We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hotel in the Picadilly area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #144 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I found this to be a welcoming stay on my first day in London--a refreshing greeting after the long plane flight. Check in was cheerful and efficient, and the room was nice, bright, and clean. The king size bed filled much of the room, but was comfortable and everything in the room worked fine. The free snacks and non-alcoholic drinks are a nice treat (again, great way to be greeted after the long flight), as well as the fresh fruit at the check-in counter.

Location is convenient to Tube station and Picadilly Circus and theatre shows. Service from all the staff and doorman was great. Perhaps not the cheapest hotel in the area, but still a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAFamilyRvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was my first visit to the hotel but I had heard good things and was not dissapointed. My wife and I had an apartment for one nights stay whilst I was over on business and extended the trip to some pre christmas shopping.

The apartment was very spacious and well laid out with everything you could ask for. This is absolutely perfect if you plan to be in London for more than a few days. The drinks etc were complimentary and they even had Ben and Jerrys in the freezer, should you wish.

The staff were extremely accomodating and litterally nothing was too much. It is a rather small hotel but that added to the personal feel of the place. My wife had room service and said it was excellent and timely. Only my wife had breakfast which was included in the room rate which was fortunate as the portions compared to the cost (£27) was not worth it.

Would I stay again,............YES, next week in fact. I hope to become a regular.

Room Tip: Get an Apartment !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanlambotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just had one of my most wonderful afternoon tea experience there. Everything was perfect, food, dessert, tea, venue, service...etc. Sandwiches and cheesecake were exceptional good. Francesco, our waiter, he detailly introduced us menu and all the desserts, and was really friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank purpleandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Sheer class from the time you arrive until departure. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the rooms were stylish and very well equipped - I was placed there by my work - I really hope they put me there the next time I am in town!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Wonderful stay. Everyone was extremely accommodating and the room was sumptuous. The key to any stay is the attention to detail and the staff who work there and this is where I believe the Athenaeum stands out. The kids concierge is wonderful and when we got home our daughter wanted to go back to her 'new' home. If you want a hotel that is ideally placed, looks after you and your children in wonderful comfort then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a charming hotel.

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and very much appreciate the upgraded to a side view room of Green Park.

Firstly we were greeted by a friendly and welcoming face on the entrance. Check-in was extremely professional and quick. They informed us because of our anniversary we were upgraded to a side view of Green Park. We did have a slight issue with a open bottle of juice that had been left in the fridge. Thankfully Marco was on hand not only with a celebration cake for us both but addressed the situation in a very professional and friendly way also restocking the fridge.

Breakfast was a little bit constrained in terms of the size of the restaurant area. We were advised on checking in ,that nine o'clock was far better than arriving later in the morning to be served i breakfast. The young gentleman on the self-service selection was extremely friendly and welcoming cook to order was also of a high standard.

The hotel is very well situated close to the centre. As you walk out of four hotel turn left and within a 10 min walk you are at Piccadilly Circus. Turn right as you come out of the hotel you head towards Marble Arch Park Lane and a top of the main shopping areas Oxford Street and Regent Street it's a very well situated location.

Staff were extremely attentive and a hotel that I recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alipet558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I recently went to a friends baby shower at this hotel, we had afternoon tea and it was excellent. We were not rushed in any way and the cakes, scones, tea and service was 5*.
Would like to say special thanks to our Waiters and waitresses, Maria Potocka, Karolina Kaminska and Laszlo Szabo. Special thanks to Stuart Brown who kept us stocked up with warm scones, which were delicious!

Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krystle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,156 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#123 of 1,077 in London
1,862 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#61 of 1,077 in London
1,125 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,682 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#119 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £232 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing