering the position of this hotel, the room was quiet and the aircon effective.
As we required a late check out we moved into a smaller room for a few hours at a very reasonable rate. The smaller room was more suited to a short stay.
The foyer is not 5 star, but the deficiencies here are made up by the exceptional staff, for whom, nothing is too difficult.
As we dined with friends, we did not try the dining room.
We would certainly return to the Athenaeum as will recommend to our friends, as a convenient and well equipped place to stay in London's West end.
John D.

Room Tip: A king room overlooking the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I booked in here in February after looking at all the top notch 5* Mayfair/Park-lane hotels on line. I finally settled for this as I was travelling with my teenage daughter & 11 month old baby & it said "family friendly", more so than the others on offer....

Well, I was not disappointed. The attention to detail was outstanding & exceeded my high expectations. A true 5 star offering.

Atul, in guest services (thank you Atul), had set up the room perfectly for my kids, lots of age appropriate toys for the baby, Xbox & videos for the teenager...lots of plush cushions & well stocked mini bar & a huge bath with some scrummy soaps & creams to play with for me.

We were waited on hand & foot, popcorn & cookies for my eldest, the baby was given lots of attention. The restaurant staff were very helpful, particularly at breakfast, when there isn't a great deal of room for a pushchair & a baby that likes to make a mess.

The door guys are so friendly & helpful too. The receptionist never tired at my requests.

I did use the nanny service, I can recommend this, it give me the chance to spend to catch a show & not worry. I also booked the show tickets through the hotel service, yes they probably were alittle more pricey, by I didn't have time to hunt they down myself.

Overall, the atmosphere is very nice throughout the hotel, very friendly & really great for kids.

I ordered a box of nappies & baby food from Boots on line, direct to the hotel, it was waiting for me when I got there. The hotel provided a high chair, changing mat & steriliser & of course cot, but as the bed was that massive we all could cuddle up, watch endless films on offer for free & eat the free homemade cookies & popcorn. It was such a stress free treat, really special.

Great location too, very central.

Cute little spa, very nice after a long day hunting around busy London. Just the ticket.

Anyway, we ended extending our stay by 2 nights, we were that at home...& we are returning next week for 3 nights, maybe longer! Very excited!✨I hope we enjoy it as much as last time...!

See you soon London home.

Room Tip: Email any requests before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife had stayed at the Athenaeum before and raved about it. I now know why. The service is friendly but thoroughly professional and everything is perfectly refined in the way the British do best. Everything is thought of. The room was wonderfully furnished, modern yet classic. Location superb. The food in the restaurant was perfect and the staff remembered my preferences from day to day.

Unfortunately, I didn't have time to check out the pool or spa. Next time.

Stay there again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My girlfriend and I have stayed at many top class hotel in the last thirty five years but our recent stay at the Athenaeum beats them all.. It all started when we pulled up and were greeted by Jim (the doorman) who was brilliant to Serena on the reception who could not have been more helpful, Robert the porter and a very nice young Portuguese waiter who's name escapes me. We stayed in one of the apartments which have everything you could possible require. I challenge anybody to find better service anywhere, cant wait to to re-visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here just for the night, but was thoroughly impressed. When I arrived my room wasn't ready, but I wasn't kept waiting long before another room was assigned to me. There wasn't a great view, but it was overlooking a side street so it was nice and quiet.
The staff were very helpful and the room was spotless.

The room service was quick and very tasty.

The bar is top-notch too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellegrace14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We just hosted a big family event in London and the guests (all coming from Canada) stayed at the Athenaeum. Our range included couples, families and seniors staying in superior rooms, deluxe rooms and family apartments across both buildings. The universal experience was excellent - lovely rooms, friendly and helpful staff and warm atmosphere. Also the reservations team prior to the event was very good. I should also mention that this top-notch performance was despite the hotel being at full occupancy. Highlights include the free mini-bar (excluding alcohol), great location, clean and comfortable rooms, personal attention of the staff ... I could go on and on. Thank you to the whole team at the Athenaeum for helping make our event such a success.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHolidayhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear LondonHolidayhound,
Thank you for your lovely words. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be lovely and the staff helpful.
I have passed your comments on to the team who were all very grateful for your kind words.
I look forward to welcoming you back to your London home soon.
Best Wishes,
Wayne Kerrin
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#54 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#172 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#84 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#218 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing