We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #161 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fab stay”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel as my friend and I wanted to treat ourselves and managed to get a good deal through lastminute.com.

From the minute we met jim the doorman we knew we'd chosen well. The staff make this place - everyone we met was more than helpful and so friendly.

The room was lovely, everything we needed and lovely comfy beds. Free bits in minibar and turn down service too. We had fabulous cocktails in the bar which although expensive were absolutely worth it. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there.

The hotel is at the end of picadilly which we liked, and although we didn't realise at the time of booking, was close to hyde park and the winter wonderland. We did walk from Victoria coach station to the hotel which was fine, and then also got a taxi on two occasions to the apollo victoria and for the coach again and these cost £6.50 and £8.50 (rush hr)

No complaints here, recommended highly and will stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank westcountrylass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for mentioning Jim, he will be delighted to learn that he made a difference to your time with us. Glad to hear the beds were comfy and that you loved the cocktails, we pride ourselves on making this a home from home for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    525
    163
    73
    50
See reviews for
457
1,113
108
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Lovely hotel with friendly staff. The restaurant offered a fabulous menu with great service. The choices of wines were amazing and there us a great whiskey section.

The room was a little small but beautifully furnished. It was quiet and a super location.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0veMyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England of course !
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel has never been on my radar for a trip to London but due to a good deal on Secret Escapes and my parents joining us I decided to take the plunge and was not disappointed. We were upgraded to the most wonderful room, spotlessly clean, a huge comfortable bed and the largest flat screen tv we have had in any hotel. We did not have a bath tub in our room but did have a walk in shower that delivers the right amount of power and the bathroom products were of good quality and everything you would require and expect were there. The mini bar is complimentary (except alcohol) which is a really nice touch when most hotels of this calibre tend to rip you off with the mini bar. All staff were on top form, friendly but not intrusive and all seemed genuinley happy to be a part of this Hotel. Without doubt the breakfast was a highlight being served to the highest of standards and quality, If you are travelling from overseas and want to stay somewhere very British this is the perfect hotel for you.
Will I be back paying full rack price? Yes, this is a great place in a good location in Mayfair and still fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daneworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We would highly recommend this fabulous Hotel. There was a warm greeting from the door man and reception staff. We were Upgraded to the Apartments which were quiet, very inviting and spotlessly clean and the huge bed was exceedingly comfortable The mini bar was stocked with complimentary drinks and snacks, and the breakfast was a fabulous feast. All of the staff we encountered were not only friendly but were happy and smiling ,they could not do enough for us. We will be returning to this lovely Hotel next time we stay in London.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hutton rudby
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Its our 3rd time staying at the Athenaeum and it never seems to disappoint. Excellent service and the reception staff cant do enough for you.

First class room and having the complimentary drinks in the mini bar adds to what is a fantastic experience..

Please keep up the excellent service and its lovely walking up Piccadilly towards the foliage overhanging on the front of the hotel.

Christmas tree in reception is spot on....and it must impress if you are getting the passing Japanese tourists taking the pictures from outside.

Merry Xmas everyone at the Athenaeum........

Room Tip: Pinch all the free toiletries...they sell well on ebay....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertslpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-furness
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Having arrived at this hotel to celebrate my sister and her best friends 50th Birthdays with a champagne afternoon tea, we as a party of 14 knew from the offset we were going to be spoilt for choice and we were right! We were warmly greeted and led to a private room where we had the whole area to ourselves and each of us were amazed at the whole ambience and friendliness of the hotel and staff who were assigned to us during our stay. The 'afternoon tea' itself was a pure indulgence,,, just when we thought we'd had all the delights the chef had prepared us a seperate dessert trolly was brought in with more delicacies to choose from and the rose blossom champagne was devine!! An absolute must for future visits to London and worth every penny,,,,Thank You

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this hotel enough. The whole experience from the minute you're greeted by the doorman on arrival, to the time you check out, this hotel offers exceptional service and quality.
ALL the staff are helpful and welcoming.
Book without hesitation. We're already saving for our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teesd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#50 of 1,068 in London
1,096 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#158 of 1,068 in London
1,663 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing