We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #157 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
courbevoie
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

hotel very well located close to the underground Green Park, 10' by walk to go to Fortnum and Masson and 15 to Picadilly Circus.
The doorman James is very welcoming always smiling.
Receptionist are efficient and quick.
Room very confortable and clean (bath tub, Mirror in the bathroom is heating, and there is also heating for the towels, fridge full of nice things also Chips and Mars ...)
Bed is very soft and you sleep very well.
TV with plenty of nice radios (i recommand MAGIC and HEART)

THE ONLY BAD POINT :
==> Breakfast very expensive and it's too expensive for what it is. Go to Café Concerto if you like Full English Breakfast 5' BY WALK FROM THE HOTEL ... and you will pay 08 £ 95 instead of 26 £ in the hotel ...
Concerning the Afternoon Tea i eat better specially scones ... they are not fresh ... what a pitty

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tchouffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,546
    513
    160
    71
    46
See reviews for
444
1,085
104
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I found this to be a welcoming stay on my first day in London--a refreshing greeting after the long plane flight. Check in was cheerful and efficient, and the room was nice, bright, and clean. The king size bed filled much of the room, but was comfortable and everything in the room worked fine. The free snacks and non-alcoholic drinks are a nice treat (again, great way to be greeted after the long flight), as well as the fresh fruit at the check-in counter.

Location is convenient to Tube station and Picadilly Circus and theatre shows. Service from all the staff and doorman was great. Perhaps not the cheapest hotel in the area, but still a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAFamilyRvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
channel islands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was my first visit to the hotel but I had heard good things and was not dissapointed. My wife and I had an apartment for one nights stay whilst I was over on business and extended the trip to some pre christmas shopping.

The apartment was very spacious and well laid out with everything you could ask for. This is absolutely perfect if you plan to be in London for more than a few days. The drinks etc were complimentary and they even had Ben and Jerrys in the freezer, should you wish.

The staff were extremely accomodating and litterally nothing was too much. It is a rather small hotel but that added to the personal feel of the place. My wife had room service and said it was excellent and timely. Only my wife had breakfast which was included in the room rate which was fortunate as the portions compared to the cost (£27) was not worth it.

Would I stay again,............YES, next week in fact. I hope to become a regular.

Room Tip: Get an Apartment !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanlambotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just had one of my most wonderful afternoon tea experience there. Everything was perfect, food, dessert, tea, venue, service...etc. Sandwiches and cheesecake were exceptional good. Francesco, our waiter, he detailly introduced us menu and all the desserts, and was really friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank purpleandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Sheer class from the time you arrive until departure. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the rooms were stylish and very well equipped - I was placed there by my work - I really hope they put me there the next time I am in town!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Wonderful stay. Everyone was extremely accommodating and the room was sumptuous. The key to any stay is the attention to detail and the staff who work there and this is where I believe the Athenaeum stands out. The kids concierge is wonderful and when we got home our daughter wanted to go back to her 'new' home. If you want a hotel that is ideally placed, looks after you and your children in wonderful comfort then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a charming hotel.

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and very much appreciate the upgraded to a side view room of Green Park.

Firstly we were greeted by a friendly and welcoming face on the entrance. Check-in was extremely professional and quick. They informed us because of our anniversary we were upgraded to a side view of Green Park. We did have a slight issue with a open bottle of juice that had been left in the fridge. Thankfully Marco was on hand not only with a celebration cake for us both but addressed the situation in a very professional and friendly way also restocking the fridge.

Breakfast was a little bit constrained in terms of the size of the restaurant area. We were advised on checking in ,that nine o'clock was far better than arriving later in the morning to be served i breakfast. The young gentleman on the self-service selection was extremely friendly and welcoming cook to order was also of a high standard.

The hotel is very well situated close to the centre. As you walk out of four hotel turn left and within a 10 min walk you are at Piccadilly Circus. Turn right as you come out of the hotel you head towards Marble Arch Park Lane and a top of the main shopping areas Oxford Street and Regent Street it's a very well situated location.

Staff were extremely attentive and a hotel that I recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alipet558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#54 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#172 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#84 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#218 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing